We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints at all. Excellent location for nightlife of Shoreditch and Hoxton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London City
Ranked #478 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed for one Saturday night with a friend while we met our London based friends for the weekend.

Arrived at 11.30am and expected a room not to be ready but reception staff allocated us a twin room without any fuss. Jade on reception was polite and accommodating.
We had a 2nd floor room facing the main road but we didnt notice much more noise than you would expect but ear plugs provided just in case. The room and bathroom were very clean and modern with all the amenities you would expect. The hotel in general is also very clean and functional. Sadly we didnt make breakfast so cant comment.

In terms of location, the hotel is situated in the heart of East Londons nightlife and I thought £100 for one night B&B on a Saturday in London was good value as most hotels charge a premium and also dont include breakfast. I know London well and this is not a hotel you should choose for the tourist areas as it is quite far east but for anyone wanting to stay in East London on business etc or take advantage of the nightlife on offer then stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnHull_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very welcoming, quick and efficient check-in. All public areas and room were in good condition. Breakfast room looked appealing and was 'ok' for this type/category of hotel.

Only downside is that the windows cannot be opened, therefore the air is not fresh. This coupled with bedding that contains some man made fibres makes for an average sleep at best.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pro-Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Hotel is close to tube station, ideal connections. Unfortunately it is also located on a busy road, ambulacnes with sirens are constantly driving past (all throughout the night), lots of general traffic noise and lots of poeple on the road even late at night. The beds were very uncomfortable, especially the kid's bed. The air conditioning was broken and made lots of noise. They provided 2 ear plugs to help with the noise. Unfortunately it was 4 of us in the room and they didn't manage to drown out the racket anyway. So we had to switch it off and cope with a stuffy room. The lights in the bathroom were so dim it was just enough to see the toilet but impossible to do make-up or shaving. Although the room was booked for 4 people there weren't enough towels for everyone and it was up to us again to organise more. Breakfast was basic, the scrambled eggs luke warm tostone cold most days and sometimes not enough tables for everyone. The bar consists of small tables and does not look inviting enough to spend a couple of relaxed hours with friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peb280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Peb280,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over some of the room amenities and with breakfast. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Somebody said that the world is book and travelling is reading a chapter. Yes my recently concluded trip to Europe by  Paras Holidays made me feel the truth in above statement. Before that I had been abroad and was rightly apprehensive about various things. Thanks to Paras holidays and I would travel with Paras Holidays always.Holidays inn Express is best Hotel in Europe .Service is so Good .thanks to paras holidays book a good hotel in europe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sukhvindersinghdhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Comfortable room, ideal for business visit. Breakfast buffet also OK. Plenty of places to eat in area. Bathroom shower good size. Clean room and and good quality linen and towels. Reception staff helpful and generally good customer service. Picked for business visit so not sure about location for leisure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Susie Q,

We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

I am glad to read that you were pleased with the services we provide. One of the greatest rewards is receiving encouraging feedback such as yours. Our staff takes pride in creating a memorable, exceptional experience for our guests. Hearing that we have accomplished that goal means that we have delivered you the value and experience you expect.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Go this room as was attending friends family event. Stayed for two nights and didn't try the bar or restaurant. Room was very tidy as was bathroom. However how they can charge the same amount of points as the kings cross hotel beats me as there was no gym or pool. Colour scheme of room was blue and lilac which I think they chose to relax you and aid with sleep. Bed was comfortable and ensuite only had a shower, however it was large and water was piping hot. Couple of pain retouched required in bathroom but nothing major. Couple of negative points. When asking for an iron and ironing board normally porter in hotel will bring it up. In this one the customer has to go and fetch it. If wanting a lie in pray that the cleaners don't clean the room next door. They batter the walls like there's no tomorrow. Area round about has lots of graffiti on buildings etc but it's the very impressive artistic type, even has a banksy across the road.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Big-J0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed for a week while in London for business. The rooms are very clean and modern, though the lighting is more sexy than functional. The hotel is super close to the Tube and there are a lot of great restaurants in the area for dinner.

I have to commend Sojad Achach, who checked me in and assisted me during my stay. Her customer service skills and commitment to my contentment as a guest were phenomenal! She truly went above and beyond, which does not happen everywhere (I say with confidence as I travel the globe monthly). I even wrote the GM to sing her praises as I was so impressed by her!

The staff is great here, location convenient to transit and the hotel very good! Would recommend with confidence.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TD1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#299 of 1,076 in London
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #478 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £73 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing