We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London City
Ranked #481 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Its a modern characterless hotel on the north side of London. Its not close to any of London's sights but a tube station is close by. It was clean and the decor and bathroom was in very good condition. Check in was quick and efficient (Sunday evening). The room overlooked the main road but was quiet. The self service breakfast was a bit basic on a continental style. If you require more English feast then I noticed places serving breakfast close by. Good for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikewelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

The staff are really good, friendly and professional and Jakobe was able to provide me with decaffeinated coffee for my room straight away. The room was comfortable but small and the bathroom clean and came with a proper shower - not a bath, but again small. The wi-fi is free - always a bonus. The lifts are well used so move very slowly. Free magazines and papers on offer as well as an ice machine in the reception area.

The breakfast was a bit less than average and they didn't have bacon, mushrooms or more than one type of egg on offer. I didn't have any but apparently the coffee and cold water was unpleasant. The apple juice was nice though.

I appreciate that it is holiday season and the hotel had a lot of family / tourist business but the breakfast was chaotic to say the least. The staff seemed to handle this very well though.

I did forget something left in my room when I checked out but when I went back later in the day to retrieve it they had it safe and it was returned.

Well placed and within easy walking distance (15/20 minutes) of the City area, but I have to say the hotel room itself is over priced for what it is.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kedav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Kedav 7,

Thank you for your feedback and comments on staff friendliness and professionalism. I am glad your room was clean and comfortable. The size of all our rooms is standard and all our rooms only have showers in them and no bath. We are also working on upgrading our lifts.
Breakfast again is part of our brand standard and is limited. We value your feedback and your comments have been passed on to all department heads to review.

Thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel staff and management impressed me with their helpful attitude. Something had gone wrong with my online booking (only two people booked while we were three, and the sofa bed in the room could not open for a third person. The hotel staff tried very hard to find a solution, even it was late at night and the hotel was fully booked. A solution was found (extra bed was brought into the room), at no charge. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubinatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

On the 29th of July we booked the hotel for ourselves and our two lil ones. We were told that the room would have a double bed and a double sofa bed for the kids. However opinion arrival at 2.30 we were advised that the sofa bed would open . At this point the manager had already taken the money from our card even though he knew that we wouldn't be able to make the kids sleep on it.. At 2.30 am
After taking payment he expected us to try and find another hotel. He couldn't refund the money back as apparently it takes 3 days. As it was too late and the kids were asleep out of desperation we took the room and my hubby had to sleep on the floor as he didn't fit on the sofa bed the kids are too small to sleep on it as they would just roll over. We still paid the full amount and he also expected us to pay £30 for the parking..never again are we going to use holiday inn

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Indian1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Indian 1001,

Thank you for your time for the review. Could you please email us on gsmcity@holidayinnlondon.com with more details.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed 5 nights and really enjoy that it was walking distance to the Tube and we were able to just walk a block and be traveling to different places in London . The stuff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful . The breakfast was great with eggs, sausages and beans plus the typical yogurts, cereals and breads . Definitely a good option because the price was really reasonable for London prices and with the breakfast included ....great !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is really close to tube and in a nice area. Check im was very efficient and room was spotless and much nicer than it looked on pictures! Staff were very friendly and breakfast was also really good.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank robbybon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had two adjoining rooms on the top (5th) floor (530 & 532); two adults in one room, two adults + 2 small children in the second room. We selected this hotel as it's one of the few IHG hotels in London which accommodate 2 adults and 2 kids in the same room.

The windows don't open, the aircon is just about passable. The bed was very odd, almost like an air matress, sit on it in the middle and the end pops up! Not the most comfortable. The shower water pressure was ok, toiletries were wall mounted hand soap and shower gell dispensers.

Breakfast was a bit of a circus - more people than space, grabbed a table, got a waitress to clean it up, grabbed a couple of spare chairs... took a bit of effort, other guests were just milling around. Food selection was decent for an Express.

Guys at reception were helpful, they had a room ready for us at 11 a.m. - when check-in time is usually 14:00. The keys forvthe second room were brought up to us at 12:30.

Other tips- if you take a parking space, it is £30, and valid up till 18:00 the next day. The nearest Underground station is Old Street on the Central line, about 300m from the hotel. There is a small Sainsbury closeby open till 23:00.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mhbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Mhbarker,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Your comments are very important and have been passed on to all the relevant departments so that necessary improvements can be made. We are in a very busy period and at times we do have around 600 guests in the hotel so breakfast can be hectic. I am pleased you did like the breakfast selection and the front desk staff were efficient to your needs.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #481 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £67 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing