We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Ranked #442 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Stoke On Trent
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“business trip”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst on business. Hotel is easy to find from Southwark tube station. The staff were lovely and very welcoming and recommended some restaurants in the local area as there is no on site restaurant for evening meals. Room was clean and spacious, even though it was on a main road there was limited noise from the street. It was a very warm night and there was really good air con which made for a comfortable nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Laura T,

Thanks you so much for taking the taking the time to write a review following your recent stay stay at our hotel. I am pleased to read that you found our location suitable to your travel requirements. I have already passed your words of appreciation to the rest of the team here and we all look forward to welcoming you again next time you visit London.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    451
    228
    70
    36
See reviews for
290
266
54
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The location is really good. 5 mins away for a metro station and 10 from London Bridge station for a pretty quick trip to and from Gatwick airport.My room was pretty clean, comfy bed and all the basics included (but not soundproof) + free WiFi.I would not consider its breakfast poor for an "express" hotel, though it lacked in quality.I did not find anything in particular to be extremely disappointed about.

All in all, it is a very good choice for a couple of day's stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letorib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Letorib,

Thank your for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel, it is great to read you enjoyed our central and convenient location. With regards to the breakfast, I have shared your comment with our breakfast manager so we can work to enhance the quality of our food items. We take our guest comments very seriously as they help us understand what we are doing right and what we need to improve. Many thanks again and I hope you will choose us again for your next weekend break in London.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is in a good location for the South Bank attrractions and close to Southwark and London bridge stations. The staff were extremely friendly at check-in and when leaving. Rooms were of the usual standard. The free wi-fi wasn't the fastest in the world and seemed to have stopped altogether at one point and there was limited choice of sausages, scrambled eggs and beans for the hot breakfast but that was also free so I suppose I can't complain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npr1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear npr1uk

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stat at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark.
It is a pleasure to read your comments regarding our friendly team: thank you for recognizing the great service we offer at our hotel, we work hard to deliver this and it is great that we got this right for you.
I will certainly pass your comments to the rest of the team and I hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, Scotland
Level Contributor
193 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just had a 4 night stay, paid with part loyalty points/part cash.
It has had a refurb since I was last there a couple of years ago, nice bright, modern reception and breakfast area now, and the rooms have new TV's, carpets, and decor in line with most other HIE locations around the UK.

Very friendly and knowledgable staff, helped us out with bus/tube info etc.

Good location, and at last the work on the Blackfriars bridge has finished, very handy if travelling from/to Gatwick, step off the train and 2mins later you are at the hotel.

Construction going on next door but didn't bother us at all.

We didn't actually have the free breakfast, far too many other options in London!

Will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuarttaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Stuarttaylor.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our newly refurbished lobby and you found our location suitable to your travel requirements. I have shared your positive comments with the rest of the team here and I hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It is very well situated. Close to Southwark Tube station, 5 mins. Rooms are clean, a bit clinical but no harm. Free breakfast which is unusual and handy. Wifi works well. There is a building site behind so, no lie-ins for a while. Taxi from the westend to the hotel was £13,

Room Tip: Front of the building, avoid the building site at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Duckling

Thanks for taking the time to let us have a review following your recent stay at the hotel. It was good to read that you found the hotel suitable for your trip and the facilities met your needs with the free breakfast offering. I do hope that we will see you again on your next visit. Kind Regards - Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great location, apart from the building site at the rear and of course I was given a room at the rear. Standard Holiday Inn room, clean, good bed and great pillows. FREE breakfast rather disappointing - dry scrambled eggs, runny beans and cheap tasteless sausages. Hence just as well it was free as I cannot imagine anyone paying for it. pleasant staff but at 170GBP for one in my view expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Chris W
Thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel - it was good to read that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities and location met your needs. I have noted your comments regarding the free breakfast & I can only apologise that you did not enjoy the hot offering alongside the larger continental choices that are available. I hope this will not deter you from using Holiday Inn Express in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip. Kind Regards - Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Having just stayed 6 nights, I can highly recommend this property. For London, the rooms are quite nicely appointed and spacious. The morning breakfast is ample and complete. The staff is really attentive and friendly. The small bar is especially appreciated at the end of a long day of touring London. Location between two tube stops makes travel easy and quick.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeptically
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Skeptically,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your positive feedback with the rest of the team here and we look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#302 of 1,067 in London
1,955 reviews
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#528 of 1,067 in London
450 reviews
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#251 of 1,067 in London
3,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark

Property: Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Address: Snow House 103-109 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#304 Romantic Hotel in London
#318 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express-London Southwark, the ideal location for business and leisure travellers visiting London. The hotel is situated on the south-bank of the River Thames and only minutes away from major London tourist attractions, such as the New Tate Modern, Shakespeare s Globe Theatre, St Paul's Cathedral, Royal Festival Hall, The Shard, The London Eye, which offers spectacular views of the London sky-line, and many more. The Holiday Inn Express London Southwark features 136 contemporary style bedrooms, all individually air conditioned offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All our rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, modem points at work stations with Free WiFi and Freeview television. In addition, the hotel is in close proximity to both Southwark Tube only a short distance from direct access to Westfield Stratford City, the O2 & Canary Wharf via the Jubilee line and Blackfriars Station Terminal with access to the Circle and District lines, allowing convenient access to attractions in the heart of London such as Leicester Square and London s Theatreland. All bedrooms have recently been renovated and the hotel has a newly refurbished lobby, great room and breakfast room. Free breakfast is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing