We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Ranked #459 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 18 July 2014

For some reason, the website and staff members fail to mention the fact that there are two convenient underground stations - Southwark and Blackfriars. There are also two bus lines which pass by the hotel.
The first room we got had a broken toilet and a window that wouldn't shut, so the receptionist immediately sent us to a room in the new wing. This room was very nice. The bed was comfortable, the shower was great, the tv had a lot of choices and the air conditioner was fairly quiet.
The underground parking lot will surely be very convenient once it's remodeled and reopened, but for now it is not usable, and if you have a car, you'd probably be better off in a different hotel. The National Theatre and Southbank Centre are within close walking distance. The street life there is quite interesting, with buskers and performers and all sorts of food. The Tate Modern is even closer.
We went to two West End evening performances, and had no trouble returning to the hotel by public transportation. We also had no trouble getting to the hotel by underground from Heathrow.
The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a bit sparse, but included almost everything a full English breakfast should include, plus the items normally included in a Continental breakfast.
I found out that the eggs are not powdered, but do taste a bit different. The cook mixes fresh eggs with milk, and then puts the whole thing in a microwave oven. I tried them on several different days, and they always had the same taste, which I put down to their being microwaved.
There are no safes in any of the rooms. However, if you want to store valuables, the front desk has some safes the size of shoeboxes which are convenient for safeguarding items such as passports or jewelry.
Although the price is high given the facilities offered, this is a good choice for a tourist without a car who wishes to spend a few days in London.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new wing (opened one month ago) are larger and nicer,
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Daveed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Daveed S

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark. Your feedback is very important to us and it helps us understanding what we are doing right and where we need to improve. I will certainly share your comments with the rest of the team here and I hope you will choose us again on your next trip to London.

Kind regards
Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

The room cleaning staff took away stuff from my room. Front desk staff can not understand English. They also denied me use of Air Conditioning in the room saying they need to save operating costs. Left the windows in the room open. With all the construction activity around the hotel there was dust in my room every day. Management of the hotel did not compensate me for my loss and passed the blame on to poor house keeping staff for all the problems.

Do not trust reviews on Hloiday Inn website they censored my reviews on their website!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mahinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Mahinder S

Thank you for taking the time to write a feedback of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly at deputygm@hiexsouthwark.co.uk to further discuss your comments.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra

Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Spent 3 nights pre-cruise sailing from Southampton. Thankfully had booked in advance to find a very reasonable rate during the high tourist season. Waited a short time with others in the lobby area but were made comfortable by Francesco and his staff. We were treated to refreshments and maps etc. We were very happy with the room assigned to us. Very clean with a nice amount of room for a London hotel. Complimentary wi-fi was a plus.
This was our first visit to London and I have a hard time wrapping my head around a new city by just looking at maps or guides. This hotel turned out to be a nice hub for our visits to all the tourist sites. Using the public transit services and HOHO bus was a nice way for us to get around.
The front desk staff were all very accommodating throughout our stay. Maybe I am not as picky an eater as some but I found the morning breakfast a good as any "free" hotel breakfast in Europe. Did not notice any noise issues either as some have posted.
The bottom line is that you do get what you pay for at this hotel as long as you don't wait until you are paying full "rack" rates which is true of any hotel.
Highly recommended for a 4 star property.
Tim

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim_W_701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear TIM_W_701

Thank you so much for your five stars rating here on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the hotel. I am very pleased to see that you found our central location suitable to your trip requirements and I have already shared your words of appreciation with the rest of the team here. Please recommend our hotel and I hope we will have to pleasure to serve you again next time you visit London.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night as we were both on business in London. The HI Express hotels are usually very good value but not on this occasion, probably due to Ascot week. The room was sufficient for 1 night with enough space for two and a decent size shower room etc. We were at the front, but the noise from the road was easily muted by closing the windows! Biggest disappointment for us was the breakfast with only scrambled eggs, sausages and beans on the hot menu!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear David B

Thank for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark. I am disappointed to read that we were not up to you expectations and that you felt we were overpriced for the facilities and services provided. Our rates are slightly higher during strong demand periods due to major events taking place in and around London such as Wimbledon and Ascot. Please check our hotel website next time as we offer as range of discounted rates and promotions if you book in advance. Many thanks again for your feedback and I hope you will restore faith in the Holiday Inn Express brand in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed for a night as I was working near by, this hotel did exactly what it said on the tin.

Checking was very efficient with a friendly service and noticed my request for a room on a higher floor, I was allocated a room on the fourth floor, the room was next to the lift and overlooking the main road so was initially expecting noise from one or both of these and was pleasantly surprised when you could hear neither which is a testament to the triple glazing. The room had air con which was welcome.

The room was very spacious for a London hotel with large (42") TV, with a decent size bath room. The shower was powerful which makes a change and I especially liked the blue light in the bathroom as well as the white light which operated independently which was ideal overnight as you could see where you where going without making up fully.

Breakfast was of Holiday Inn Express standard fayre with a limited hot selection.

Only a 10minute walk to the river and the Tate modern, good connectivity with Southwark and Waterloo both in easy walking distance.

Would certainty stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-H8465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Paul H8465

Thank you so much for your great review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark. I am pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and I will certainly share your feedback with them. Please recommend our hotel and I hope you will choose us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Check-in was fast. This hotel is super busy but the front desk always seemed well staffed.

We used points for our stay and were given a handicapped room. The room was fine, but guess that's what you get for being a club member and redeeming some well-earned points.

Our room was plenty large and relatively clean. Noticed a stained (blood?) slip of paper on the floor at the edge of the bed that somehow eluded the cleaning staff for two days. Other than that, the room and bathroom seemed clean. The windows were locked and cannot be opened, so claustrophobics beware. Our room was quiet, despite the hotel's bustling location. The bed was very comfortable, though the pillows were not. Both sides of the bed had power outlets to easily charge phones--excellent!

The bathroom was decent-sized with a large shower (no tub). The water pressure was good and the hot water stayed hot throughout the shower. The towels were quite scratchy, though. The tile was clean, and the only mold was around the bottom of the shower. Both the toilet paper and the tissues were rough as a badger's bum. Come on, Holiday Inn, spring for the soft stuff!

Breakfast was nothing special--just the typical Holiday Inn fare of powdered eggs, cereals, yogurts, and pastries. It's served until 10:30, which is nice for those who sleep in a bit. We skipped it and enjoyed fabulous breakfasts at restaurants just down the street.

The free WiFi was strong but ridiculously slow.

The hotel has no parking, so we parked in a garage a half mile down the road for £10 per day. The hotel did allow cars to park briefly in back to unload luggage and check in before having to move the car to nearby parking.

We'd likely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RoadWrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear RoadWrangler

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark. I am glad to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and I will certainly share your kind words with them. The feedback we receive from our valued members of the IHG Rewards Club like you is very important to us since it helps us understanding what we are doing right and where we need to improve. Many thanks again and I hope you will choose us again on your next trip to London.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#299 of 1,072 in London
2,012 reviews
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#260 of 1,072 in London
3,355 reviews
The Wellington Hotel
#490 of 1,072 in London
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark

Address: Snow House 103-109 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#304 Romantic Hotel in London
#318 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £94 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express-London Southwark, the ideal location for business and leisure travellers visiting London. The hotel is situated on the south-bank of the River Thames and only minutes away from major London tourist attractions, such as the New Tate Modern, Shakespeare s Globe Theatre, St Paul's Cathedral, Royal Festival Hall, The Shard, The London Eye, which offers spectacular views of the London sky-line, and many more. The Holiday Inn Express London Southwark features 136 contemporary style bedrooms, all individually air conditioned offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All our rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, modem points at work stations with Free WiFi and Freeview television. In addition, the hotel is in close proximity to both Southwark Tube only a short distance from direct access to Westfield Stratford City, the O2 & Canary Wharf via the Jubilee line and Blackfriars Station Terminal with access to the Circle and District lines, allowing convenient access to attractions in the heart of London such as Leicester Square and London s Theatreland. All bedrooms have recently been renovated and the hotel has a newly refurbished lobby, great room and breakfast room. Free breakfast is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing