We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and welcoming.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Ranked #448 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Clean and welcoming.”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I/2 mile from Waterloo station.( £5.40) in a cab. Clean airy foyer, helpful desk staff and very clean rooms. There is a seating area with a huge TV and a small bar area. Rooms are spacious, clean and modern. Beds have comfortable cotton sheets with a choice of firm and soft pillows. Plenty of tea and coffee. Highly recommend this hotel, the breakfast is delicious, lots of choice and plentiful. GIVE it a go!! Great value!!!

Room Tip: You can leave your luggage for free if you want to sight see and not carry your suitcases around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Ang288

Thank you so much for your five stars review following your recent stay at the hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you had such a great stay and I will share your positive feedback with the team here who will be delighted to see their hard work being recognised. Many thanks again and I hope you will choose us again on your next trip to London.

Kind regards
Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    455
    230
    70
    37
See reviews for
292
269
54
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the recent Bank Holiday weekend in August. Very convenient to explore London while in a quiet area away from the main noise of the City. Walk to the London Eye in 25 minutes or less depending on your speed and Southwark tube station easy 5 to 10 minute stroll. As Breakfast is included it is good value for a break.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Peter R

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark. I am pleased to read that you found our central location suitable to your trip requirements and that you enjoyed our breakfast experience. I will certainly share your feedback with the team here and I hope you will choose us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Visited here on a recent theatre trip, the hotel is well located only a short taxi drive from all the major theatres but is significantly less expensive than most. The nearest tube is a 5 minute walk away but if there is more than one of you a taxi is cheaper.
Our room was spacious and clean, the pull out bed was comfortable and the bathroom spacious with an excellent shower. The only down side was that there is no power point next to the mirror so if you want to use your own hair dryer, straighteners etc this isnot possible.
Staff were welcoming and friendly, the bar is well stocked and the breakfast plentiful.
Overall very nice.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Michaela S

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark. It is great to see that you had a nice a comfortable experience with us and that our team members were friendly and helpful, please rest assure that I will share your comments with team. Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us understanding what we are doing right and where we need to improve. Many thanks again and I hope you will choose us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is a good hotel for your Londay stay connecting you to close by tourist attractions by hop on hop off buses. Close to River Thames to take walks in the evenings! Take a cab from here to reach the major shopping area. Decent and clean basic rooms although a small fridge would be good for each room along with the tea and coffee amenities that they provide in room.
Breakfast fantastic with choice options. Wifi free available in rooms and also in reception area.
Decent and Simple you get here what you expect from Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitras L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Mitras L

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark. I am glad to see that our location was suitable to your travel requirements and also I would like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding our breakfast. Please keep recommending us and I hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Was supposed to check out after 5 nights but even after changing rooms could not find one that did not have the odor of mold. First room given had an overpowering smell of mold and armpit odor. I just hit you in the face when you walked in. When I complained after the first night, they seemed to have tried to get the smell out and simply left the window open to air it out, which did nothing. Second room had a faint smell of mold and some kind of cleaner, but after a night there the cleaner spray smell wore off and the mold smell was back. They may have an issue there.

Breakfast options were decent and the rooms are very basic.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on Southwark side because of noise, but back side has view of a construction site with w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidsem9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Davidsem9

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of you stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark.
I would be grateful if you could contact me directly on 02074012525 or by email at deputygm@hiexsouthwark.co.uk.to discuss your feedback more in detail since I am unable to locate your reservation details from Tripadvisor.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My son and I took a vacation together. Its his first time in the UK. The last time I stayed at a London HIE it was pretty bad, but I had points to pay for this room.
Whatba difference. We both really like this place. The room was clean and rather larger for your typical London hotel room.

Just down the road from the Southwark tube station, we found it easier than we expected.

On top of a great room, breakfast was a full on meal, not skimpy like you would have eapexted.

Good job staff at the HIE

Room Tip: Higher is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NWA-Travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Nwa Travler

Thank you so much for your five stars rating following your stay at the hotel. I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and please rest assured that I will share your comments with the team here who will be amazed to see their hard work being recognised.
Many thanks again and I hope you will choose us again in the not too distant future.

Kind ragards
Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had previously stayed at the Crowne Plaza by Blackfriars Bridge and were well pleased with our stay. Unfortunately, when we booked for a one night stay for August 15/16 they did not have a room we could afford (being OAPs).

We had always stayed at hotels to the north of the river but we were able to get a good deal at the Holiday Inn Express as near to the south side of Blackfriars bridge as the Crowne Plaza was to the north side.

This was a shot in the dark but paying less did not mean lower standards. Yes the hotel was not as sumptuous but there the comparison must end. It was spotlessly clean and the carpeting and furnishings in good order and welcoming.

Reception was part of the overflow of the restaurant used for breakfast - no wasted space. Reception staff were courteous and very helpful. Because we were early and the room was not ready we left our bags and headed for our first visit which was to Buckingham Palace. As it was we did not arrive back until around 21:30, but the night staff were no less helpful and we were soon in our room.

The room on the 6th floor was clean and tidy and everything you needed for a pleasant nights stay. Small compact but there was no sense of being confined in a small place. The on-suite was well designed and appointed that everything required was there to hand. The room and facilities could not be faulted! The mattresses in our single beds enabled me to have a very good nights sleep

Breakfast may not have been served or have the variety that many hotels offer but there was plenty to choose from and I for one was very satisfied with the whole experience. The staff were efficient and helpful - well done to them.

It may not be salubrious, but for a relatively inexpensive hotel that ticks all the boxes, it is central to the west bank, is a bus ride from Waterloo station and another to Tower Bridge (we went to see the Poppies at the Tower of London) this hotel cries out to be recommended.

A note for those who have not read my comments before. I was a professional contract technical author in industry where complete accuracy was essential. In all my submissions I try to be even handed, totally honest and as accurate as possible. I try to tell it as it is, both good and bad, and suggest where things could be made better.

Room Tip: I have a priority club card. We stayed on floor 6 - it had a view of St Paul's Cathedral - and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Peter R

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comprehensive review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express - London Southwark. I am glad to see that you had a pleasant stay that you enjoyed our bedroom product. I will certainly share your comments with the team here and I hope you will choose us again next time you visit London.

Kind regards

Francesco Minafra
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#303 of 1,068 in London
1,970 reviews
Shoreditch
Holiday Inn Express London City
Southwark
LSE Bankside House
LSE Bankside House
#528 of 1,068 in London
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark

Property: Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Address: Snow House 103-109 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#304 Romantic Hotel in London
#318 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express-London Southwark, the ideal location for business and leisure travellers visiting London. The hotel is situated on the south-bank of the River Thames and only minutes away from major London tourist attractions, such as the New Tate Modern, Shakespeare s Globe Theatre, St Paul's Cathedral, Royal Festival Hall, The Shard, The London Eye, which offers spectacular views of the London sky-line, and many more. The Holiday Inn Express London Southwark features 136 contemporary style bedrooms, all individually air conditioned offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All our rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, modem points at work stations with Free WiFi and Freeview television. In addition, the hotel is in close proximity to both Southwark Tube only a short distance from direct access to Westfield Stratford City, the O2 & Canary Wharf via the Jubilee line and Blackfriars Station Terminal with access to the Circle and District lines, allowing convenient access to attractions in the heart of London such as Leicester Square and London s Theatreland. All bedrooms have recently been renovated and the hotel has a newly refurbished lobby, great room and breakfast room. Free breakfast is also offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing