We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is based on previous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Ranked #258 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is based on previous stay”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Like one of your reviews I to was booked for 18 to21 of April. On arrival was told it was over booked along with other people that came in when I was there, they made no attempt to let me know before hand and that goes for the other people that were there. I managed to locate a hotel in the area, they had made no attempt to do this but were happy to send me a 40 min taxi ride away. Not acceptable for a chain this size. Could you trust a hotel that would do this.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Col19UnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Col19UnitedKingdom,

Thank you for reviewing your stays at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. As you have seen from another review that we had an extremely unusual situation arise over that weekend which allowed the hotel to become overbooked. We made a concerted effort to contact every guest that had provided their contact details to provide them with warning of the issue.

I understand that our alternative property at London City may not have been ideal for your needs but it was our only option due to the busy weekend London encountered over the Easter period. I fully appreciate how frustrating this must have been and thank you for your patience you showed our front desk team while dealing with the situation.

Should you wish to contact me to speak further then please email me on sgsm@hiexpresslondonwandsworth.co.uk

Kind Regards
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    228
    63
    13
    7
See reviews for
169
121
19
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Have passed this hotel many times on the way to Feltham station to get to Heathrow Airport and also when working in Putney, so when I needed a hotel to arrive late from a function in London, but close to Heathrow for the next day, thought I would give it a try

It worked perfectly, late train from Hayes (Kent) via Waterloo and into Wandsworth all within 1 hour and on arrival very friendly receptionist, late bar for that well deserved night cap and great nights sleep, even though close to railway and busy round about junction.

The room was adequate, as expected from a HIE and breakfast reasonable even thought extremely busy (some schools Rugby match somewhere I think)

All in all, will definitely stay here again, if not just for convenience and on the date I stayed, for the price

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear GaryCI,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. Great to read that you found our location ideal – we are well located for both Heathrow Airport links and for Central London with a train station just one minute walk from the hotel.

We love to provide a relaxed atmosphere in our bar after a long journey to the city, it’s a great place to unwind and kick back. Our breakfast area was quite busy that weekend as, quite rightly you mentioned, we were accommodating an annual rugby tournament - but we try to advise of peak times for those wishing to avoid the rush.

I hope that you will visit us again next time you’re visiting Putney and look forward to having you stay soon.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Every time I come down to london, I always stay in the Holiday Inn Express, The Smugglers Way, Wandsworth which is a short walk from Wandsworth Town rail station. I have a prosthetic leg and I managed to walk to this hotel without stopping.

They provide you a cooked breakfast included in the price of the room. They have a lovely big lounge for guests which includes a bar.

There is a fuel station behind the hotel with a small shop for food and drinks. Many takeaways around the Thames which is a 2 minute walk across the road from the front door.

The staff throughout the entire hotel are very helpful with everything

Room Tip: The disabled access rooms are en-suite and have a double bed with a single bed for your helper. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caithnessmwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear caithenessmwm,

How kind of you to write such an amazing review as a regular guest. Our team always go the extra mile to provide outstanding customer service and I will definitely share this review with them at our morning meeting.

The hotel is handily located near the train station so getting into Central London with the direct train to Waterloo takes just fifteen minutes. Breakfast is free for everyone that stays at the hotel and has a selection of continental and hot favourites to set you up for the day ahead. Our newly designed bar area also serves meals throughout the day if you don’t want to venture too far.

We look forward to having you stay with us next time and thank you again for taking the time to write about our hotel on Tripadvisor.

Many thanks,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at Easter weekend - checking in on Good Friday. There was apparently a big problem with overbooking at our arrival (we were initially told we would need to move to Old Street). However as we needed to be in Wandsworth/Battersea for a course (being run nearby over 2 days) they managed to squeeze us in. The overbooking issue was clearly not the fault of the local staff who, despite having to deal with this horrendous situation, were impeccably professional and polite.

But that was the only blip associated with our stay.

We had a twin room on the fifth floor - on the river side of the hotel. With the air conditioning switched off (not needed that weekend), it was pin drop quiet during the night (once, by 11pm, the other residents had stopped moving around the corridor).

The room and shower room were very clean and modern. Comfortable beds. Only one very minor complaint (which is common to a lot of hotel rooms) - there is too little in the way of towel rails (two rails is fine for a hand towel and bath towel in a single room but is not enough for a twin room).

Breakfast was great. Plenty for us to eat.

We were pleased with this hotel and will use it again if we need to be in this part of London.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Framlingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Framlingham,

So fantastic to read such a wonderful review of your stay. Thank you for your patience and understanding regarding the overbooking situation we encountered over the Easter weekend, it was a taxing time for us all – not least our guests.

We’re glad that you enjoyed a relaxing time in London, and you found our rooms to be very quiet. Our beds are all brand new so to read that you had a comfortable night’s sleep is great. The rooms have been designed for maximum space so we use a single towel rack for one set of towels and the other set are located on the shelves just outside the bathroom. I will pass on your thoughts though and share this with the team.

It’s great that breakfast is free and it’s an unlimited buffet so you can really fill up for those long days out walking in the city. We hope that you’ll come back and enjoy another weekend with us in the near future.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I booked a friend in for the Easter weekend on April the 5th with my credit card as a guarantee. I was given a confirmation letter. But on arrival on Good Friday we arrived and were told there was no room available due to over booking and my friend could stay in a sister hotel in City airport - an hours drive from Wandsworth. The manager on duty was extremely unhelpful in this matter. We had to find a hotel in the neighbourhood ourselves. Holiday Inn will never ever be selected by myself as a hotel option.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMLMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear FMLMW,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Allow me to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you, your family and your friend. I know this would have caused frustration for you all over the Easter weekend.

As I am sure the team informed you, the hotel was over sold for the weekend, a situation we do not often encounter. However a tour series that was booked into the hotel was not accounted for in our reservation system, which allowed the hotel to over sell for the weekend.

We made every attempt to relocate every guest in advance, but obviously location can be an issue. I believe our General Manager has already been in touch with you but should you wish to contact me regarding this review please contact me on sgsm@hiexpresslondonwandsworth.co.uk

Kind Regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level Contributor
565 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a good example of a HIE. It has been recently refurbed and is very smart. The rooms as in all HIE's are clean and functional rooms and the bed very comfy. Be aware that this hotel sits on a very busy road and the quietest rooms are on the front over the car park. Good value but you do need to pay for parking. Service was excellent and the breakfast good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear DDFarnham,

So wonderful to read that you enjoy our recent refurbishment, and many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. The refurbishment has meant a modern look for our Great Room and reception area as well as all guest bedrooms.

Car parking is of a premium in London so a small fee of £10 per vehicle per night is charged for residential guests. Though we do find that many people choose to travel by public transport to our hotel with Wandsworth Town train station a couple of minutes’ walk from the hotel.

Please come back and visit us soon to enjoy more excellent customer service and of course our free breakfast.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Clean and functional rooms. Great price (even over Easter) that included breakfast. Rooms were a bit noisy but almost to be expected in London and location on the Wandsworth ring road. Service however was excellent - special mention to the manager of breakfast service who was super helpful despite a busy restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Suzanna S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. Great to read that you found the hotel good value for money with the free breakfast and wifi included in all our rates.

Breakfast is one of our busiest and most exciting times! The Breakfast Manager, you mention was actually our General Manager, Michael. All our team really enjoy joining in with breakfast on a morning so we’re pleased that you found the customer service super helpful.

We hope you’ll come back and visit us soon.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Address: Smugglers Way | Wandsworth, London SW18 1EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Best Value Hotel in London
#270 Business Hotel in London
#282 Family Hotel in London
#302 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth and enjoy a different side to capital life, South West side, the convenience of the city without all the hustle and bustle. It's only a 2 minute walk to Wandsworth Town train station; the train to London Waterloo from there only takes 12 minutes, its 3 minutes to Clapham Junction and 35 minutes to Gatwick Airport. If you're driving we do have onsite car parking too. Of course there's free WiFi throughout the hotel and every guest can enjoy breakfast no matter what rate you book on. Rooms have air conditioning, en suite shower room, flatscreen TV, hair dryer, work desk and tea and coffee. If you chose to dine out, take your pick of excellent restaurants and bars along the Old York Road or by the River Thames. Close by there are walks of the River Thames, Kew Gardens and the Landmark Battersea Power Station, all this plus the local gems of Putney and Clapham. Guests visiting on their leisure time stay with us and visit London's top sporting venues including Chelsea's Stamford Bridge, Fulham Football Club, Wimbledon, The Oval and Twickenham, The Royal Albert Hall and not forgetting Earls Court Exhibition Centre. With easy access to the centre of London just on our doorstep, we regularly welcome business travellers, who tell us the location along with the free WiFi access is ideal for them. The hotel is also a great 'out of town' venue to hold small meetings, we can host up to 25 and have some great meetings offers available. Whatever your reason to stay we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing