We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Ranked #235 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfortable clean hotel”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stopped for one night in a double room whilst travelling for business

Pro's
Good parking facilities (charge applies)
Very clean throughout
Quiet rooms, also quite roomy
Free wifi available
Helpful staff
Comfortable bed
Individual room temperature control

Cons
Hot water fluctuates in shower
WiFi drops signal
Unable to shut window fully, hinge system a bit awkward
Very near flightpath, planes overhead very often

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear sammyD80,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. I’m pleased that you found our rooms quiet, clean and comfortable – just what you need after a hectic day out in the bustle of London. Our staff are great at recommending places in the local area as well as in the centre whether it’s a restaurant, bar, or attraction.

We are looking at improving our wi-fi signal as it is free throughout the hotel it can often get very busy so thank you for bearing with us during our busier periods. Like most big cities the flightpath for the airport does fly over the centre of the City which means that the majority of London does get affected by a little noise infringement.

I hope that the pros of our outstanding service our team offered and the comfortable rooms won over the cons, and you’ll visit us next time you’re in the area.

Kind Regards,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    237
    63
    13
    7
See reviews for
182
125
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

me and my partner stayed here mid march for his 40th birthday celebrations in london! we stayed a total of three nights and i must say although we frequently visit the old smoke i had yet to find a great hotel...both for location to the city centre and good ammenities. i can honestly say i have now found one! staff where extremly friendly upon arrival and very informative when we asked questions regarding the local train station...ie train times, location etc.
The room was neat and tidy, basic bathroom but definately clean! it was a great base after long days exploring our favourite city, and coming back on the last tube (a little tipsy) having a 24 hr garage and macdonalds right across the road was handy for midnight munchies!
the room was tidied by housekeeping everyday when we where out,fresh towels and coffee, tv worked fine, the all you can eat breakfast set us up for the day every morning...not a 5 star feast but more than enough choice to say it was included in the room rate.
if your exploring this epic city, for fun and leisure, and your people of simple pleasures in life like us then this is a great place to lay your head at night. london is an adventure for the two of us...we will continue to see and explore everything this city has to offer on an annual trip and this hotel will definately serve us right in the future.....its not a palace...its not the hilton...its a clean, well priced and friendly place to rest after making memories in one of the best citys in the world.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Leanne G,

So wonderful to read that you spent your partners birthday celebrations with us at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. It’s great that you found our team helpful and friendly, we really do take pride in excelling at customer service – I will share this with them in our regular meetings.

As with our front desk team our housekeeping team also work very hard in keeping our hotel clean and fresh for our guests. I know how important it is to relax in comfortable surroundings after a long day in the bustle of London.

I do hope that now you’ve found our hidden gem of London that you will come and join us next time you’re in the big smoke!

Many thanks,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Had to be in this area of London. This was best priced could get in area.
Hotel was clean & quite, slept ok. Room was small I was disappointed after booking a double to find 2 twin beds that were rocky felt unstable, had to rearrange room ourselves although they knew we were expecting a double. Bathroom was small basic, very noisy toilet flush! Not much much with 2 people, suitcase etc. Tea coffee horrid, breakfast was awful 1st morning did improve very basic & busy. Hotel as whole fine, just overpriced @ £114 a night additional £10 parking I've stayed in far better hotels for alot less money, but if you have to be here & can't afford the more expensive hotels in area then you'll be fine.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jennyonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear jennyonthemove,

Many thanks for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. We’re sorry that you didn’t find our hotel good value for money. Our rooms are often commented on as spacious and functional, and can accommodate 2 adults and 2 children at no extra charge. I appreciate that you’re preferred room type was unavailable on this occasion and for this I must apologise.

Our breakfast product quality has recently been improved but I will pass on your comments to the team so we can assess this as we do on a regular basis. Again thank you for highlighting your experience and hope that you will stay with us next time you’re in the area.

Many thanks,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We found out an very clear room and the courtesy of the person. The breakfast was good. The only issue is for the wifi: it is free but it is not so comfortable the way to access, in the room the signal is not so high and it goes very very slow.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Gianluca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Gianginho,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. I’m pleased that you enjoyed a relaxing and comfortable stay with us at the hotel. Our team really enjoy making guests feel welcome from the first time they walk through the door so it’s wonderful to hear that felt that warmth.

We offer free Internet throughout the hotel which can mean the bandwidth gets very busy, so we have increased this to meet the needed connection speed recently. We’re sorry that on your last stay this was a little slow and we will pass this on to our Internet providers.

Our breakfast is also free with every stay and it’s wonderful to read that you enjoyed the buffet on a morning – great for setting you up for the day ahead.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Good location close to London. Train station is opposite, ideal for catching trains into Waterloo. Only a ten minute trip and they come along every 15 mins or so. Hotel has car park which they charge £10 per day. We stayed one night and used the car park for two days. The receptionist only charged us for one which was great. Rooms are comfortable with a reasonably sized bathroom. We stayed in the 6th floor no outside noise and slept very well. The key cards are a bit awkward so we had to get the receptionist up to let us in. This seemed to be a common problem as our friends had the same issue and we heard others who also had problems.
Breakfast consists of a good selection of cereals, croissants, breads, fruit, yoghurt and sausages, scrambled egg and beans. No bacon I'm afraid but this was more than enough for us.
All in all a good stay at a reasonable price, we would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldguysruleportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear oldguysruleportland,

So pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. Many thanks for taking the time out to review your time with us.
As you mention the hotel is well located for public transport links into Central London with a station just a minute’s walk, and a direct bus to Victoria outside the hotel. No need for congested tube carriages when you have these facilities at hand.

We are currently resolving the problem with the key cards which was caused by a software issue in our computer systems, so this should be fixed by the end of the week. Thank you bearing with us as I know it can be a little frustrating. Great to hear that once you’d gained access to your room that you found it comfortable and peaceful. Our brand new beds and décor in the rooms really add to the hotel experience.

Please come visit us next time you’re in the area it would be great to have you back.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights on business, room OK but single beds didn't pass muster for a good nights sleep. No iron in room, got one from reception but they only have dry irons, nightmare getting your clothes ironed to any standard. Parking £10.0 a night, breakfast low quality, coffee is awful from the machine. Hotel receptionist also has to double up as the bar tender. Staff on reception were helpful but with limited English. If you need an evening meal or lunch go to The Ship pub on the river about a 5 minute walk from hotel, good high quality food.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EODUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear EODUK,

Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. At our hotel we really like to wow our guests so we will be using your review in our daily meetings to learn where we can do better.

The hotel follows the Holiday Inn Express brand standards which mean that irons are available to collect from reception and we also provide a laundry service with an external company which do same day delivery if it’s with them by ten am. Convenient for when you need to be looking ultra crisp!

All our room rates include free breakfast which includes a selection of continental and hot favourites and we have recently improved the quality to great guest feedback. We do have a great team of front desk staff from a variety of different countries and speaking many different languages, but all are fluent in English – great for our visitors from all over Europe and Internationally.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#308 of 1,069 in London
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Address: Smugglers Way | Wandsworth, London SW18 1EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Best Value Hotel in London
#270 Business Hotel in London
#282 Family Hotel in London
#302 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth and enjoy a different side to capital life, South West side, the convenience of the city without all the hustle and bustle. It's only a 2 minute walk to Wandsworth Town train station; the train to London Waterloo from there only takes 12 minutes, its 3 minutes to Clapham Junction and 35 minutes to Gatwick Airport. If you're driving we do have onsite car parking too. Of course there's free WiFi throughout the hotel and every guest can enjoy breakfast no matter what rate you book on. Rooms have air conditioning, en suite shower room, flatscreen TV, hair dryer, work desk and tea and coffee. If you chose to dine out, take your pick of excellent restaurants and bars along the Old York Road or by the River Thames. Close by there are walks of the River Thames, Kew Gardens and the Landmark Battersea Power Station, all this plus the local gems of Putney and Clapham. Guests visiting on their leisure time stay with us and visit London's top sporting venues including Chelsea's Stamford Bridge, Fulham Football Club, Wimbledon, The Oval and Twickenham, The Royal Albert Hall and not forgetting Earls Court Exhibition Centre. With easy access to the centre of London just on our doorstep, we regularly welcome business travellers, who tell us the location along with the free WiFi access is ideal for them. The hotel is also a great 'out of town' venue to hold small meetings, we can host up to 25 and have some great meetings offers available. Whatever your reason to stay we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing