We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Ranked #236 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible bed”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My experience at this hotel was that it had terrible beds. More like bathtubs. It also did not have a fridge in the room or a safe. Except for the above it was otherwise comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was good only about 200m from the train and bus. It was also overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianbbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear ianbbk,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review your stay at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. I’m sorry to read that you found our beds uncomfortable. We have recently undergone a refurbishment and all beds are brand new, which many guests have commented on how much better they are. I will share your comments with the team about the excellent customer service you received, it’s greatly appreciated to read such positive feedback.

Kind Regards

James Dale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    237
    63
    13
    7
See reviews for
182
125
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stopped for one night on business. A few mins walk from the train station. Arrived late evening and checked in quickly by friendly reception staff. One of the two lifts was out of service, so a bit of a wait for the other one which was working overtime to cope. Room quality was good and spotlessly clean. Powerful shower and big, soft, towels.

No noise on the sixth floor so slept soundly. Didn't try the breakfast so can't comment on the food. No ironing board in the room but I'm sure that one would have been brought if I had asked.

Train up to Waterloo in the morning was jam packed (like the doors open & folks just about fall out). I generally travel to town from further up the line so didn't think about this - do take this into consideration when planning your journey (especially if you have luggage).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Derek K,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. Great to read that you found our brand new beds comfortable. Earlier this year we completed a refurbishment of our hotel rooms and it’s wonderful to read such good feedback regarding them. And you’re right! – we have plenty of ironing boards should you need one.

The train can be a bit busy with the morning rush hour but this usually clears by 9am. It’s a convenient link that takes just 15 minutes door to door from the hotel to Central London. I hope next time when you visit us you’ll have chance to try the breakfast.

Many thanks

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goose Green, Falkland Islands
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Took 3 goes to get into the room due to the access cards not working.

Room OK, bathroom OK, breakfast was sufficient for me (cereal, DIY toast, coffee machines, orange juice machines) The lady in the breakfast room was really friendly, helpful and was constantly on the go cleaning tables/welcoming guest/making sure the food is all there.

Parking was £10 a night, WiFi was free and accessed by code but was quite slow at times and dropped out regularly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mike H,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. Thank you bearing with us while we had a few technical difficulties with our keycard software. This has been quickly resolved but I appreciate it may have been a little frustrating.

Hazel, in breakfast, thanks you for you kind comments. We share all feedback with our team so it’s really appreciated when our service excels. Our wi-fi is currently being upgraded due to guest feedback – we have a large volume of people logging on during peak times so we are looking at ways to ensure everyone has a decent connection.

Many thanks

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth U K
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Holiday inn Express chain set good standards for room facilities, cleanliness and value. This hotel lives up to those standards and provided us with a comfortable stay in Wandsworth. The station is only five minutes walk and you can be in Waterloo for access to pretty much anywhere in London, within around twenty minutes. As mentioned in other reviews the hot breakfast options can slightly disappoint with leathery sausages if you happen to pick one that has been on the hot plate too long. That said, the cold selection was good and no one should leave for the day feeling hungry! Service was welcoming and efficient and we will be happy to use this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: The busy road that runs past can be noisy so rooms facing the car park are a better bet if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanHBournemouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear IanHBournemouth,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. Pleased to read that you found the hotel good value and to the high standards of the Holiday Inn Express brand. Like yourself, many of our guests find the location convenient for getting into Central London with the station a short walk from the hotel.

We are always looking at ways to improve and I will share with the team your thoughts about breakfast. We have recently upgraded the quality of our offering but we listen to all our guests feedback. Great to read that you found our service made up for it! We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Many thanks

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for an event at Battersea. Overall very good. The hotel has onsite parking for a reasonable £5 per night, the room was clean and functional, to be honest I wasn't expecting much more. The staff were efficient and very pleasant especially Hazel the lady in charge of the breakfast room. They handled the ordering of a cab well with so many people wanting to get to Battersea.

Negatives (and these are very minor given the fact this is a basic hotel). Bed was a bit small for a hotel double, the breakfast was very basic and there was no lemon for G&T's. As I said only minor gripes

If I am in need of a hotel in this area again, I will be re-booking

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bomb_bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear bomb_bay,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. The hotel is conveniently located for events in Battersea, including the Battersea Evolution events centre. Pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and efficient. When we have large groups attending an event we do try and ensure that we have plenty of taxis ready to avoid any delays.

I will pass on your kind comments to Hazel, she works very hard to ensure every guests feels special and welcome. Since your stay we have now put king size duvets on our double beds to make them more comfortable – it really does make a difference. I hope that when you rebook for your next visit you enjoy it just as much as your first visit.

Many thanks

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here with my mum and daughter For the weekend,Found the hotel to be really clean
Only one slight niggle the sofa bed wasn't very comfortable.but the staff were really friendly and very helpful, especially Hazel in the breakfast room. Location great. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boltp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear boltp,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your families stay with us at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. Pleased to read that you found our location ideal for your needs – the train takes just 15 minutes into Central London for all the sightseeing and shopping!

Hazel has just joined our team and is a real asset at breakfast – great to read that you found her welcoming and friendly. I will also pass on your comments regarding the sofabed – we are currently replacing some of our less modern sofas to standardise throughout the hotel.

We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit.

Many thanks

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presteigne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Clean and comfortable, very good service especially hazel at breakfast. However the cooked breakfasts did not look very good, The rest of the breakfast food was, however, good with a wide variety available. Both the TV and Wi-Fi kept resetting themselves, this meant re-logging on for the Wi-Fi and a TV picture size that did not match the screen! Just minor little niggles in what was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear michael s,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express, London Wandsworth. It’s great to read that you found our rooms comfortable and clean – a place to relax after a busy day in London. I will pass on your comments to Hazel at breakfast, she works really hard to make sure all our guests are welcomed at breakfast.

We are looking at upgrading our wi-fi connection in the near future so I hope on your next visit this will be much better for you. As the wi-fi is free for all our guests throughout the hotel it can be a little slow during peak periods. I hope that you will visit us again soon.

Many thanks

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#309 of 1,069 in London
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Address: Smugglers Way | Wandsworth, London SW18 1EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Best Value Hotel in London
#270 Business Hotel in London
#282 Family Hotel in London
#302 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth and enjoy a different side to capital life, South West side, the convenience of the city without all the hustle and bustle. It's only a 2 minute walk to Wandsworth Town train station; the train to London Waterloo from there only takes 12 minutes, its 3 minutes to Clapham Junction and 35 minutes to Gatwick Airport. If you're driving we do have onsite car parking too. Of course there's free WiFi throughout the hotel and every guest can enjoy breakfast no matter what rate you book on. Rooms have air conditioning, en suite shower room, flatscreen TV, hair dryer, work desk and tea and coffee. If you chose to dine out, take your pick of excellent restaurants and bars along the Old York Road or by the River Thames. Close by there are walks of the River Thames, Kew Gardens and the Landmark Battersea Power Station, all this plus the local gems of Putney and Clapham. Guests visiting on their leisure time stay with us and visit London's top sporting venues including Chelsea's Stamford Bridge, Fulham Football Club, Wimbledon, The Oval and Twickenham, The Royal Albert Hall and not forgetting Earls Court Exhibition Centre. With easy access to the centre of London just on our doorstep, we regularly welcome business travellers, who tell us the location along with the free WiFi access is ideal for them. The hotel is also a great 'out of town' venue to hold small meetings, we can host up to 25 and have some great meetings offers available. Whatever your reason to stay we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing