We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for visiting the O2”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Ranked #539 of 1,068 Hotels in London
essex
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfect for visiting the O2”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed for one night when visiting the O2. So very convenient being just a short walk to the tube station and then one stop. Receptionist who checked us in and out was extreemly helpful, we were offered a quiet room at the back without having to ask. The room was large with comfortable bed, plenty of pillows and towels. Shower was good and powerful and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Breakfast was fine for us, although it is only served until 9.30am weekdays. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as there is a busy road to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essexfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    371
    227
    66
    53
See reviews for
203
239
71
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed on a recent visit to be close to the O2 arena. It was the perfect location for this, only 1 tube stop away. The hotel is approx 250 yards from Canning Town tube station.
Check in was quick and easy. The room was reasonable size and comfortable. It was great for what we needed.
My only drawback was that the hotel was quite noisy. Not particularly the fault of the hotel. I also didn't think the breakfast was vey good. The food was lukewarm at best and the cheapest ingredients they could find. The bread for toast was the thinnest they could find.
Overall, I would say reasonable. If I had to travel to the O2 again, I would pick this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimd1768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear jimd1768,

Thank you for your feedback. It is good to know that you like our convenient location and room accommodations. I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was not up to the high standards we strive to reach and provide for our guests.I apologize for any discomfort felt caused by the noise and food selections. I appreciate your feedback, as it assists us in monitoring and ensuring we are providing our guests with the high quality service they deserve. We hope if you are ever in the area again, that you give us the chance to provide you a better accommodation.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed here a few times for work and they always did well. Rooms are nice, large and always clean. Staff are always great. Ate at the Italian place just next door, again always good. Car parking it £10 a night, which after spending £100 a night I always find a little excessive, but its London I suppose. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_H0pkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great location and allows me to drive almost to central London, park overnight and then leave the car for the following day whilst in London for conference, having checked out in the morning. A few minutes stroll from Canning Town tube and DLR.

By car, approach South on Silvertown Way. If coming Northbound you'll have to go to roundabout and return. Go past the hotel, then go to the left of the overpass, then immediately left again to get to the car park entrance. When leaving, to go Northbound, go to the left of the overpass then straight on, go right through small link road under the underpass, then right again to effectively double back up the other side of the overpass to rejoin the Northbound carriageway.

Staff were welcoming and helpful.

Breakfast now has some hot items included. Not as wide a selection as a full Holiday Inn, but then the Express is less expensive.

Couple of issues with the room, but not critical. Sink tap was leaking and the shower head rail was loose. However, the room overall was excellent.

I was given option of a rear-facing room but took a front-facing one. Noisier, but not unacceptably, and with a view out towards the O2 arena, Canary Wharf and other London landmarks. I you can't stand any road noise though, ask for a rear-facing room.

Room Tip: Rear-facing rooms are quieter but front-facing rooms have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_f_peterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed here for one night when I needed to stay in London for work. I was working in Canary Wharf so this hotel is excellent value for a convenient location near Docklands and City Airport.

Its not the best area but the hotel itself is good quality, relatively new , the rooms are good quality, comfortable and clean.

The staff were pleasant and helpful. I actually left something and they helped me locate it and get it back.

BUT don't stay here if you want a reliable and usable wifi service. I am a platinum elite member so get the premium wifi - but this service (even if you can get a connection and its not overloaded) is throttled to 1mb download speed - yes that's right 1mb !!!!

In this day and age that is completely useless and unacceptable - Lord knows what the standard service is like.

As it happens I have 4g mobile service on my phone which was able to get 60mb (yes that's right 60x the download speed of the hotel wifi). So I didn't bother with the hotel wifi and tethered my mobile phone instead.

Here are the speedtest results:
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/a/667777494
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/a/667778699

It is unacceptable for Hi-Express to be offering such a dismal wifi service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAR-AM-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear MAR-AM-UK,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the internet speeds prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We truly appreciate the perfect scores for Service, Sleep Quality, and Value as well as the high scores for Cleanliness and Rooms. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Stopped in a first floor double room which was comfy and warm,
There was a couple of problems the plug sockets only just worked and the kettle didnt fully boil, the breakfast was dissapointing with only a small selection and the hot items beans sauage scrambled egg wasnt very warm.
Good for a couple of nights not a long stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The service was very kind.
Location is convenient, right across from the tube/DLR station.

However, I assume the majority of visitors are here for business. Granted, it was relatively cheap, but for them - I think this hotel proves a dull solution, not suitable for a comfortable stay.
There is no safe in the room, mini bar and no amenities. Air conditioning was old/noisy/either too hot or too cold.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guychuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracie B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guychuk,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express, London Royal Docks.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. As an Express Hotel we offer limited services and do not provide in room safes or mini bars in our rooms. Our sister brand The Holiday Inn has a full service offering and have rooms available with the ameneties you are looking for. We do provide the use of safety deposit boxes that are located at our reception desk.
Kind Regards,
Tracie Barrie.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Travelodge London Docklands
#592 of 1,068 in London
1,140 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#482 of 1,068 in London
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Address: 1 Silvertown Way | Canning Town, London E16 1EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of London's dynamic Docklands area and is only minutes away from Canary Wharf and the Excel Exhibition Centre. London City Airport is only 2km away and Canning Town Tube and Bus Station is within few minutes walk. The O2 Arena is also a short distance away (only one tube stop). The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel has 136 fully air conditioned en-suite bedrooms. This London hotel has spacious family rooms. All rooms have High Speed and Wireless Internet facilities (chargeable).Visitors to the World Travel Market, International Boat Show, Toy Fair, London Wine Festival and Anthony Robins Exhibitions will all find the hotel ideally situated. Meeting and Conference rooms are spacious with natural daylight, convenient for local business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing