We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Crown Hyde Park
Ranked #704 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good for one night!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Enjoyed our one night stay in london, we had two full days to see shows and the sights. The reception staff are very friendly and check in was quick and informative. Rooms are quite cramped, but if you're on a one night visit, it is ideal. The beds are huge and comfortable. The bathroom while small is not cramped and is modern. The hotel was very clean.

We got a deal on booking.com and it was very reasonable. The location is excellent and very safe, close to paddington station. Breafast we had was continental and the area for breakfast is cramped, hot and small. Breakfast was in plentiful supply although I had to ask for tea/coffee after ten minutes as it was not offered as we were shown to our table which is normally the way.

I would stay again if there was a good deal!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTurtle2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your recent review and that you found everything perfect for your one night stay in London. We do hope you had a good flight back to Dublin.
We do hope this has not stopped you from using our hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    309
    162
    119
    93
See reviews for
214
266
46
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. I was supposed to stay for two nights but started looking for another hotel almost as soon as I got into my room.

The pluses: very friendly and helpful staff on reception. Very close to Paddington station. Just about adequate room size, and clean.

The minuses: for what I paid I expected more space in the bedroom.
There was no air conditioning and it was almost impossible to sleep in the recent heatwave because with the windows opened there was too much noise. Also the size of the room didn't help with the heat problem, it felt stuffy and over-upholstered.
The breakfast was very poor. The actual food wasn't great quality, and the layout of the buffet meant everybody ended up in a big queue along the whole length of the buffet even if you only wanted one little item. The breakfast room is rather dingy and a bit cramped.

Overall it was all adequate, nothing was dirty or broken etc. If you're looking for somewhere to dump your bags and get an ok nights sleep (when it's not a heatwave) for a concert in Hyde Park or something, you could definitely do worse in this area. But with a supposed four star rating, and for the price I paid, I expected much better. On this same trip I tried three different hotels, this one was the most expensive and by far the least good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCatBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for recent review and we are pleased you found our hotel clean and our staff friendly and helpful. We can only apologise that we do not have air conditioning as this has been an unusually hot heat wave in London and the UK. We do hope this has not stopped you from using our hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Kiev, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Room was far too small and there was no air-conditioning so it was practically impossible to sleep in it during the recent heat wave in London -- the window opened to a powerful ventilation system underneath producing strong constant noise but once the window is closed the room gets too hot. Breakfast was quite poor too, nothing close to 4 stars claimed by the hotel. We've moved to another hotel (Indigo, on parallel street) next morning and that felt like changing a horse cart for a limousine. The staff at Quality helped with our transfer by calling the other hotel and making reservation arrangements, for which they should be given credit though.

Room Tip: I don't recommend choosing this hotel in the first place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UVB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for recent review on our hotel we apologise that our hotel was not to you liking or expectations. We are pleased to hear our staff assisted you to move to another hotel in the area which was better to your liking.
We do hope this has not stopped you from using our hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The hotel is located close to Paddington Station in a very quiet and leafy side street. It is a small comfortable hotel located inside of a Georgian white stone building .
Smallish, but very clean and well maintained rooms. Having read previous reviews, yes, I agree that it is better to pay just a little more to secure a bigger room. Excellent breakfasts. Amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Small and friendly ground floor bar with reasonable prices and a wide range of drinks. Finally, we would like to thank Mr. Witek for his hospitality, his wonderful humour and his advice on the local area and indeed of London attractions generally.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for recent review on our hotel and we do take each and every review seriously and always react to our guests needs.
We do hope to see you again soon should you need to stay in London.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Used the hotel for The Stones concert in Hyde Park, perfect location in this lovely tree lined square. Short walk from Paddington but quiet and peaceful. Some good pubs and restaurants nearby. The room was good, but there are small rooms and some in the basement, so worth paying a bit more for a suite if you can. No air con and London is hot this summer, but the fan provided a breeze. Breakfast is very good, the staff attentive, and it's a buffet so eat all you like!
Reception sorted a taxi and kept our bags on checkout day so we could return for them later. Central London has some poor and expensive hotels but this one was a good experience overall.

Room Tip: Get a big room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bingleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for recent review on our hotel and we were so pleased to ready you had a great stay and enjoyable Stones concert. Thank you again for your kind comments on our staff and location.
We do hope this has not stopped you from using our hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Conveniently situated, 2 or 3 mins from Paddington, 10 mins from Hyde Park and Hire bikes. Booked a Club Twin, according to hotel website is a standard sized room. VERY small, would not like to have stayed in a small room! On the hottest day of the year, we arrived when the lift was broken and had to carry our bags up a very narrow staircase on the fifth floor. As previously stated, room was small, in the eves with no aircon and very hot. Shower room very small but clean and functional. Breakfast plentiful. Noise from the rest of the floor was easily heard, perhaps the gap around the door was to blame. The staff were professional, helpful and welcoming. I would stay there again but perhaps not in high summer.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rugbyfan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. Please accept our apology that you found your rooms smaller than expected. Unfortunately with the building being a grade 2 listed building rooms sizes do vary. Please also accept our apology regarding the lift being out of order for a short while, unfortunately Paddington is going through some major building works which at times can cause various power and water pressure issues for all its buildings. But we are glad to hear you would consider staying with us again.

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Whether it is really 2 minutes from Paddington Station as advertised, or whether it is 3 minutes is neither here nor there. Nor does it matter whether it deserves it's advertised 4 stars or whether it should really be a 3 hotel.

What is important is that this hotel is a very short and easy walk from Paddington Station and it is well furnished, spotlessly clean and has some lovely, helpful staff.

We stayed in one of their contemporary bedrooms for four people and the room was on the 4th floor far away from the lift. It was lovely and quiet, and unlike many hotels; was not in need of refurbishment. On the contrary it was well decorated and clean.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel, however it was a lovely buffet. Unlike many hotels which provide cheap sausages and overly cooked American style streaky bacon, here it was superbly cooked back bacon. Breads, pastries, yoghurt, cheese, ham, egg, tomatoes, mushrooms, fruit juice, coffee, tea etc. etc. It may not be the biggest buffet selection we've encountered at a hotel but it was definitely one of the best.

Just round the corner (within a 1 to 2 minute walk) are a load of restaurants....fish n' chips, Greek cuisine, Italian, Indian, as well as pubs and coffee houses. Plenty to choose from.

The 'hop on hop off' tourist buses stop within 1 to 2 minutes walk from the hotel and are easy to find. Likewise the underground and the overland railways are very close.

The staff at this hotel are wonderful. Everything seems to be done with a genuine smile, no matter whether it is those at the reception desk or those serving in the restaurant.

If there is anything that I would have liked to have that wasn't in the bedroom, it would have been air-conditioning and a fridge in the bedroom. On the days that it does get hot, despite there being a fan available, air-conditioning would have been nice.

However for the price, we thought this hotel was excellent value and when next in London will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room-401 is at the end of the corridor far away from the lift....if you want a bedroom for four pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Guests,

Please accept our huge thank you for your recent review on our Quality Crown Hotel Hyde Park.

It was such a pleasure to read that your stay was enjoyable. I would also like to thank you for you kind comments regards your breakfast as we do pride ourselves on our staff and offering.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon next time you are visiting London.

Kind regards

Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Group Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#751 of 1,069 in London
49 reviews
St. David's Hotels
#615 of 1,069 in London
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Crown Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Crown Hyde Park

Property: Quality Crown Hyde Park
Address: 8 Talbot Square, London W2 1TS, England (Formerly Quality Crown Hyde Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #704 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION -Located in a quiet garden square just 2 minutes from Paddington Station, this beautiful Victorian townhouse has been recently air-conditioned and boasts contemporary interiors with state-of-the-art amenities.With interactive flat-screen TVs, high-speed wireless internet and inspired service, guest satisfaction is our Number One Priority.Quality Crown Hyde Park is not affiliated with the Crown Hyde Park Hotel in any way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Lastminute, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Crown Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Crown Hyde Park (Not Affiliated With The Crown Hyde Park Hotel) Hotel
Quality Inn London
London Quality Inn
Quality Crown Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing