We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many things went wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Crown Hyde Park
Ranked #704 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too many things went wrong”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were warned that the rooms may be small and our travel agent had requested a larger room, no you will have what you are given, we will recheck tomorrow.
The bed space was 2and a bit strides wide, the shower was rubbish,the tiny central heating unit broke on the first night of 5, so we were blessed with a fan for the rest of our stay. It was like hve a plane engine at the end of the bed.
Make sure you know what you are getting when it comes to breakfast, fairly basic and if it hadnt been included in the price I would have walked aroud the corner for full english breakfast at less than half the price.
It was clean and tidy and the barman/porter/fix it up man was a delight to deal with. The location was good and handy to public transport.
Not sure if we would stay there again didnt rate with anything we have stayed around the world.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you ask for not what they feel like giving
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for recent review and we apologise that the hotel was unable to upgrade your booking to a larger room due to the hotel being fully booked. We do always advise guests that our advertised small double rooms are small. We are pleased that you found us both clean and tidy and our porter assisted you with handy local knowledge.
We do hope that you would consider using us again the future should you need to stay in London again.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    309
    162
    119
    93
See reviews for
214
266
46
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire u.k
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Booked for three nights only stayed two, awful room, to small for a double bed, very
cramped. Sockets hard to get to, the bed hid two. The bath room had a horrible smell as there was no window and no ventilation. I had to complain the first night about the noise from the room above ! I could hear every thing got no sleep. Was glad to leave ! money wasted and a big rip off.
Eileen. d. Lincolnshire.

Room Tip: don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eileen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for recent review and we apologise that you found your booked small double very cramped. We do always advertise our rooms very clearly as not to surprise our guests what they are booking. Should you decide to stay with us again in the future I would like to recommend you book one of our standard double which I know will be better for your needs.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Enjoyed our one night stay in london, we had two full days to see shows and the sights. The reception staff are very friendly and check in was quick and informative. Rooms are quite cramped, but if you're on a one night visit, it is ideal. The beds are huge and comfortable. The bathroom while small is not cramped and is modern. The hotel was very clean.

We got a deal on booking.com and it was very reasonable. The location is excellent and very safe, close to paddington station. Breafast we had was continental and the area for breakfast is cramped, hot and small. Breakfast was in plentiful supply although I had to ask for tea/coffee after ten minutes as it was not offered as we were shown to our table which is normally the way.

I would stay again if there was a good deal!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTurtle2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your recent review and that you found everything perfect for your one night stay in London. We do hope you had a good flight back to Dublin.
We do hope this has not stopped you from using our hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. I was supposed to stay for two nights but started looking for another hotel almost as soon as I got into my room.

The pluses: very friendly and helpful staff on reception. Very close to Paddington station. Just about adequate room size, and clean.

The minuses: for what I paid I expected more space in the bedroom.
There was no air conditioning and it was almost impossible to sleep in the recent heatwave because with the windows opened there was too much noise. Also the size of the room didn't help with the heat problem, it felt stuffy and over-upholstered.
The breakfast was very poor. The actual food wasn't great quality, and the layout of the buffet meant everybody ended up in a big queue along the whole length of the buffet even if you only wanted one little item. The breakfast room is rather dingy and a bit cramped.

Overall it was all adequate, nothing was dirty or broken etc. If you're looking for somewhere to dump your bags and get an ok nights sleep (when it's not a heatwave) for a concert in Hyde Park or something, you could definitely do worse in this area. But with a supposed four star rating, and for the price I paid, I expected much better. On this same trip I tried three different hotels, this one was the most expensive and by far the least good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCatBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for recent review and we are pleased you found our hotel clean and our staff friendly and helpful. We can only apologise that we do not have air conditioning as this has been an unusually hot heat wave in London and the UK. We do hope this has not stopped you from using our hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Room was far too small and there was no air-conditioning so it was practically impossible to sleep in it during the recent heat wave in London -- the window opened to a powerful ventilation system underneath producing strong constant noise but once the window is closed the room gets too hot. Breakfast was quite poor too, nothing close to 4 stars claimed by the hotel. We've moved to another hotel (Indigo, on parallel street) next morning and that felt like changing a horse cart for a limousine. The staff at Quality helped with our transfer by calling the other hotel and making reservation arrangements, for which they should be given credit though.

Room Tip: I don't recommend choosing this hotel in the first place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UVB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for recent review on our hotel we apologise that our hotel was not to you liking or expectations. We are pleased to hear our staff assisted you to move to another hotel in the area which was better to your liking.
We do hope this has not stopped you from using our hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The hotel is located close to Paddington Station in a very quiet and leafy side street. It is a small comfortable hotel located inside of a Georgian white stone building .
Smallish, but very clean and well maintained rooms. Having read previous reviews, yes, I agree that it is better to pay just a little more to secure a bigger room. Excellent breakfasts. Amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Small and friendly ground floor bar with reasonable prices and a wide range of drinks. Finally, we would like to thank Mr. Witek for his hospitality, his wonderful humour and his advice on the local area and indeed of London attractions generally.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for recent review on our hotel and we do take each and every review seriously and always react to our guests needs.
We do hope to see you again soon should you need to stay in London.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Used the hotel for The Stones concert in Hyde Park, perfect location in this lovely tree lined square. Short walk from Paddington but quiet and peaceful. Some good pubs and restaurants nearby. The room was good, but there are small rooms and some in the basement, so worth paying a bit more for a suite if you can. No air con and London is hot this summer, but the fan provided a breeze. Breakfast is very good, the staff attentive, and it's a buffet so eat all you like!
Reception sorted a taxi and kept our bags on checkout day so we could return for them later. Central London has some poor and expensive hotels but this one was a good experience overall.

Room Tip: Get a big room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bingleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for recent review on our hotel and we were so pleased to ready you had a great stay and enjoyable Stones concert. Thank you again for your kind comments on our staff and location.
We do hope this has not stopped you from using our hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#775 of 1,069 in London
48 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#561 of 1,069 in London
612 reviews
St. David's Hotels
#606 of 1,069 in London
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Crown Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Crown Hyde Park

Property: Quality Crown Hyde Park
Address: 8 Talbot Square, London W2 1TS, England (Formerly Quality Crown Hyde Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #704 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION -Located in a quiet garden square just 2 minutes from Paddington Station, this beautiful Victorian townhouse has been recently air-conditioned and boasts contemporary interiors with state-of-the-art amenities.With interactive flat-screen TVs, high-speed wireless internet and inspired service, guest satisfaction is our Number One Priority.Quality Crown Hyde Park is not affiliated with the Crown Hyde Park Hotel in any way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Crown Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Crown Hyde Park (Not Affiliated With The Crown Hyde Park Hotel) Hotel
Quality Inn London
London Quality Inn
Quality Crown Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing