We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5th visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Crown Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quality Crown Hyde Park
Ranked #692 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5th visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We've just got back and what can I say, what a let down on previous years. The hotel is having some renovations done, which we weren't told about when booking. The TV didn't work, neither did the heating or the internet, no wonder the receptionist made a big deal of telling us it was free!!! The staff however could not do enough for us, clean towels twice a day and a change of shower curtain, if we asked we got ( except for a working TV n internet). We will be staying there again and for those who say the staff are rude, you DIDNT stay where we did! They were so friendly despite the long hours that they work n nothing was too much trouble

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dencai1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Dencai,

Please accept a massive thank you from my staff and me regards your latest review on our hotel. And it is always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests.

We do apologise for the TV and internet issues which have been resolved and do look forward to seeing you again after our fantastic refurbishment.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    309
    162
    119
    93
See reviews for
214
266
46
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect. Near Paddington station, Heathrow is 30 minutes from there. Many restaurants nearby. We stayed in a very spacious triple room.
Be careful with the concierge with a mustache. He likes to push more expensive taxis. We believed on him and paid 32 pounds to go to King's Cross Station. On the way back, with meter rolling and at night, the amount was 13 pounds!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeilaCCNogueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Leila,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and we were pleased to see you enjoyed many aspects of your stay. I would like to state that as a company we do work with a safe and reliable private hire taxi company who do a have a set pricelist for journeys in London.

Should a guest wishes to use a London black cab, our staff would have been more than happy to help hail one for them, but the cost and journey time would nto have been guarenteed.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed here for five nights on business. I think I lucked out and got a huge room on the first floor, which was great. The room itself was comfortable and clean. The main downside: the walls are quite thin, so I could hear everything happening in the hallways. But this is probably true of many hotels in the area that are built into the rowhouses in the area. The wi-fi worked well and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was surprisingly good and complete. Finally, the location is great -- around the corner from paddington station and there are many restaurants and convenience shops nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makeittso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept a huge thank you for your recent review on our hotel and your recent stay with us.

We were so pleased you really did enjoy your visit and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I can not recommend this place at all, though it is optimal located. After being bitten by bed bugs (wanzen) and complaining about it next morning the management offered a poor 50% off in their restaurant. The room we then were moved to had a defect shower and from above it sounded like a train running through. The service then showed very low nerves, seeing me again at the reception. Instead of dealing with the facts they alleged us to be sensitive to warm water and noise. We had not expected a hotel standard like the waldorf but at a rate of nearly 260€/night for a 3bed-room you will find better and tidier places right around the corner. Look in the internet, because I am not sure, if all of them are listet by the normal hotel-search- engines.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Prathitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Please accept our sincere apologies regards the issues you encountered at the Quality Crown Hotel Hyde Park. We do understand your upset and frustration on each.

I can confirm unlike many hotels in London we do take this very seriously and have a preventative pest control contract in place which would stop any infestation that previous guest may bring with them whilst traveling. Of course again we do apologise and thank you for bringing this to our attension.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed here for 7 nights last week on a special trip with my granddaughter, The hotel was very clean (I'm a bathroom freak), and the room, though small was comfortable. We were in a ground floor room, which faced on an air shaft, and it was noisy when families with small children were staying in the room above us. Windows were open into the air shaft and inconsidrate guests allowed their children to jump around and scream in the rooms. I realize that this is not the hotels' fault, but I would suggest requesting rooms on a higher floor and not facing into the air shaft.
The continental breakfast was more than adequate with hot items equivalent to s full English breakfast available, and everyone n the breakfast room was very pleasant and efficient. Our thanks to David who remembered our "one coffee, one tea" order each morning.
Our special thanks to Pavlina on the front desk. From the moment we entered the hotel, we were greeted by her cheery smile and welcome, and she continued to help us with reservations and suggestions through out our stay. The hotel staff was very friendly with lots of smiles all around.

The location of the hotel was excellent. I was afraid that as it was in the Paddington area it might be noisy and busy, but once we turned the corned onto Sussex Gardens and then into Talbot Square, all of our worries were for naught. I loved that we could walk from Paddington as we came by Heathrow Express, and that we were close to two Tube stops on different lines, which made getting around the city very easy.

This hotel is a little gem for those who are looking for a small personable hotel at a reasonable price in a good location.

Room Tip: Again, ask for an upper floor and a room that does not face onto an air shaft to cut down on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndoverGramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear AndoverGrammer,

Please accept our thanks for your fantastic review on our hotel and we are so pleased you think we are a great hotel.

We do look forward to seeing you again in the future after a refurbishment is complete.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

stayed here for 2 nights in April 2014, the staff were very pleasant, the room although quite small had everything in it you could need, and it was clean, breakfast was a buffet but it was hot and constantly topped up, lots of choices of food. Very near to Paddington station and Hyde park was just minutes away

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya_672002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Tanya,

Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and we were overjoyed you had a very nice stay. And we do look forward to welcoming you back soon as we would love you experience the hotel after its full refurbishment.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I like to stay in the Paddington area for it proximity to Underground as well as Heathrow Express, so no complaints about location. In fact, I like that it was tucked away from a busy street. The lobby and room were certainly clean and there was an electric kettle with coffee, teas, and biscuits. But I could find nowhere to plug in the kettle except on the bedside table. Hardly a disaster. My room looked out on a small balcony which featured one of the outside floodlights and it took some manipulating to get the curtains closed all the way to block it out at night. My room was also very warm with no way for me to cool it down except open the balcony door. And the walls were rather thin. Fortunately, my neighbors were not too loud and went to sleep before I did. Breakfast was abundant and nicely done. All in all, not horrible at all but for 184 GBP per night, even at London rates, I expected better and know it can be done.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room at the front of the building with a floodlight in front of the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeleine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, Front Office Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Madeleine05,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the great location we have. I have noted your comments with regards to the curtains and flood lights. I would also like to apologise for the lack of sockets in the room. Please rest assure your comments have been shared with the relevant department and we are currently refurbishing the rooms for better service.

I do hope to welcome you back in the future to experience our newly refurbished rooms.

Kind regards,

Joanna Escalante
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#796 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Cardiff Hotel
#593 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Tudor Court Hotel
#791 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Crown Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Crown Hyde Park

Property: Quality Crown Hyde Park
Address: 8 Talbot Square, London W2 1TS, England (Formerly Quality Crown Hyde Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #692 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION -Located in a quiet garden square just 2 minutes from Paddington Station, this beautiful Victorian townhouse has been recently air-conditioned and boasts contemporary interiors with state-of-the-art amenities.With interactive flat-screen TVs, high-speed wireless internet and inspired service, guest satisfaction is our Number One Priority.Quality Crown Hyde Park is not affiliated with the Crown Hyde Park Hotel in any way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Quality Crown Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Crown Hyde Park (Not Affiliated With The Crown Hyde Park Hotel) Hotel
Quality Inn London
London Quality Inn
Quality Crown Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing