We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snobbish Receptionist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Crown Hyde Park
Ranked #706 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Snobbish Receptionist”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My three friends and me stayed 7 nights in August at this pathetic hotel. The front desk was out-rightly rude and ill mannered. The morning shift receptionist and her assistant bald headed old man doesn't know the C of customer service, forget about the basic mannerisms ( smile, greet, helpful) which were not seen at all. As we were all girls, we requested for our rooms to be on higher floors, but we were given ground floor rooms initially and a bit more pleading got us rooms on the so called mezzanine floors. The rooms were cramped and just outside our rooms there were workers who were doing some construction work and we could hear all sorts of noises during the stay.
Other than the morning receptionist and her team, the other staff ( night receptionist, housekeeping, restaurant staff) were really good and helpful.
The bald headed old man had the audacity to raise his voice and asks us rudely whether we have checked out on the last day before the allocated check out time. We have traveled to many places before and have never come across such service earlier. I will not recommend this place to anyone at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guests,

Please accept our sincere apologies that our hotel was not to your liking and expectations.

We do take both good and back feedback very seriously and always take action where needed.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    309
    162
    119
    93
See reviews for
214
266
46
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here two nights a couple of weeks ago. We were exploring London and did not spend much time at the hotel other than for sleep and breakfast so we were satisfied. The room we stayed in was a not bigger than a shoe box with double sized bed. My husband feet went past the edge. There was a closet to hang up clothes as well as a safe deposit box. Our room was situated next to the stairs so we could hear voices and movement anytime people came in or left. Breakfast was good with enough variety of choices. I asked to have a train ticket printed and the front desk girl was helpful in letting me print at the desk. Close to Paddington station so we came on train directly from airport with only one change.

Room Tip: not room 115 if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeriL126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Geril,

Please accept a massive thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in London and we do hope to see you again should you be visiting London.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We - a group of four Indian (professional) ladies stayed in this hotel for 7 nights and 8 days in August 2014 as tourists. We received terrible treatment from the day reception desk and felt discriminated and ill-treated. Even after spending a huge amount on this so called 4-star hotel in the busy season, we faced very bad treatment. We sincerely hope that such customer facing staff are trained in basic customer service - such as talk to customers politely, greet them (we used to wish them good morning or hello but all we got was cold stares), be accommodative when possible (we were allocated ground and mezzanine floor horrible rooms, despite staying there for a considerable duration), and not to talk to guests rudely infront of other guests (the old barman cum assistant receptionist curtly telling us to vacate the rooms on the last day before the promised check-out time).
Our London tour was excellent, except for the hotel experience which left a bad memory. I hope this review helps the hotel management as well other guest, especially non-whites.

Room Tip: Reception is bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank archanapra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guests,

Please accept our sincere apologies that our hotel was not to your liking and expectations.

We do take both good and back feedback very seriously and always take action where needed.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights in july, 3 persons in room 208.
One english woman worked i the reception, she was very nice and helpful. Otherwise it was mostly russians workers, and they didnt help much. The hotel is not isolated between the floors, and we heard the people staing in the room over, all the time! Every step they took, it sounded like elephants moved. At 1 am we coudnt take it anymore, and asked to change room. But no. That was not an option. We tried to ask one more time the next day, but no,
Another bad thing, was the toilet. We had to have maintance come up and fix it. I turned out it was not broken, you just had to flush in a special way, and sometimes it worked, other times not...!
The location of the hotel is ok, but whwn you hear the people in the room over walking across the floor, it shoud not be a hotel.
I will not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tho70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guests,

Please accept our sincere apologies that our hotel was not to your liking and expectations.

We do take both good and back feedback very seriously and always take action where needed.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nz
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great for exploring London, walk to Hyde park, lots of places to eat handy, 2 mins to paddington station. Pretty good breakfast included, nice staff, helpful. Negatives, room kind of small for three single beds, but adequate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OZnatNZvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guestss,

Please accept a massive thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in London and we do hope to see you again should you be visiting London.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked for 4 days as it's close to Hype Park and Paddington station.We arrived the hotel around noon and ask the receptionist to keep our luggages first, since we'd more than ten suitcase and she looks a bit annoyed, but we're group of nine people. Room was unexpectedly small and the hotel was also under renovation so no views at all. Not a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bertha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guests,

Please accept our sincere apologies that our hotel was not to your liking and expectations.

We do take both good and back feedback very seriously and always take action where needed.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I honestly cannot understand the previous poor reviews! We stayed here for five nights of a five week trip and the bed was the most comfortable bed in all of Europe, it did have angap where the two beds meet, but this occurs everywhere that two beds are put together to make a king bed.
We thoroughly enjoyed staying here as a part of our honeymoon, the only disappointment was that we did not receive our requested early check in of 11am, however they held our luggage and offered us a bathroom (no shower though) where we could freshen up our jet lagged selves.
Breakfast was the best in all our travels, staff are very friendly, a small tip on the bedside counter or after breakfast etc goes along way, they remember you and are so friendly.
The location is fantastic! It is a quieter street, with a little garden out front, a two minute walk to Paddington station- and you can get anywhere from there!
The only other let down was that the lift was rarely working, it was back in order for half a day while we stayed, however staff were happy to help with our luggage. Stairs are frequent in hotels across Europe we discovered, so if you are unable to walk up stairs then I would not stay here unless they can guarantee the lift is back in working order.
Thanks! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShereeNMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Quality Crown Hyde Park, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Sherre,

Please accept a massive thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in London and we do hope to see you again should you be visiting London. And it really was a pleasure reading your kind comments.

Kind regards

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aspen Suites Hyde Park
#777 of 1,068 in London
48 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#563 of 1,068 in London
612 reviews
St. David's Hotels
#605 of 1,068 in London
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Crown Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Crown Hyde Park

Property: Quality Crown Hyde Park
Address: 8 Talbot Square, London W2 1TS, England (Formerly Quality Crown Hyde Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #706 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR RENOVATION -Located in a quiet garden square just 2 minutes from Paddington Station, this beautiful Victorian townhouse has been recently air-conditioned and boasts contemporary interiors with state-of-the-art amenities.With interactive flat-screen TVs, high-speed wireless internet and inspired service, guest satisfaction is our Number One Priority.Quality Crown Hyde Park is not affiliated with the Crown Hyde Park Hotel in any way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Crown Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Crown Hyde Park (Not Affiliated With The Crown Hyde Park Hotel) Hotel
Quality Inn London
London Quality Inn
Quality Crown Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing