We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodations for family of four with prices better than most of London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Nadler Kensington
Ranked #57 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodations for family of four with prices better than most of London”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

base2stay, Kensington - around the block (4 minute walk )from Earl's Court Underground station - on both the Piccadilly and District lines, which get you anywhere tourists may want to go with ease, really! We got oyster cards for our 5 day stay and felt like pros after the first ride in directly from Heathrow terminal 4.
The name of the hotel is no frills, and there is no lobby to speak of, but the cleanliness, really quiet locale, really comfy bedding accommodations, and air conditioning all sum up to quite a few niceties for the price of the room. (caveat – this is compared to other Air Conditioned hotels, with an elevator (lift) and great location); London is still very expensive for US travelers and we needed 2 rooms or one family room for 4, so to find all the amenities we wanted for around 115 pounds/per room per night was difficult. We decided on the hotel family room that slept 4. The room we had was 237.00 pounds/night - I think their highest, but it was the best room in the hotel(rm 303) and accommodated our 4 adult family with ease and a bit of luxury to boot.
Service, helpful employees who are happy to assist in this all updated facility with streamlined features and extraordinary space saving amenities within the room like the mini kitchen/fridge/sink/microwave combo with great hot pot /plates/ cups/glasses and coffee-tea service. There is no restaurant or breakfast included, but do note VAT is included in their published price. The hotel’s exterior is charming along the row of very British white washed fronts in the Earl's Court / Kensington neighborhood. The street where hotel is located down the block from one of London's quaint city block parks as well. Joggers, strollers, walkers abound.
Originally, upon reserving, I had been promised a large room with a double (big size queen by US standards) and two twin couch pull outs for our family of 4. When we arrived the large room contained a big queen bed and large double sofa bed, not two twins. I asked if we could have the two twins promised, but they said that room had just been painted and staff advised fumes may bother, so we had the college kids sleep together in the sofa bed. They slept great, and for a pull out – quite comfy and large enough, but it's all relative after a day and night of London sightseeing and you're exhausted. The hotel was extremely quiet – if I hadn’t known the hotel was fully booked, would have thought we were there by ourselves, that quiet. We slept great each night!
The bathroom was wonderful - bigger than many in US hotels - full shower/bath combo / great water pressure, lovely heated towel rack and storage shelf for all our toiletries. We packed lightly and I washed a few clothes out to dry on the towel rack - super efficient.
oh - free wifi was a bit slow - but free and it did work so I'm just being picky here.

Room Tip: book from their site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mctutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,416
    1,034
    140
    47
    22
See reviews for
873
1,276
614
456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
259 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

they would take 3 in a room (me, my husband and daughter). premier inn will not. clean, modern rooms with small kitchen and beautiful bathroom. very convenient to earl's court station and heathrow is a straight shot. this time earl's court elevator is being worked on and there is a small elevator that only takes you up 1 floor. wifi is free.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

we stayed 5 days in Base2Stay London. It is a perfect choice for a city break.
The location is excellent, in a quiet beautiful residential area and just 2 or 3 minutes from the subway station. You also have many restaurants nearby and the hotel offers you discount in some of them. We went to Strada (Italian), Gourmet Burger Kitchen and Balains (English). They were all good.

The staff is really, really friendly and helpful. We arrived at noon, without notice, and we thought we would only be able to leave the luggage and come back at 2pm. But the receptionist promptly checked if the room was ready and it was which as a nice surprise.

The room was not large, indeed. But it was more than enough for this type of trip. It was very clean and modern. The only downside was the shower that, although big, the pressure was a bit low and the water constantly changed from cold to very hot.

This was a very good choice for our trip to London and I would certainly stay here again. It is a great value for price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joanaffbarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I chose this hotel because of excellent reviews in Tripadvisor. It is handy to the tube from Heathrow. You get off at Earl's Court which at the moment is disfunctional as it doesnt have a lift for your luggage. Earl's Court itself is now a rundown area taken over by foreigners, but the hotel is quiet and very well presented. My single room was tiny, the TV was useless and the phone contacts to reception didnt work. But, I loved the bathroom and the shower. Very pleased to have reliable internet for my 2 week stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripaddict2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie_Conway, Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear Tripaddict2011,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on Tripadvisor. The lifts at Earl’s Court station are currently being refurbished. Passengers who are unable to use stairs should use the District or Piccadilly lines to get to Hammersmith station for alternative routes. The lifts have been operating for nearly 30 years and need refurbishment before the 2012 Games. However, they share the same shaft which means that one cannot operate while the other is being refurbished. I hope this explanation is helpful to other visitors. Station staff are also available to assist passengers.

Courtfield Gardens, Kensington, where we are located is an affluent, residential area. The area has many restaurants, bars, shops and supermarkets, all used by locals and tourists alike. I’m sorry you felt there were many foreigners present, but as London is one of the most popular and cosmopolitan cities for tourists to visit, this is the case throughout the centre of the city.

Our single rooms are smaller than double rooms, but offer the same facilities as our larger rooms. They are perfect for one, but if more space is required, our bijou doubles are larger but still great value.

I’m also sorry you experienced trouble with your TV. I hope you brought this to our attention? We have a maintenance technician available seven days a week to assist with such issues. Our Samsung HD TV systems have over 30 channels, free internet access, free music library with over 6,000 tracks, free games, free directory as well as movies on demand for only £2. Likewise, I hope you brought the dialing difficulty to our attention and we were able to fix this for you? Our front desk reception/concierge service is there to help 24/7 and always delighted to assist guests and like nothing more than resolving any problem, however small.

Overall, I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to make use of our free Wi-Fi for the duration of your stay. We apologise for the inconveniences you experienced on this occasion and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan U.S.A.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in May.Chosen based on previous trip advisor reviews. Staff were most helpful in providing their suggestions on nearby Earls Court restaurants,bus stops,local church locations,etc. Short walk to Earls Court tube station.Room was clean,quiet,with a comfortable bed. Hotel is moderately priced for London and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Autresejour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The basic problem of visiting London is affordable accommodation in a decent area. It was a godsend finding this place which promised affordability and location and for the most part it offered that service. Tucked away one street away from Earls Court it feels like a world away, silent and private despite it's proximity to shops, restaurants and trains.

Key card entry and a very polite front desk we were tucked into the room behind the front desk. The website somewhat downplays the size of the rooms, it was an average size for a hotel in Europe. The mini kitchen consisted of a microwave, minibar sized fridge, kettle and sink. Whilst by no means superb it offered a little something which made life easier. The "oversized shower" discussed on the site at length is three large shower heads in a bathroom which doesn't know if it wants to be a compact bathroom or a wet room. As such any attempt to use the shower results in soaking the entire floor out to the door. This presents a problem if you nip into the bathroom after words to encounter wet floor.

The bed is big and comfy and you get full freeview, free wifi and free internet on the TV. We looked out onto a little inner tube of windows and walls which deflected noise in and around it. Nights were restful unless somebody decided to raise their voice in that chasm and the noise rattled through the windows. Aside from that there isn't much else to the hotel. No spa's, restaurants, room service and it keeps cost down.

On the whole it's what it sets out to be, a basic affordable option for London. It's well located and absolutely nothing special. That doesn't mean it shouldn't be high on your list of possible London hotels though, just don't expect much more than the basic.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrunchbiteJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie_Conway, Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you for your review. I would like to take this opportunity to make a few observations for the benefit of other Tripadvisor visitors who haven’t experienced our hotel concept and what we offer. Reading your feedback, I note you stayed in one of our standard double rooms. Images of our various room-types are displayed on our website and our front of house team is also always available 24/7 to assist our guests with their enquiries and to ensure our guests’ preferences are addressed. For more space, we would recommend a king double or one of our other larger room-types. Furthermore, all of our rooms have double-sized showers, bath tubs or a wet room. I can confirm that your specific room is one of two with a wet room. All of our rooms are quite popular but of course if this was not suitable, our staff would have been more than happy to offer you an alternative room, subject to availability.

I am sorry that you feel our hotel is basic. As many of our guests have noted in their various reviews on Tripadvisor, base2stay is a hotel that offers affordable luxury including 7 air conditioned room-types, a mini-kitchen in every room, 24hrs reception and concierge, daily maid service, free Wi-Fi, the latest HD technology on TV including laptop quality free internet, 6000 music tracks, games and movies at only £2. We believe that base2stay Kensington offers excellent standards of accommodation and a 4* service at affordable prices in a great location, but appreciate that what we offer will not suit all guests exactly, which is why we welcome feedback, especially when it allows us to improve our offer.

If I may be of further assistance, please feel free to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

As this was the first time I was bringing my kids to London, my choice fell on base2stay after reading all the raving reviews on this site. I'm glad I chose this hotel as the location was perfect and all the staff were really helpful & friendly with everything that we needed. The rooms were really spacious, clean and comfortable. The fact that the hotel was within easy walking distance from Earl's Court tube station just made it easy for us to get around. I know we have now found the hotel to go to whenever we visit London again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yositako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#34 of 1,067 in London
777 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#211 of 1,067 in London
3,147 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,164 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nadler Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nadler Kensington

Property: The Nadler Kensington
Address: 25 Courtfield Gardens, Kensington | Kensington, London SW5 0PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in London
#37 Business Hotel in London
#42 Family Hotel in London
#56 Luxury Hotel in London
#59 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nadler Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original base2stay hotel, now called The Nadler Kensington is an exciting hotel concept in London, located in a fabulous location next to a quiet Kensington Garden Square. This original townhouse and mews has been interior designed to provide all guest rooms with air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi, HDTVs with 6,000 track music library, internet and games, mini-kitchen, 24-hr Reception & Concierge Service, daily maid service and oversized power showers or baths. The Nadler Kensington has excellent transport connections and is in close walking distance of Earl's Court tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Nadler Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base2stay Kensington London
Base2stay Kensington Hotel London
Base 2 Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing