We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, good location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Nadler Kensington
Ranked #59 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We were in London over Christmas and Boxing Day (which I would not recommend because everything closes including the Tube) and chose base2stay because it looked like the neighborhood had some ethnic restaurants that might be open on Christmas and because of the kitchenette. We were in a Superior room on the lower level which meant going downstairs and then up 5 or 6 steps in a strange configuration (if you have mobility issues, definitely let them know as many of the rooms would not be accessible to you).

On the positive side, the staff was helpful and friendly (though I sent email before our arrival that was never answered), our room was quiet and clean. The hotel was close to the Earl's Court Tube stop (Earl's Court road exit) and was near to many restaurants, small markets, Marks and Spencer, and Sainsbury's. Earl's Court Tube stop is on the Piccadilly line so it is easy to get to from Heathrow and King's Cross/St. Pancras. The wifi was fast and reliable. The nespresso, microwave, mini fridge, kettle, and dishes all came in handy since so little was open on either Christmas or Boxing Day. The location was also walking distance to many museums (closed December 24-26) and Harrod's.

On the negative side, we had booked a "larger" room for 3 people and it was still a very small room. The fold-out cot wasn't very comfortable for an adult. Also, for a room with a kitchenette it was odd that there wasn't a table and chairs in the room. So, the only place to sit and eat was on the bed or at the desk. My biggest complaint is that the terrace doors were drafty so the room was always cold. The outside wall where the cot was was very cold.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a terrace in the winter because the doors are not very weather tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, Owner at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Hello Azogal, thank you for your review. Our Kensington hotel is a converted Edwardian townhouse and mews. Whilst there is a lift to all floors, access to some rooms requires a few stairs to be negotiated. We are always happy to arrange for guests who may find these difficult to be accommodated in bedrooms with level access, if given notice. As a converted group of period buildings, this also means that few rooms are identical in layout or size, which makes our hotel more interesting and individual. I apologise if the draught-proofing of the French doors to the garden was not weather-tight, and our maintenance team, which is always on hand to assist with guest requests, will look at this immediately. With regard to the mini-kitchen, as a hotel rather than a serviced apartment, this is a convenience rather than for full meals, but the desk, not being fitted, is intended to be used as a table. I hope you will return to try us again, perhaps in summer, when our terrace rooms are very popular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,874 - 1,880 of 3,869 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

Picking a good value hotel in London is always difficult, the main issues of price, location and size of room and usually hard to get a good balance.
In base2stay i think that the balance is met well, we booked a double room and the size compared well with other London hotels of the same price and the location on a quiet street within walking distance of Earls Court Tube Station is great for getting around. Earls Court also has a lot of Pubs and Restaurants that make grabbing food easy. Apart form the location and price the following were bonuses:
+ Efficient and helpful reception staff
+ Assistance with getting bags to our room
+ A clean and bright modern atmosphere
+ A well appointed room with internet TV.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My son and I stayed here for my birthday and we thought it would be good to have the mini kitchen which we used only once for an evening meal but also for breakfast and as coffee and snack stops to recharge during the day.The location was near the Piccadilly line and as a lot of the places we wanted to visit such as the holywood costumes at the V&A, Covent Garden and Harrods were up and down this line it was very convenient for us.We also went to the christmas ideal home show at Earls Court and this was within walking distance.There were plenty of restaurants nearby and we met up with friends for a birthday meal we have decided to start visiting London at least once a year and would come back to base2stay.The room and bathroom were cleaned each day including whatever cups or dishes you have used are all washed and put back in your kitchenette.However the staff were the icing on the cake literally in my case as on returning back to base on my birthday to freshen up and get changed there was a box of cupcakes and birthday card waiting for me from the staff, we cant wait to go back and the staff told us another base to stay will be opening in 2013 in Soho so another great location we can explore from.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnet57uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masuma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Happy (belated) birthday! I will let our staff know your delight towards their gesture. We love making each and every one of our guests feel valued. It sounds like you and your son were out and about making the most of London, which is exactly what we hope our guests would do and why our front desk ‘Local Ambassadors’ are there to help with all requests. We are very excited about the Soho opening in Spring 2013 and we would love to see you there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

This was a great hotel for the price and location. I stayed here with my Mom, and two college age cousins the week before Christmas 2012. We had two single rooms, and a bunk room. All of the rooms were clean and efficient. The location was great with lots of good restaurants nearby and the Earl's Court tube station was very convenient. And last but not least, the front desk staff was always helpful with dinning recommendations and arranging a car service to the train station on our way out. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was on the front side of the hotel, and there was a little bit of traffic noise. It didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoseyE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Great Place to stay!
Staff is absolutely wonderful--Focused, dedicated, always there (at any hour) to address any concerns or questions. The rooms/apartments are lovely, well apportioned, quite comfortable and pack a lot into the layout. The bar sink, micro, electric tea kettle and mini fridge that are hidden behind a folding door is wonderful. Highly utilitarian with silverware, dishes & wine glasses for two. Did I forget to mention that there is “maid service” to tend/replace your used dishes/utensils with clean ones? It was a cozy, mini-efficiency apt replete with up scale accoutrements that make a real difference.

The (Kensington) location is really good, as it is only one long block walk to Earl’s Court tube station where you have the option of several tube lines. Thus commuting in, out, or around central London is quite easy. Get your Oyster Card charged and go for it. For our week at Base2stay, we opted for the 7 day unlimited and were very pleased.

BTW-if you are also inclined, you can take the tube to or from Heathrow to here and avoid exorbitant charges, or pre-arrange for the Heathrow Shuttle SUV! It is also an easy connect to St. Pancras for the Chunnel Eurostar Train to Paris –again prebook your passage, the earlier the better for the best rates, as they rise the closer you get to your departure date. As to concerns regarding luggage, there are lifts at both (as well as the airport and the Eurostar) so that is addressable without grief.

A very large supermarket (which services the local residents) is a short walk away, as were several neat restaurants that transverses the culinary carnopia (Persian, Indian, Pub food) of London where we dined when we didn’t eat in Banglatown or at other great places.

Would we return there? Absolutely, and we plan on doing that.
Worth the price? Definitely. We prepaid and felt it was really good. Compared to what others were paying at nearby hotels (with international affiliations), and considering what we had, this was far superior & at a much more reasonable rate, plus it didn’t empty my wallet.

Our hats are off to the Concept of Base2stay & their outstanding TEAM that executed it.

Room Tip: We stayed above the 2nd floor and faced the courtyard. It was private, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert N, Owner at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2012

Reviews like yours are like Christmas presents to us - thank you! It's very gratifying when guests notice and benefit from all the areas we put thought and effort into. Our aim is to make sure that our guests not only enjoy our hotel but get to experience the wonderful area in which we are located, which is why our front desk team are always there to provide advice on activities and discount vouchers to our restaurant and cafe partners. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This was my first time staying here, and I was very happy with the property. It is on a side-street a couple blocks from the Earls Court Tube. I felt like a resident of the neighborhood! There are many fine little eateries in the area, and it is easy to walk everywhere. This hotel had the tiny little rooms I have come to expect in the UK, but it was clean and comfortable. The shower had great water pressure and temperature control, and the room thermostat was also very responsive. The bed was covered in a wonderful plush comforter, but I had to ask for a separate top sheet because the comforter was too warm - not a problem! The staff were all friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DougDVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Very clean, modern and friendly hotel with everything you need for a short stay in London. The kitchenette and coffee machine were a great asset and help keep your costs down. Toiletries consisted of soap and body/hair gel. Just a 5 minute walk from Earl's Court tube station. Great!

Room Tip: Room 404 was a King sized twin at the back. No view, but beautifully quiet. Had a great night's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KS24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#182 of 1,077 in London
3,439 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nadler Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nadler Kensington

Address: 25 Courtfield Gardens, Kensington | Kensington, London SW5 0PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in London
#31 Family Hotel in London
#37 Business Hotel in London
#56 Luxury Hotel in London
#59 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £78 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nadler Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original base2stay hotel, now called The Nadler Kensington is an exciting hotel concept in London, located in a fabulous location next to a quiet Kensington Garden Square. This original townhouse and mews has been interior designed to provide all guest rooms with air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi, HDTVs with 6,000 track music library, internet and games, mini-kitchen, 24-hr Reception & Concierge Service, daily maid service and oversized power showers or baths. The Nadler Kensington has excellent transport connections and is in close walking distance of Earl's Court tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nadler Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base2stay Kensington London
Base2stay Kensington Hotel London
Base 2 Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing