We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in a quiet, central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nadler Kensington
Ranked #59 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 January 2014

A good friend and I were prepared to stay in the smallest, budget room offered at The Nadler, excited just to be able to find such a steal in the vicinity of South Kensington. Immediately upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted by the friendly staff and given an upgrade to a superior room- a great start to our stay. We were given directions to the closest tube (Earl's Court- just a few short blocks away) and provided a list of nearby restaurants to which the hotel can provide discounts.

All in all, our stay was wonderful, and I would definitely stay here again. On a minor note, I'm not sure it's fair to say this hotel is in South Kensington, as it is a 10-15 min walk from the neighborhood center with restaurants, shops, etc. That said, it is a lovely walk through the attractive residential area.

Thanks for making our trip so great, Nadler!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily_schildt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,478 - 1,484 of 3,869 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed alone for one night while attending a trade show at Earls Court. Staff were very pleasant, decor good, very clean. Worked well for me as I ordered food in (not wanting to eat out alone) - the 'kitchen in a cupboard' meant that this was more civilised than it might have been. The breakfast option (delivered to your room) was good. Free wifi also worked well. Only gripe was that the single room was tiny, in the basement and had bunk beds rather than a standard single - all of which gave it the feeling of being a very well equipped prison cell.

Room Tip: I would avoid a basement room if I stayed again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, General Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear SuffolkBoo, we are also very pleased you chose us, and delighted that that you enjoyed our mini kitchenette, so we look forward to seeing you again. Take a look at our website, or let us give you a show round, so you can see if one of our larger rooms would suit you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

What do they call them? Boutique hotels? Either way this place is very well presented although it is very small and the rooms we had, for us, had a great amount of space even if you couldn't swing your cat.

Superb service from the staff (despite the manager not being amenable to make amendments - its a dying art customer service)

I would recommend anyone could use this hotel for a small duration stay in London. Short walk to restaurants and pubs and a hop and a skip to Earls Court and it's station.

We had three single rooms though so not sure what a double would look like?! Space is tight but the rooms are spotless and the bathroom and storage space is ample for three or four nights max.

There is no restaurant and no breakfast (although you can have a continental delivered) - they offer a discount* to various places and i insist that as of Jan 14 that you don't go for breakfast at the Blackbird. See my review.

Enjoy...


*Reception you needed to tell us to take a slip for Breakfast discount, if that was true and the Blackbird were not making that up

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drunkenskunken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at The Nadler Kensington for two nights in January 2014. We booked over the phone and the duty manager was able to give us an exceptional rate for a superior double room on the 5th floor, overlooking Courtfield Gardens. We mentioned in passing that we were coming to London for our anniversary and, after visiting the National History Museum on the day we checked in, we returned to find complimentary champagne and a card from the staff wishing us a happy weekend.

The room we stayed in was a good size, very clean and well presented - we couldn't find fault with it. The bathroom was a generous size and the mini kitchen is an excellent idea! The staff were welcoming and more than happy to help us find somewhere to eat - we took advantage of the discounts the hotel has with local businesses.

In terms of location, the hotel is minutes away from Earl's Court tube station and a short walk to the National History Museum. It's perfectly placed in a quiet area, with excellent access to the city via the Piccadilly Line. There are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops nearby.

I'd highly recommend the Nadler Kensington; we'll definitely be back the next time we're in London!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrickaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, General Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Mark R, , so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a real pleasure to read reviews like yours, not only for the five stars. Our intention is that guests go out and explore the area, rather than sit in our hotel (although we want them to have everything they need). It sounds like you made perfect use of everything we offer exactly as we'd like our guests to, whether location, our mini kitchen or our front desk Local Ambassadors and the discounts at the local restaurants. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

What a great start to our UK/Europe holiday. We stayed at the Nadler for 6 nights in December and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the location can't be beaten. Everything is so close and this is a great place to base yourself. We have 2A and our 2 teenage daughters in the same room and there was plenty of room and the Nespresso machine was a nice addition. I would recommend anyone to stay at the Nadler.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, General Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Neil H, when we receive reviews like yours it shows us we must be doing something right It’s great to be described as your ‘home-away-from-home’ and we hope that we continue to always serve this role for you. Our staff is totally guest-orientated and will do everything they can to help or assist. Thank your kind comments and we hope that you return ‘home’ very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed a week. Nice rooms, friendly staff. Good quiet location five minutes walk from Earls Court tube station. They don't have a restaurant but there are plenty in the immediate vicinity. The hotel offers discount coupons (20%) to many restaurants in the area. We recommend

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, General Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Hello Greybritt, thank you for your kind words and recommendation, We are glad that enjoyed our hotel. As you say, we don’t have a bar or restaurant as it’s part of our concept to work with our local community in keeping with our ethos of social sustainability. We are surrounded by many lovely authentic, local venues able to deliver a much better experience that a hotel bar or restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My daughter & I stayed at the Nadler Kensington from Dec 9th - 13th 2013 and absolutely loved our stay there. Newly-renovated, the hotel is spotlessly clean with both the reception and the hotel rooms tastefully appointed. The mini-fridge, Nespresso machine, microwave & kettle were an added bonus and saved us the cost of at least one meal per day (with the appalling exchange rate of the ZAR that meant a lot!) The hotel is perfectly situated: one block from the Earls Court Tube Station and close to many restaurants & pubs on Earls Court Road. The staff were fantastic - always so friendly & helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them. We will definitely stay at the Nadler Kensington again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, General Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Patti A, thanks for staying with us and for your super review. Seems like you have fully understood the essence of our hotel concept, such as the free Wi-Fi, the flexibility of the mini kitchen and the many restaurants and cafes around the area where we have exclusive discounts for our guests. The entire team is very pleased to read your comments and your appreciation for the attention to detail that we put in. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#184 of 1,077 in London
3,435 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nadler Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nadler Kensington

Address: 25 Courtfield Gardens, Kensington | Kensington, London SW5 0PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in London
#31 Family Hotel in London
#37 Business Hotel in London
#55 Luxury Hotel in London
#59 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £79 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nadler Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original base2stay hotel, now called The Nadler Kensington is an exciting hotel concept in London, located in a fabulous location next to a quiet Kensington Garden Square. This original townhouse and mews has been interior designed to provide all guest rooms with air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi, HDTVs with 6,000 track music library, internet and games, mini-kitchen, 24-hr Reception & Concierge Service, daily maid service and oversized power showers or baths. The Nadler Kensington has excellent transport connections and is in close walking distance of Earl's Court tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nadler Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base2stay Kensington London
Base2stay Kensington Hotel London
Base 2 Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing