We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in Kensington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Nadler Kensington
Ranked #61 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Kensington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great service, short walking distance to Earls Court Station and several grocery stores. Nice beds, nice sized rooms, accommodating to children and lovely kitchenette. It's one of the most well designed rooms we had stayed. Room 101 is perfect for a family of three. The wifi was accessible and consistent. The hotel is walking distance to the Victoria and Albert Museum--which is free and full of treasures for everyone in the family. The hotel staff were so helpful when we were trying to print from their computer. They were replacing beds the morning we were leaving, but could not have been nicer about the crowded hallways.

Room Tip: Room 101 was very quiet and comfortably slept three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, General Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Cynthia C, thank you for your lovely review. The location is indeed great so close to all main attractions and many museums. We are delighted you enjoyed your room and that the replacing of the beds was not too disturbing to your stay, and we hope your enjoyed the larger and new bed for the remaining of your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,351
    1,022
    137
    46
    22
See reviews for
848
1,246
603
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Delighted with choice and thanks to TA contributors who made light work of my pick for London accommodation.

We had a twin room (two single ladies) - L10. Quiet, roomy until the beds were replaced half way during our stay from single to 3/4 size. I loved the well crafted interior of this hotel which is really important to me. You will have to navigate stairs and they are quite narrow which is my only criticism. The staff with very helpful and professional.

A GBP9 daily travel card got a good workout as we would return for an early afternoon siesta before returning to the buzz of London Central. i loved returning to Earl Court each time for an authentic homely residential feel after the onslaught of the tourist invaded sights of inner London just 3-6 stops away on the Piccardilly Line which also takes you direct to Heathrow or St Pancras Station for the Eurostar connection. Its an easy metro stop for travelling with luggage as it has a well positioned elevator.

The kitchenette was a valuable bonus to the room which worked hand in hand with Marks and Spencers (M and S) food to go.

It would be my first pick when returning to London.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallylyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

actually, I stay here with my family ; very good hotel, nice staff, very clean, superbe location !!!!! Thank you very much ! I will recommend it to all my friends who are looking for a very good value for money

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, General Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Greg I, Thank you for your lovely review. Nothing would make us happier than to see you again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and myself were up in London for 2 days, finalising my son's university accommodation, and required only one night's accommodation. Found this hotel which appeared to offer everything we needed; 4 star (min standard we look for), fantastic location (3 mins to Earls Court tube), good website which indicated a contemporary, well managed and well maintained hotel, and excellent reviews on all visited sites.
Booked directly with hotel and their 'Summer Sunday' rate surprisingly even undercuts the near-by Premier Inn (I know where I'd choose to stay!).

On arrival very pleased, hotel just as on web-site, staff both professional and helpful, room exceptionally clean, comfy bed and powerful shower. Aircon especially welcome. Room corporate, but tastefully decorated. Lovely and quiet nights sleep.

Will definitely 'try' and book here again when in London, although if my experience is the norm, I assume that that will not always be easy.

To sum up, wonderful hotel, professional and friendly staff, great room, fantastic location. Why look to stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterQ814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I just returned home from London where I spent five nights at the Nadler Kensington Hotel and couldn't have been more pleased. It is a very clean and comfortable smaller hotel in a convenient location - about 5 minutes walk from the Earl's Court Tube Station. The beds were very comfortable with quality linens, small kitchenette suitable for breakfast and lunch, and well-appointed bathroom with a large shower. WiFi worked well. We were on the 5th floor at the rear and it was so quiet, one could hear a pin drop. Reception staff very accommodating. This will definitely be my choice of hotel on my next visit to London.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alessandra L, General Manager at The Nadler Kensington, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Judith E, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel and the services we offer. You seemed to have fully embraced our concept. Thank you for you comments about our staff, they read guests comments avidly and comments like your made them try even harder to deliver excellent service to all of our guests. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights in July. We had basement room that had a nice walk out terrace. Nice to have a bit of outdoor space to dine or relax al fresco. I think that there only two such rooms in the entire hotel. The hotel is clean, comfortable and well situated for access to Earl's Court tube station. The mini kitchen was very handy for breakfast and snacks. There was enough storage and the bathroom is well equipped. The beds were great and the room was quiet with no road noise at all. The AC worked quietly and well for summery London. No issues with the wifi and TV. The room was always cleaned nicely and ready for our return. Great service and a superb value for London.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by a basement room. Some of them have a walk out terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewtonHealth1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I've stayed at the Nadler Kensington twice so far (Summer 2013 & January 2014) and highly recommend it to travelers who want an affordable modern room with a little luxury and a kitchenette, but don't need a restaurant or lounge area in their hotel. The hotel could not be more convenient! It's a 5 minute walk to the Earl's Court tube station (which has elevators!) on the Piccadilly Line, which extends from Heathrow Airport right into the heart of all the attractions & shopping & theatre of the West End. Earl's Court is also on the District LIne, which goes up to Notting Hill and also extends out to Tower Hill and beyond. I travel as a single woman and feel safe in the area.

I've saved a lot of money by using the kitchenette to store food and drinks and prepare most of my own breakfasts and some dinners. You can also have food delivered and the hotel offers great special discounts at several local restaurants.

Unlike a lot of small hotels and most B&Bs, the hotel has an elevator and great AC in the rooms, which is a great relief after a long day walking all over London in the hot summers.

My rooms have been absolutely clean with lovely soft, thick carpeting, good beds, blackout curtains and fantastic bathrooms. Even the small single rooms have large bathrooms with walk-in showers you can move in and power shower heads. They're so relaxing after having endured contortions and banging my elbows in the tiny retrofitted shower stalls crammed in so many old hotel or B&Bs - especially in the rooms for singles! Some of the larger rooms come with a bathtub with shower. There is plenty of counter space for toiletries and cosmetics, and a free-standing magnifying mirror as well. The towels are big, fluffy and fresh, and the towel rack is heated in the winter. There is closet with hanging space (short in the single rooms) and drawers, as well as a small safe you can program yourself.

One reviewer said his pillow was too dense - but you can request the kind of pillow you prefer. I always ask for an additional soft pillow. The bed linens are excellent quality. You can also request a rubber shower/tub mat.

The rooms have free wi-fi or you can use the usual Ethernet ports or even the free internet service via the television and keyboard, though it's a little slow and clumsy to use without a mouse. There is also a computer in the lobby where you can browse or print out your boarding passes.

If you're staying for a while and don't want to waste time at a laundrette washing big things, you can use the hotel's laundry/dry cleaning service. The rates seem reasonable for a hotel and the service is very fast. To me, the convenience is worth the cost. If you want to mail anything, there is a Post Office on the corner just across the street from the tube station. There are plenty of pubs, restaurants, shops and banks in the area, especially near the station.

There are 3 improvements I'd like to see: first, elevate the beds at least another inch or two because the space underneath is supposed to be for storing your suitcases, but my big suitcase doesn't fit. So it remained a bit of an obstacle, especially in a small single room. Second, replace the desk chairs with another style that has a more comfortable design and softer, more cushioned upholstery. In most (all?) rooms, there is only that one chair, so it's important that it be as comfortable as possible. The chairs I've had have been too high for me, too hard, and the fabric kind of scratchy and dull. (I'd also like to see the chairs in a rich deep red - add some color to the room!) And third, install sturdy slanting hand rails on the walls of the tub-shower combinations in the larger rooms. Those tubs are nice and deep, but if one is tired after a long day and not so young or so spry after a long relaxing soak, it can be a little difficult getting up & out.

I don't care about decor bed throws and decor bed pillows because I just throw them off - they get in the way - and then I wonder how often they get cleaned. I think they're unnecessary and a waste of money for a hotel, though they do look nice in photos!

The best for last! The young front desk staff are super friendly and so helpful. They will help you with anything you need and impress you with their thoughtfulness - a special cupcake and card for your birthday or an upgrade if possible. They will remember you as a returning guest and do their best to meet your expectations and address any requests or concerns you might have. I know this from experience. They are fantastic!

Room Tip: If you're staying for more than a week or are a big person, you would be more comfortable in a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#191 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nadler Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nadler Kensington

Property: The Nadler Kensington
Address: 25 Courtfield Gardens, Kensington | Kensington, London SW5 0PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in London
#37 Business Hotel in London
#42 Family Hotel in London
#58 Luxury Hotel in London
#59 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nadler Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original base2stay hotel, now called The Nadler Kensington is an exciting hotel concept in London, located in a fabulous location next to a quiet Kensington Garden Square. This original townhouse and mews has been interior designed to provide all guest rooms with air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi, HDTVs with 6,000 track music library, internet and games, mini-kitchen, 24-hr Reception & Concierge Service, daily maid service and oversized power showers or baths. The Nadler Kensington has excellent transport connections and is in close walking distance of Earl's Court tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nadler Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base2stay Kensington London
Base2stay Kensington Hotel London
Base 2 Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing