We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous behaviour of hotel staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Continental London Kensington
Ranked #832 of 1,069 Hotels in London
India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Horrendous behaviour of hotel staff”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed one night at the hotel on 11th June with my wife and son. I was told by reception staff that breakfast would continue till 10am and I reached the breakfast venue in the basement a little before 930 in the morning. I saw that breakfast had already been wrapped up as official closing time was supposed to be 930 in the morning. I requested for cereals for my child and picked up some fruits and yogurt which were still lying on the tables. A lady confronted me saying that I had only asked for cereals and should not take anything other than that. She said she did not believe that reception had told me that breakfast would last till 10am. This was shocking and really insulting. I had stayed for 11 days in London and UK and did not get this sort of behaviour anywhere. I was paying 135 Pounds for one night at this hotel. Lady at the breakfast venue was extremely rude and this sort of attitude towards guests left me totally perplexed. On complaining at the reception about this no action was initiated and matter was not even considered by the hotel HR (if they have any). Condition of rooms are bad, basin tap broken in toilet. Bad experience on last day at London for us. Ac was giving out hot air and no one came to inspect even after repeated requests

Room Tip: No tip will be to avoid this hotel at any cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aditimukherjee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    395
    323
    134
    113
See reviews for
205
364
122
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Canfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I booked to stay at City Continental – London Kensington last night. Upon arrival I was told that there was a problem with my room, they’ve had a water leak and I was now booked into the hotel across the road – Mowbray Hotel. The room was cheaper at £76 so I therefore went to this hotel to check in, payment was taken, I went to my room. The room was disgusting, it looked like a squatters bed sit, dirty sheets, dirty room, disgusting bathroom and the stench of cooked food. I then called City Continental to advise them that I was coming back to their hotel, not staying in this room and that I expected them to sort this situation out.

I spoke to a nice man who said he was the manager, after about 10 minutes he showed me to one of their rooms and said he would sort everything out with Mowbray, that I didn’t have to return. I had booked this hotel to go to an event, because of all the room drama it left me with 30 minutes to get ready for a black tie event, therefore I wasn’t very happy. However, I believed that a suitable resolution had occurred to the room problem.

However, upon returning to the hotel after the event with my husband I was informed by the hotel receptionist that we needed to pay them £109 for our room, I therefore explained that we had paid Mowbray £76 and it was my understanding that this was the end of any payments from us. I was told that this wasn’t the case, I then said that I would talk to the manager in the morning when my husband and I checked out.

Upon checking out another person claiming to be the manager, a lady, tried to get £109 out of us, I therefore explained the situation again, she said that we had to go to Mowbray, get a refund, then come back & pay them. I explained that this wasn’t going to happen. She then suggested that we pay the balance between Mowbray and City Continental, I explained that this wasn’t going to happen either as I believed that we had endured a rather upsetting experience due to their lack of ensuring the alternative room was of the same standard that I had booked with them. After a long discussion she agreed that they would seek the £76 from Mowbray & I left.

The rooms are clean & ok for the price you pay, but they are so warm it made for an uncomfortable nights sleep even with the window open. Also there was some kind of plastic mattress protector under the sheet which made the bed even hotter to sleep in.

For the price we paid the hotel was ok, won't be staying there ever again after the room drama however!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadriSathya, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review, first of all we would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We have discussed your feedback in our meeting and we ensure this never happen again.

We always try our level best to satisfy our guest needs. We assure the issues you have raised have been addressed and the appropriate action has been taken. We are looking forward to accommodate you again to have a pleasant stay in our hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night and found the location to be very good - it's around the corner from Earls Court underground station and just off Earls Court Road where there is an M&S, off licenses, pubs, restaurants and newsagents which is handy if you need to pick anything up. Our room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom looked fairly modern. The reception staff were also more than willing to help out and printed us off a map so that we could walk to Chelsea (which took about 15 mins). All in all - perfect for our budget and needs!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hscuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadriSathya, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are happy to read that we made your stay such an enjoyable one. I shall be passing your comments to our Housekeeping team so they can ensure they maintain our usual high standards at all times. I hope you will have the chance to stay with us again in future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I have stayed in a lot of bad hotels in London. This was probably the best of those, but compared to virtually any other place I've been, still pretty bad.
The pictures looked good, and I'll say that it was probably among the cleaner hotels in which I've stayed there, but also among the tiniest. I was in London and then Switzerland for business trips, which meant that I needed a suitcase - there was literally no room for it.
As I was there on business, the internet connection was important and I found that it cut out a lot; not sure why but it was challenging for me; the other was the temperature. Without any heat, it was quite chilly, but to turn on the heater, even at the low setting, made the room quite hot; so I had to keep the window open. This was a bit of a challenge when it rains, which is known to happen in London.
As some of the other reviews suggest, the location is extremely good and quite central, but if you don't mind a very, very small room with spotty internet, I think it's acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadriSathya, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Graham,

Thank you very much for your recent review. All our room are standard size and we have different room categories with more space at less price difference. Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed and actions have already been taken. For your next visit please check in our website or ring us directly for assistance. We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed here for valentines. It was one of the best hotels I stayed in London so far. Reasonable prices, clean rooms, friendly staff and Newly refurb. I would go and stay here again. Its location is perfect as the underground is literally 2 min away from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventerous59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadriSathya, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks a lot for appreciating all the small touches that we believe is truly special. Our team strive to deliver the best service possible and I am delighted that we took special care of you. We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

When I first saw the outside of the hotel I thought it looked run down but once inside it was fine very clean and tidy . The bedroom was fine with a lovely bathroom. Hotel just round the corner from earls court station would use this hotel as a base again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potterjja12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadriSathya, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to let us know that you had an enjoyable stay.

Our hotel location is perfect to visit any area in London and we do hope you will have a chance to stay with us again on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The rooms are small, but very clean and well kept. The hallways maybe need some renewing. The breakfast was adequate. The best part of this hotel was the value and location. It is literally around the corner from Earl's Court Station and makes navigating the city very easy. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobinSRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadriSathya, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Robin,

Many thanks for letting us know of your recent experience in our hotel. All our rooms are of standard size and we have different room categories which are more spacious at less price difference.

As you mentioned our location is an added advantage to visit main areas of London in ease. On your next visit please check in our website or ring us directly for more assistance. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#448 of 1,069 in London
292 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#687 of 1,069 in London
281 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#532 of 1,069 in London
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#851 of 1,069 in London
724 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#505 of 1,069 in London
1,016 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#399 of 1,069 in London
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Continental London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Continental London Kensington

Property: City Continental London Kensington
Address: 11-13 Penywern Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #832 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Continental London Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Continental Kensington London Hotel looks forward to welcoming you to London. If you are traveling to London for business or seeking a hotel near London major tourist attractions & shopping area, there are many reasons you should consider our hotel. Our guests enjoy modern accommodations, amenities, friendly ambiance, and affordable rates City Continental Kensington London Hotel is within easy reach of Olympia Exhibition Centre and a short ride to Hammersmith Apollo. The staff at City Continental Kensington London Hotel is quite friendly and available to assist our guests at any time of the day and night. Breakfast is provided for our guests each morning at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Continental London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Continental London Kensington Hotel London
City Continental Hotel London
Comfort Inn London
Comfort Inn Earls Court
London Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing