We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Continental London Kensington
Ranked #831 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Ayr
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The room was very small, but I sort of expected that with a single room. The bathroom is very small. Despite being pretty close to Earls Court Road there was not much noise to be heard in my third floor room.

I needed to book a hotel at the last minute, and this was far and away the best price in a central location.

The underground station is just a couple of minutes walk away, giving you access to the Piccadilly and District lines.

All in all I would say that this hotel was good value for money, and worked for me as a base to access central London without paying the silly prices of some of the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank ryans990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anshu R, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at City Continental Kensington were able to meet you expectations and that you loved the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back at City Continental London Kensington.
You can book with us directly on reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk.

Kind Regards
Anshu Ralhan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    395
    323
    134
    113
See reviews for
205
364
122
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed here one night. I was able to organize an early check in paying extremely little, the staff was corteous and friendly. It s close to tube staion, very short walk. some bars restaurants and pubs few paces away. The only drawback was the bathroom, rather small. But the it wss a single room and bed was clean and comfortable. Also the decor imside the rooms and the hotel was pretty modern and neat too. The breakfast was excellent for a continental style. I recommend and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid room near the entrance of the elevator hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexAq61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anshu R, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am very pleased that the service that you have received was so to your liking, and that our location so perfectly suited your needs.I will share your kind words with the team here and I very much hope to welcome you back in the near future.

You can directly reach us on reservations@citycontinentalkesington.co.uk.

Best regards

Anshu Ralhan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I spent quite a long time trying to find a hotel in London that would be clean, centrally located and good value for money. If you are also looking for similar criterion then I suggest that the City Continental is an excellent choice. The hotel is literally around the corner from Earl's Court tube station (giving you access to both the District and Piccadilly lines) and is in a quiet street off Earl's Court Road. I was pleasantly surprised to find the rooms very clean, the staff friendly and the hotel in a good state of repair (there are even lovely flowers outside!). The breakfast gave a wide choice and the breakfast room was nice despite being in the basement. There are plenty of restaurants on Earl's Court Road and even a small supermarket or two quite handy if you want snacks. Tea and coffee making facilities are in the room, there is air conditioning and not a bed bug in sight. The only down sides would be no free WiFi in the room (although there is a computer in the lobby) and there seem very few rooms that aren't accessed via some sort of stairs but this isn't a problem once you are actually installed. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keitha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anshu R, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at City Continental Kensington were able to meet you expectations and that you loved the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back at City Continental London Kensington.
You can book with us directly on reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk.

Best Regards
Anshu Ralhan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Decent hotel, with friendly staff. Rooms and public areas recently refurbished to a good standard.

Bedroom tiny hence the 3/5, amazing how everything just managed to fit in! Lighting in room could be improved with installing bed lamps or table lamp as opposed to the one big ceiling lamp. Bathroom small but finished to a high standard.

Good location with plenty of shops and restaurants. Tube station 2mins walk.

Would happily stay here again if the price was right.

Room Tip: Wouldnt fancy a basement room. We requested top floor (attic) restricted head room on one side but v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_UK_Comments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anshu R, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Simon,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review.

I am very pleased that the service that you have received was so to your liking, and that our location so perfectly suited your needs.I will share your kind words with the team here and I very much hope to welcome you back in the near future.

You can directly reach us on reservations@citycontinentalkesington.co.uk.

Best regards

Anshu Ralhan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

+
1. close to the tube
2. shop and pub at the same street
3. quiet and peaceful surrounding
4. you can store your luggage after chek out

-
1. lift will not bring you to all levels
2. poor breakfasts
3. small rooms

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valhalior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anshu R, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

First and foremost, I must apologies for the concerns you have raised regarding, the breakfast should have been more smooth While I am pleased that our location and views were to your liking, particularly as you were staying for more than one night. I have raised your comments with the Manager, and we are looking at various initiatives to ensure that an experience such as this is not repeated.

Thank you very much once again for your constructive feedback, and for staying with us.

When you are planning a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk and we will be more than happy to assist you with your booking.

Yours sincerely,

Anshu Ralhan

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Visited London in May. We knew beforehand that what we will be getting - refurbished small room but had everything you needed. Wifi was chargeable. Room and toilet were very clean. Location close to tube station, restaurants, mini supermarkets and shops. There was a "self-sevice" luggage room where you could leave your luggages. Breakfast choices had limited selections however enough for us to start for a day. Overall a satisfied stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njoy365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anshu R, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recent review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your kind feedback and were really happy to read that you enjoyed every aspect your stay from the team, the cleanliness of the hotel we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Anshu Ralhan
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a theatre break in the City. On arriving the hotel is clean and well presented from the outside. The reception staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. We were given a room in the new area at the rear of the hotel situated in a small court yard. The rooms were very clean, newly decorated and for London very roomy. The air con in the room was fantastic and kept the room lovely and cool on a very hot weekend. The breakfast room was clean and breakfast more than adequate. Would defiantly use this hotel as a base for exploring London again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinkyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anshu R, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at City Continental Kensington were able to meet you expectations and that you loved the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back at City Continental London Kensington.
You can book with us directly on reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk.

Kind Regards
Anshu Ralhan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#454 of 1,068 in London
292 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#686 of 1,068 in London
283 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#540 of 1,068 in London
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#850 of 1,068 in London
724 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#511 of 1,068 in London
1,016 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#398 of 1,068 in London
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Continental London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Continental London Kensington

Property: City Continental London Kensington
Address: 11-13 Penywern Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #831 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Continental London Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Continental Kensington London Hotel looks forward to welcoming you to London. If you are traveling to London for business or seeking a hotel near London major tourist attractions & shopping area, there are many reasons you should consider our hotel. Our guests enjoy modern accommodations, amenities, friendly ambiance, and affordable rates City Continental Kensington London Hotel is within easy reach of Olympia Exhibition Centre and a short ride to Hammersmith Apollo. The staff at City Continental Kensington London Hotel is quite friendly and available to assist our guests at any time of the day and night. Breakfast is provided for our guests each morning at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Continental London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Continental London Kensington Hotel London
City Continental Hotel London
Comfort Inn London
Comfort Inn Earls Court
London Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing