We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Continental London Kensington
Ranked #748 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Don't waste your money!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in June this year and it almost ruined our time in London! Booked months ahead and were promised the renovated rooms, when we arrived we were taken to a tiny shoebox of a room that we actually couldn't fit our luggage in. We have a baby and booked a cot when we made the booking, when we arrived there was no cot so we went to ask for one and we're told there isn't any and that house keeping could possibly bring one in the morning! Well great but where is the baby going to sleep tonight considering the bed was so small we could barely even fit the two of us in there! I would say these rooms are barely even 2 star. Reception staff were very rude and provided no help what so ever, not good when you have to have an argument over a cot for your child to sleep in that was booked at least 3 months in advance. We were eventually moved to the room we were originally promised and these rooms are fine but to get to them you have to go up and down about 5 flights of stairs to get out the back of the hotel which isn't easy when you're carrying a stroller! I know it's a budget hotel but I think you could get a lot better! The location was about the only thing it had going for it. Would never stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    393
    315
    128
    106
See reviews for
196
354
122
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed here on a business trip. The only good thing about the hotel is the location (2min from the tube) and that it is clean. Ok so when we got there we could not check in early, although we requested it a month in advance, they gave us a key to the luggage storage, which is a 1m*2m awfully dirty room. When i came back i was given the key to my room which stank of smoke, with no problem i was changed to room 145 which was clean but extremely small, you literaly walk in and the bed is 1 step away from the door. Plus i had to walk down from the elevator. The rooms were clean but extremely small, the breakfast includes toast, 20gr bricks of cheese, yogurt and empty croissants. No shampoo or vanity kit. you can see in the picture who visited my colleague at night. But the most horrible thing that makes me never wanna stay in this hotel agai, is (look at the pictures) - homeless people sleeping in the loby at night!!!! How can that be!!!! The staf is friendly and the location is great, but a big NO!!!!!

Room Tip: i stayed in room 145, my friend in 121
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lidia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Oeiras, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Not impressive on 1st impression but it does its job if you're not looking for anything special.
Went with my brother for 5 days visiting town. Very central, 5mins from Earls Court station.
Rooms are small indeed but was enough for our needs. The bed was awful tho! There wasn't a single spring on its place on that mattress and we woke up with some serious back pain! So don't be silly like us and change rooms if the bed doesn't look good!!! Room was hot but we could cope with the window open.

Breakfast was normal. Toast, tea/coffee, cereal, etc. Not much, enough if you're not looking for anything fancy.
The kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits in the room was a nice touch.

All and all, i'de probably stay again just I'de look for better beds!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRatola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

My partner booked this hotel for my birthday (and surprise proposal) through a website where he booked a hotel and theatre break. I really liked this hotel. The room was small but i thought there was enough storage for our 3 day stay. There was a kettle and mugs in the room and luckily just down the road was a few shops so we bought some supplies, and ended up getting hot chocolate sachets, good for the cold weather at the time. There are a few resteraunts close by, chinese, burger king, greggs, etc. The staff were friendly and very helpful. It is close to earls court so if theres a concert or something that lets out late you'll be kept awake for a while by people walking to the station. Tbh nothing bad to say about this hotel. Enjoyed my stay and good value for money.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

1. Supervisor on duty - Jona very strict and not flexible
2. 3 rooms out of 5 booked in 5 nights is poorly ventilated. Aircon not working, extremely hot and it wasnt attended to properly
3. 2 rooms out of 5 booked located in the basement(not luggage friendly
4. Reported telephone unit not working properly
5. Wifi access is extremely expensive 8£ per 4hours. Rip off!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiguelJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Located in Earls Court and nearby Hyde Park. Great value for the money. If you are the kind of persons that believes Size Doesnt matter this is your hotel. Small but cozzy rooms. Lot of pubs in the area and near Chelsea.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no elevator access. Be aware of that if you travel with lot of baggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SOUTHMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denmark
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very small rooms, but very clean and all you need + a good bed.The staff at the reception very helpfull and kind.
Close to Earls Court station.
And there are restaurants close by, when you come home tired after a long
day it is easy to find a place to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bireneDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anshu R, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am very happy to read that you have had a great trip here with us, and that our staff were all so helpful. We pride ourselves on this level of personal service, and it is great to read about that.
Thank you very much once again for your kind words, and when you plan a return to us please do reach out to reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk with any inquiries.

Yours sincerely,

Anshu Ralhan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#511 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#474 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#834 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#565 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#422 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Continental London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Continental London Kensington

Property: City Continental London Kensington
Address: 11-13 Penywern Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #748 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Continental London Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Continental Kensington London Hotel looks forward to welcoming you to London. If you are traveling to London for business or seeking a hotel near London major tourist attractions & shopping area, there are many reasons you should consider our hotel. Our guests enjoy modern accommodations, amenities, friendly ambiance, and affordable rates City Continental Kensington London Hotel is within easy reach of Olympia Exhibition Centre and a short ride to Hammersmith Apollo. The staff at City Continental Kensington London Hotel is quite friendly and available to assist our guests at any time of the day and night. Breakfast is provided for our guests each morning at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Continental London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Continental London Kensington Hotel London
City Continental Hotel London
Comfort Inn London
Comfort Inn Earls Court
London Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing