We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hakuna Matata”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Continental London Kensington
Ranked #856 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Thank goodness I was singing in the isles at the Lyceum Theatre to the wonderful Lion King. Upon checking in, I had little time before leaving to the theatre.
If I hadn't had that distraction, the fact that both wifi and tv reception was useless would have been more than a little annoying.
Great location though just 3 mins walk from Earls Court tube

Room Tip: Ask for working tv and wifi !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

First and foremost, I must apologies for the concerns you have risen regarding the free Wi-Fi and TV service.
While I am pleased that our location was to your liking. Your comments have been reported, and we are looking at various initiatives to ensure that an experience such as this is not repeated.
We recently renewed all our Wi-Fi system, which since mid October has become free of charge.

Thank you very much once again for your constructive feedback, and for staying with us.

When you are planning a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk and we will be more than happy to assist you with your booking.

Reservations department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,093)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

The service was very good, and the staff we were in contact with were helpful and polite. Booked a room for three people, and got a nice big room for four. We had lots of space. The bathroom was small, but nicely refurbished.

The negative bits are the incredible slow wifi and the very simple breakfast. It's better to go to the nearby pub and get free wifi and a full English breakfast. On the websites of the hotel the breakfast is described as "continental", well that's not quite correct. There were only two sorts of cheese packed in plastic, a small assortment of jam and some cereal. There were croissants, but they were dry and chewy at the same time. The breakfast room had a TV on on full volume, and it wasn't a nice start on our day. We had breakfast elsewhere after that.

All in all it was a nice stay, but the breakfast was a disappointment. It's the most important meal of the day, especially when your plans for the day is to see as much of London as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonaSyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am very happy to read that the combination of our location, the high quality of our rooms and the friendly manners of our staff has been so appreciated! It sounds like you had a great time, and that is what we always aim to provide here at the City Continental.

I must apologize for the concerns you had about the breakfast and the Wi-Fi service.
Your comment has been addressed to our management, and we worked in order that an experience such yoursis not repeated.
We are pleased to inform that we improved our Wi-Fi service, which has become free of charge since the mid of October.

Thank you very much once again, and when you plan a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk to make the appropriate arrangements.

Reservations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in June this year and it almost ruined our time in London! Booked months ahead and were promised the renovated rooms, when we arrived we were taken to a tiny shoebox of a room that we actually couldn't fit our luggage in. We have a baby and booked a cot when we made the booking, when we arrived there was no cot so we went to ask for one and we're told there isn't any and that house keeping could possibly bring one in the morning! Well great but where is the baby going to sleep tonight considering the bed was so small we could barely even fit the two of us in there! I would say these rooms are barely even 2 star. Reception staff were very rude and provided no help what so ever, not good when you have to have an argument over a cot for your child to sleep in that was booked at least 3 months in advance. We were eventually moved to the room we were originally promised and these rooms are fine but to get to them you have to go up and down about 5 flights of stairs to get out the back of the hotel which isn't easy when you're carrying a stroller! I know it's a budget hotel but I think you could get a lot better! The location was about the only thing it had going for it. Would never stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed here on a business trip. The only good thing about the hotel is the location (2min from the tube) and that it is clean. Ok so when we got there we could not check in early, although we requested it a month in advance, they gave us a key to the luggage storage, which is a 1m*2m awfully dirty room. When i came back i was given the key to my room which stank of smoke, with no problem i was changed to room 145 which was clean but extremely small, you literaly walk in and the bed is 1 step away from the door. Plus i had to walk down from the elevator. The rooms were clean but extremely small, the breakfast includes toast, 20gr bricks of cheese, yogurt and empty croissants. No shampoo or vanity kit. you can see in the picture who visited my colleague at night. But the most horrible thing that makes me never wanna stay in this hotel agai, is (look at the pictures) - homeless people sleeping in the loby at night!!!! How can that be!!!! The staf is friendly and the location is great, but a big NO!!!!!

Room Tip: i stayed in room 145, my friend in 121
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lidia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Not impressive on 1st impression but it does its job if you're not looking for anything special.
Went with my brother for 5 days visiting town. Very central, 5mins from Earls Court station.
Rooms are small indeed but was enough for our needs. The bed was awful tho! There wasn't a single spring on its place on that mattress and we woke up with some serious back pain! So don't be silly like us and change rooms if the bed doesn't look good!!! Room was hot but we could cope with the window open.

Breakfast was normal. Toast, tea/coffee, cereal, etc. Not much, enough if you're not looking for anything fancy.
The kettle with tea, coffee and biscuits in the room was a nice touch.

All and all, i'de probably stay again just I'de look for better beds!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRatola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My partner booked this hotel for my birthday (and surprise proposal) through a website where he booked a hotel and theatre break. I really liked this hotel. The room was small but i thought there was enough storage for our 3 day stay. There was a kettle and mugs in the room and luckily just down the road was a few shops so we bought some supplies, and ended up getting hot chocolate sachets, good for the cold weather at the time. There are a few resteraunts close by, chinese, burger king, greggs, etc. The staff were friendly and very helpful. It is close to earls court so if theres a concert or something that lets out late you'll be kept awake for a while by people walking to the station. Tbh nothing bad to say about this hotel. Enjoyed my stay and good value for money.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

1. Supervisor on duty - Jona very strict and not flexible
2. 3 rooms out of 5 booked in 5 nights is poorly ventilated. Aircon not working, extremely hot and it wasnt attended to properly
3. 2 rooms out of 5 booked located in the basement(not luggage friendly
4. Reported telephone unit not working properly
5. Wifi access is extremely expensive 8£ per 4hours. Rip off!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiguelJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#446 of 1,077 in London
403 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#567 of 1,077 in London
452 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#645 of 1,077 in London
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#772 of 1,077 in London
766 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#737 of 1,077 in London
675 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#581 of 1,077 in London
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Continental London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Continental London Kensington

Address: 11-13 Penywern Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #856 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £59 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Continental London Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Continental Kensington London Hotel looks forward to welcoming you to London. If you are traveling to London for business or seeking a hotel near London major tourist attractions & shopping area, there are many reasons you should consider our hotel. Our guests enjoy modern accommodations, amenities, friendly ambiance, and affordable rates City Continental Kensington London Hotel is within easy reach of Olympia Exhibition Centre and a short ride to Hammersmith Apollo. The staff at City Continental Kensington London Hotel is quite friendly and available to assist our guests at any time of the day and night. Breakfast is provided for our guests each morning at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your City Continental London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Continental London Kensington Hotel London
City Continental Hotel London
Comfort Inn London
Comfort Inn Earls Court
London Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing