We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Continental London Kensington
Ranked #803 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location, Location, and Location”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed in this Hotel at the end of our trip. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. This hotel located near the Tube station Earl's Court where you can go to most of the attractions using District line and Piccadilly Line. Breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recent review.

First and foremost, I must apologies for the concerns you have risen regarding the Breakfast, while I am pleased that our location was to your liking.
I have raised your comments with the Manager, as we take every comment very seriously.

Thank you very much once again for your constructive feedback, and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    394
    320
    129
    111
See reviews for
200
361
122
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as part of a package via a rail break. I had read the reveiws and felt comfortable with our choice,thinking,it's only a base to stay while seeing the big city. This hotel was fabulous. Everything about it is very good. The staff on reception could not have been kinder,particular Alfonso who went the extra mile to be so helpful. His career in hospitality ,in any hotel is heading for the top in this difficult profession. Even the cleaners and breakfast staff could not do enough to make our stay more comfortable and should be commended for their hard work..
The breakfast was refreshingly continental,plenty of it and held a comfortable unhurried pace. The rooms were spotless and well serviced and we were warm and not bothered by any noise. If we chose to stay in this area again, we would gladly stay at the Continental. Thank you all of you, you are a brilliant team.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank damemollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our property.

A really sincere thank you from our member Alfonso, it's much appreciated to hear the we impressed you.
I could not have given a better description of what we are all about - thank you for your kind words. You have also highlighted some very unique aspects of our property that could sometimes be mistaken - it’s a small nice Hotel with a fantastic location, focused on customers satisfaction.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a two night stay here and overall wass pleased with our choice. However, we did ask for a quiet room and were given room 132. Just outside the window, was, what seemed to be a generator which was going day and night. We closed the window and it was down to a rumbling sound like one would experience on a ship. This did not put us off, but would be annoying if we stayed for a longer period.
The continental breakfast was adequate, and plent of it. The staff were good and very helpful.
We would stay again, but in a different room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johny747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recent review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your kind feedback and we're really happy to read that you enjoyed our staff, location and the cleanliness of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
As we usually declare, we aim to be a nice and friendly budget hotel that meets the expectation of our guests.
Thank you very much once again, and when you plan a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk to make the appropriate arrangements.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had a 3-night stay from 20-23 March 2014 and I can only say it has to be one of the best stays overall that I have had in London. I chose the hotel because the price was the best I could find for the time and for convenience locationwise to Earls Court - for the Ideal Home Exhibition; and indeed, it was literally around the corner, also from Earls Court tube (2 mins walk) and a bus stop from which you could travel direct to Victoria, Marble Arch and Baker Street. An added bonus was that the tube station is on the cusp of Zones 1 and 2, so cheaper farewise if only travelling within Central London.
The initial greeting from reception was warm and friendly. A locked luggage room was available in which to leave our cases upon early arrival and on day of departure. Our twin room had obviously been recently refurbished, and although not overly large, had enough room to move around both beds. The bathroom was also modern and the shower tiles/cubicle (which was very spacious) were absolutely spotless. Shower gel and shampoo were provided in dispensers.
Nice little tea tray.....and my idea of a nice touch.....a complimentary biscuit for each guest (replaced every day).
Flat screen TV with multi-channels.
White bed linen and towels were pristine.
Bright, modern, clean breakfast room holds 50 people, but advise going down around 8am to avoid busy spell. Lovely, fresh and perfectly adequate choice of continental breakfast - 3 cereals (not "soggy"/stale), bread/toast, croissants/chocolate pastry, muffins, a variety of yoghurts, grapefruit and fruit segments, jam, choc spread, Philadelphia spread, cheese chunks, tea and fruit teas and a coffee/hot choc dispenser. Tables were cleared promptly by a rather shy gentleman (do say good morning to him as it's nice to be acknowledged).
Every staff member that we met in reception, the breakfast room and housekeeping staff were pleasant and friendly, and I would most certainly return here if the price was right.
My only recommendation for improvement to the hotel would be changing the bedroom windows which were rather old and encouraged condensation......but this in no way affected our stay in any negative way.
Thank you and hope to see you again soon! Oh yes, and a special mention for Orville who checked us out!

Room Tip: The hotel has an unusual layout with some rooms "between" floors, requiring you to take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EternallyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our property.

I could not have given a better description of what we are all about - thank you for your kind words. You have also highlighted some very unique aspects of our property that could sometimes be mistaken - it’s a small nice Hotel with a fantastic location, focused on customers satisfaction.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights from 3/18-3/21/2014 (Our first time in London). I really wanted to like City Continental Kensington London but unfortunately was not happy with the lack of basic ammenities available to guests. Our phone or safe did not work and we didn't even have access to something as basic as a microwave. Staff members were just not accomodating enough when it came on to small requests. We were also not impressed with the continental breakfast (croissants and breads were far from being fresh). The only plus about this hotel is the location; walking distance to the Earls Court Tube stop. Alfonzo (front desk person) was also helful in giving directions for the Tube. I, unfortunately, would not stay here again or recommend this hotel to family or friends.

Room Tip: Don't take back left-over food that requires heating up to your room! The microwave is only for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed here from monday 24th march to the weds on our first mini break to London.
On arrival you walk into a walm cosy reception room.
Check in was really quick and straight foward. Rooms were easy enough to find following the receptionists instructions.
Got into our room, number 213 (one double bed) which was quite small but perfectly formed. Everything was pretty much immaculate. Tea making facilities were available, enough towels for the both of us and a safe.
Every day the towels were changed, and tea making facilities were topped up.
Im not usually the best of sleepers but my partner and I found the bed really comfy, there was no noise what so ever.
Location good, right near tube station and also has one of the barclays bike stations at the top of the road.
Plenty of shops and pubs etc on the main road.
Breckfast has something for everyone and a good serving time.
Check out again was quick and simple and the luggage room is a great addition if like ourselves you stayed in london until much later than check out time.
Really cannot fault this place, for the price we paid aswel we got alot more than expected and would reccomend this hotel to anyone! Hope this helps :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lydiacook2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityContinental K, Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am very happy to read that the combination of our location, the high quality of our rooms, and our staff has been such a winning one! It sounds like you had a great time, and that is what we always aim to provide here at the City Continental.

Thank you very much once again, and when you plan a return, please do reach out to us at reservations@citycontinentalkensington.co.uk to make the appropriate arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights when visiting London for the first time very nice room but very strong smell of paint and with having asthma was not good but hopefully it's a one off did ask to change but nothing available

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#457 of 1,067 in London
270 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#529 of 1,067 in London
435 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#852 of 1,067 in London
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#695 of 1,067 in London
271 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#395 of 1,067 in London
163 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#489 of 1,067 in London
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Continental London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Continental London Kensington

Property: City Continental London Kensington
Address: 11-13 Penywern Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #803 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Continental London Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Continental Kensington London Hotel looks forward to welcoming you to London. If you are traveling to London for business or seeking a hotel near London major tourist attractions & shopping area, there are many reasons you should consider our hotel. Our guests enjoy modern accommodations, amenities, friendly ambiance, and affordable rates City Continental Kensington London Hotel is within easy reach of Olympia Exhibition Centre and a short ride to Hammersmith Apollo. The staff at City Continental Kensington London Hotel is quite friendly and available to assist our guests at any time of the day and night. Breakfast is provided for our guests each morning at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Continental London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Continental London Kensington Hotel London
City Continental Hotel London
Comfort Inn London
Comfort Inn Earls Court
London Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing