We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE, CLEAN BUDGET HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Continental London Kensington
Ranked #760 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Lancashire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“NICE, CLEAN BUDGET HOTEL”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

stayed here for 2 nights
Air con was great
Staff great
Great location

BAD POINTS:
NOISY in night - slamming of doors from 7am must of been cleaners
cleaners knocking on door at 9am on a sunday!
People talking loud in hall wall outside room from early hours
Bedroom was tiny looks a lot bigger in pics
Good for the price but if you want to sleep don't stay here
breakfast was toast or ceral very untidy

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JENNA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityContinental K, Front Office Manager at City Continental London Kensington, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Jenna

Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at the hotel. We are very pleased to hear about the location and friendly staff. On the other hand we would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the noise, Let me assure you that management is looking into the issue and we are working on it to get it resolved as soon as possible.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback.
I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Gregory Matwieiszyn
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    394
    316
    128
    106
See reviews for
196
356
122
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Hotel is located in Earls Court, convenient to travel around London. Lots of restaurant in the area; even found Filipino Buffet/Store couple blocks away; not far either from Picadilly. WIFI is awesome!

Air condition works very well but the room are quite small. The lift is confusing as too many doors to open to be connected to your room. The staff were friendly and patiently gives you directions.

The bathroom was limited space. Wash cloths was not provided. Shower is ok but could be stronger.

Stayed 2 nights on July 27 -29, 2014 with family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mokimallows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights the good points include a great location very close to Earls court and plenty of restaurants and places to grab food. Very clean hotel and the staff were very welcoming, also provided was a continental breakfast which was nice nothing too fancy. We were given a free upgrade to room 107 which we were obviously very happy about..bad points this room is placed in the basement area and is next to the breakfast room, the lift and the toilets. The window to the room looks into the basement/storage area which has two security lights which were on all night and a heater/generator...the generator is also on all night and makes a loud buzzing noise continuously throughout the night stopping for short periods then starts up loudly again. The lights also do not turn off and the curtains do not cover the whole of the window so most of the light pours into the room which as you can imagine is terrible for trying to get to sleep. The hotel itself is extremely noisy with very thin walls we could hear people coming in and out of rooms and closing doors even tho the nearest room was at the bottom of the hall!!!! With the room being next to the lift this is also a complete nightmare when people stand outside your door laughing and chatting at all hours, we complained to the hotel particularly about the light and generator noise however nothing could be done as they were fully booked. I would not choose to stay at this hotel again after my experience this room particularly was dreadful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Situated on a quiet road just round the corner from Earls Court, this was one of many small hotels. Clean frontage with pretty floral display. At the end of the road there were numerous pubs/eateries/off licence/supermarkets/earls court station. We were given a basement room. My immediate thought was that it was going to be dark. The room was pleasant. Clean, neat, cosy, comfy. My only bug bear was outside our open window was all the air conditioning units mounted on the wall and a six foot ladder! Being security conscious I was not happy. I asked at reception if another room was available but unfortunately all rooms were booked. We chose to keep the window closed all night to block out the noise of the units. The breakfast was continental. Hot drinks from a machine. Quite adequate. Recommend to people only wanting a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Avoid basement rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzydi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family had 2 rooms for a week in late June. First time in London and expected small room but was surprised at how small. Good and bad points...good first....very clean, alright continental breakfast not elaborate but ok..very clean breakfast area and very good ongoing clean up and replenishment. Staff friendly.
Close to Earls Court Tube and some pubs etc. so not bad for commuting to the tourist areas.
Now the bad......one of our rooms had non working air conditioner and could not get it fixed all week. Poor replenishment of toiletries. No elevator to top floor.
Not a bad place and probably ok for a night or two but wished we had booked something a bit bigger and with more amenities understanding that that would increase cost however. Ptrobably would not stay there again as we would try somewhere different but overall not a bad place. Again, very very clean so no concerns in that area which is always a must.

Room Tip: if you have mobility issue there is no lift to the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbuggs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great stay for just the one night. Room was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and modern. Friendly staff at reception and check in/out was all very smooth. No problems at all. Definitely going to stay there again and would recommend it to anyone whilst they're on business in London.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joss A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I came to stay last weekend 27/28 of June for the hard rock calling festival I was staying in earls court alone thou met friends at the show!
The staff were very pleasant and friendly and would help you in any way!
Tube station is a 2mins walk thou only used it once as I wossed out and got a taxi back from dinner at the savoy and to and from venue! If you go by coach you get dropped of by tesco wich is also a 10 mins walk but just head to the tube station then it's easy!
311 was my room up on the top floor out the way and very big and quite. Internet is slow that's the only bad thing I can say about this hotel but you get full bars in reception!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steel_panther_angle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#513 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#472 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#834 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#568 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#398 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Continental London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Continental London Kensington

Property: City Continental London Kensington
Address: 11-13 Penywern Road, Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #760 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Continental London Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Continental Kensington London Hotel looks forward to welcoming you to London. If you are traveling to London for business or seeking a hotel near London major tourist attractions & shopping area, there are many reasons you should consider our hotel. Our guests enjoy modern accommodations, amenities, friendly ambiance, and affordable rates City Continental Kensington London Hotel is within easy reach of Olympia Exhibition Centre and a short ride to Hammersmith Apollo. The staff at City Continental Kensington London Hotel is quite friendly and available to assist our guests at any time of the day and night. Breakfast is provided for our guests each morning at our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Continental London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Continental London Kensington Hotel London
City Continental Hotel London
Comfort Inn London
Comfort Inn Earls Court
London Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing