We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Westminster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Westminster
Ranked #819 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 30 May 2008

A friendly warning to all you travelers out there!Do not stay at this hotel.For starters the pictures they put on the web do not at all look like the hotel room that you get.The hotel room did not look like anything the picture showed.The bed was very small for 2 people to sleep in,the blanket on the bed is enough for one person to cover up with.The bathroom shower flow is a drip,oh yeah no washcloth is provided at this hotel whatsoever.The staff are rude,asked them a question acted like i was a bother to them.On the day we checked out we looked at our bill there was a breakfast charge on there,we never had any breakfast.The staff looked at us like we were lying about the charge.Save your hard earned money and stay somewhere elseOne more thing the cleaning people go around and knock on the door to see if they can clean the room at 7am in the morning.I am not a very picky person but i will say this this hotel needs a good shakedown on the way it treats travelers.It is sad that a hotel in this primelocation of Victoria station is such a unprofessional hotel.P.S.This hotel should not even say the word Quality,just wanna let ya all know down the street theres a comfort inn on the corner across from Georges .pub may wanna book your room there.Thanks for listening to my input on this dump.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank shoegirlMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2008

We went as a large group to London, England, to perform with our school orchestra at Cambridge University. The location of the Hotel was perfect. However, the service and cleanliness left much to be desired. One of our group members contacted bed bugs and had to go to the doctor while there. She was not even given an apology and was told NO REFUNDS. They did, however, move her to another room -- wasn't that thoughtful?!! The staff seem to resent having to clean our rooms and give us linens and towels. I asked for an extra set of towels one evening and was told I would not receive clean towels the next morning because I had been given the extra set!

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone because of the poor service and lack of respect we received while there!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jdhlsmith06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2008

This hotel is in a great location....close to Victoria Station, making buses, the tube, and sightseeing easily accessible. It appears to be clean, but there was a case of bedbugs during our stay. The lady was bitten horribly on any exposed skin while she was sleeping. The bedbugs were discovered crawling up the wall and nesting in a corner of the room.
It appeared that many of the hotel employees spoke very little English so this made conversation about room needs very difficult.
The rooms are small, but the features vary. Most rooms have two single beds or one double bed. I think it is safe to say that the hotel is very old, appears to be clean (except for the bedbug issue), and is probably a fairly good deal for the price and location. The free continental breakfast had a good selection of food, but the employees seemed irritated when having to unlock a door for someone or do anything above and beyond the call of duty. The hotel simply meets minimal standards, with toilets that didn't work well, something that resembled sewage fumes in another room, and problems that develop in an old hotel. The name "QUALITY HOTEL" is very misleading...to say the least. I would not want to stay there again and take a chance on bedbugs and other issues.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bigkyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management75, Management at Hotel Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2008

Thank you for your review.

We would like to point out that the issue with bed bugs is not a common occurence. Bed bugs are not native to the UK and are unfortunately very difficult to detect before becoming a problem. This can happen in any hotel in any city of the world and is not a reflection on hotel cleanliness or standards. Once we were made aware of the problem our specialist contractors were called in, the room put out of use and a severe heat treatment was applied to the room to eradicte the problem. Since this action was taken we have had no further incidents of this kind and are satisfied that the issue has been solved.

naturally we do apologise for any inconvenience the lady concerned suffered and send her our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

A Norwegian friend who's just spent a week in London booked this hotel for us both through her travel agent at home, and I have to admit I was a bit worried after reading some of the reviews left by people on this site! But I have to say my fears were groundless...the room was a good size, and although it was cold when we arrived it heated up quickly once the wall-mounted heater was turned on. Comfortable beds, a great view over some tennis courts and mugs to make our daily cuppa in...if you asked me to be really picky, the bathroom could have been a little larger, but that's about it - we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, and would definitely return again. A couple of tips for overseas visitors who are in London for the first time, though...one, don't pay the slightly extortionate restaurant charges, because there are plenty of nearby places where inexpensive meals can be found...and two, don't pay the slightly extortionate charges for internet access, because there are many places within walking distance where you can go online for a pound an hour as opposed to the fiver an hour that the hotel wants.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blackdahlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

Teeny tiny room for a reasonable rate. I had a twin bed against the window, a closet bath and a small patch of floor. Luckily, I didn't come to London to hang out it my room. it was just a place to sleep and in an excellent neighborhood. They were having a rare heat wave in London at the time and the room was very stuffy. I don't imagine that is a problem most the year. Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank auntiecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2007

The Westminster hotel was an okay price hotel with an excellent location near to the tube, still in a quiet and safe neighbourhood, with a lot of beautiful buildings and parks. Within a walking distance there are some restaurants, fastfood places and shops without having to go to the city centre.

But I have to say that the pictures in the website and in the catalogues tell a little bit different story about the rooms and other facilities in the hotel, as the reality is... First of all the rooms were really small. Additionally, we had a hole under our room door, which didn't create a very safe feeling... Because it's an old building and the floors and walls have been living their own life, the corridores and everything looks like curved... There is no soundproof, you can hear all your neighbour rooms and everything that happens in the corridores. It can be very distracting.

The breakfast is ok, and breakfast room is nice. The staff was ok, not too friendly but not rude either.

Yet I have to say that I will never go there again.

Stayed: February 2006
1  Thank Sun_and_Shopping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2007

This hotel is absolutely diabolical. The staff are mostly East European and although very nice and willing they have a mixed understanding of English. The single rooms are well worn and have duvets the size of a postage stamp. The rooms get very cold at night and the wall-mounted heater is barely adequate. Breakfast is basic and if you opt for the full English, prepare for a very greasy serving. In short avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sirwolfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Pimlico
Vegas Hotel
Vegas Hotel
#912 of 1,075 in London
59 reviews
Pimlico
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#465 of 1,075 in London
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#646 of 1,075 in London
523 reviews
Pimlico
Enrico Hotel
Enrico Hotel
#930 of 1,075 in London
548 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westminster

Address: 82-83 Eccleston Square | Westminster, London SW1V 1PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #819 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £128 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing