We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very intimidating for single female”
Review of Euro Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Euro Queens Hotel
Ranked #935 of 1,069 Hotels in London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very intimidating for single female”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I felt intimidated and nervous before I'd even got to reception today. There were hoards of scruffy men speaking a multiude of languages and I dislliked being so overtly stared at. I checked in and called my friends who came to get me. As another review said it was like a DSS hostel or refugee camp, I didn't even unpack my bag as sleeping on a friends floor in a room being decorated is suddenly more appealing and certainly won't be any dirtier.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Fleurzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    174
    307
    223
    558
See reviews for
314
376
89
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Just returned from a working weekend in Crystal Palace. Found this hotel on booking.com, checked reviews and although not too good, figured well its only one night and all we wanted were basic "digs" to get our head down after a days work. This hotel is a hostel for asylum seekers and refugees. Which would have been fine had we have been given this information and allowed then to make a conscious decision whether or not to stay at this hostel. There is only one area of Wi-fi which is near the front entrance / reception area and this is absolutely full to capacity with the hostel guests who apparently LIVE there. This can be quite intimidating as a woman walking into a reception area where there are over 50 men hanging around the doorways, reception area, and taking up every inch of space in the foyer. DO NOT BOOK bed and breakfast as the diner is more like a large banqueting suite which is full of asylum seekers and refugees being fed for free and as hotel guests and not HOSTEL guests you are expected to pay £7.99!! to eat the same as what is being given away for free! That is if you can find a table. Each table seated 8-10 and there was atleast 30 tables, all of which were full with moms, dads children etc. and the smell of body odour in this room was intoxicating!! Our room itself was clean and very basic, which was fine and all we expected. However after using the straightners on my hair this was setting off the smoke alarm!! Security came to the room and was trying to force himself past my husband and into our room where i was not fully clothed!! We were then told to open windows!! The alarm continued to go off as I continued to finish my hair! noise deafening!! and then to add insult to injury the Manager telephoned me up shouting at me to stop whatever it was I was doing! and angry that I would not let the security man in when I was not dressed!! This is the Worst Hotel we have ever had the misfortune to stay in!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Lies in advertising (free parking they said, but was £5 per day). Free wifi they said, but this was only available at reception and was very poor to non-existent).
Rude staff, abrupt, snappy.
They also neglected to tell us we'd be woken by jack hammering at 8am each day.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Me and my wife stayed at the Queens Hotel in Crystal Palace, we hade a double room for 1 night & were charged £105 .

As soon as we got there it was awful .

The room was outdated & we can here everything from the room next door , no sound insulation !

The bed was broken and the TV never worked, worst still we had no hot water the following morning to have a bath or shower.

I cannot believe this hotel is still open, it should be shut down as it's a complete rip off.

We both agreed it would have been better to sleep in our car & save ourselves the £105 instead we suffered, please avoid this place, you will be disappointed .

Room Tip: No rooms at all as all are bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The staff were miserable but the room was recently renovated and nice and cool. It wasn't clean at all and very small. I struggled to get into the shower (you had to squeeze past the toilet through the door) but the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMay169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

It's 11.29pm, I've got work in the morning and there are children screaming and shouting outside the queens hotel. This isn't a one off, many times I've had to ring over and ask the hotel receptionist to ask the children to go to bed, where are the parents/teachers.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#711 of 1,069 in London
137 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hotel ibis budget London City Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viking Hotel
#827 of 1,069 in London
671 reviews
Leigham Court Hotel
#530 of 1,069 in London
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Queens Hotel

Property: Euro Queens Hotel
Address: 122 Church Road | Crystal Palace, London SE19 2UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #935 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Euro Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having been given the flourish of a light makeover to some of the areas within, an expansive white exterior openly greets the visitor to the 5-storey Euro Hotel Queens. Situated close-by to Crystal Palace Football Club ground at Selhurst Park and the original Crystal Palace - built for the Great Exhibition of 1854 and now the home of the renowned Crystal Palace Theme Park Maze - Euro Hotel Queens is perfectly placed as the starting point for exploring south London's rich history. A bright welcome at reception leads through to a spacious, pleasantly furnished bar lounge, where residents and guests can comfortably relax and enjoy the calm surroundings at any time, watch television or entertain friends. The Queens Bar has built an excellent reputation for their warm and friendly customer service which makes it the ideal spot to enjoy a pre or post dinner drink or light snack. This stylish 334 bedroom Victorian hotel offers a pleasant atmosphere and convenient facilities. Euro Queens Hotel has a range of attractive guest facilities, the hotel bar and lounge, an extensive Conference & Banqueting services -from wedding receptions to meeting rooms- as well as Executive bedrooms and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Euro Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel London
Queens Hotel Crystal Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing