We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Ranked #271 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Spent a couple of nights as we where attending a concert at the Royal Albert Hall and this offered the best value in the location. At first it seems a bit out on a limb being on the A4 in/out of London but once settled we could easy walk to all the restaurants and shops that Kensington High Street had to offer, just 5 mins up Earl's Court Road.
The room was good, not massive, but the bathroom was way above the usual size for London. Cleanliness was superb, could not fault that at all (are you listening so called 4 stars in London!)
TV had a wide choice of channels, wifi was free for 30 mins or only £3 for 24hrs, fast and reliable.
Close by was the Natural History Museum and the V&A, a 15 min walk or 5 mins on the bus which stops very close by to the left of the hotel (74 or similar). Stay on the bus and Harrods is another 5 mins away.

The breakfast in the morning was cheap and filling, the breakfast room is small so take note of the busy times shown or book in advance.

Staff were great had good attitudes, I asked for an iron and board and one was available in less than a minute, if fact it was so quick I took it up myself!

Overall a really nice stay, they are doing some building work close by which we thought might be a problem but in the end it was one of the quietest hotels we have ever stayed in! Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKJJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    690
    167
    45
    24
See reviews for
790
533
65
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights and we booked the premier inn after searching countless websites for a good value, but not dodgy, place to stay in london. My husband, 9 year old son and I arrived after a long journey and were welcomed by a trainee on reception. She was polite, professional and kept calm as she tried to master the reservation system! We were allocated room 304 and it was great for our base in London.
It had a comfy double(im not gd on bed sizes!) bed, two bedside shelves with lights over, desk with chair and lamp, kettle, hairdryer( fantastic one, which makes a change) , cups, teabags etc, hanging rail and shelves(no doors though, which bothered my husband as he said he didnt want everything on show!), t.v, single bed(which my son said was extremely comfy) and a good amount of space to move around in.
The bathroom was spotless. It had toilet(of course), hand soap dispenser, bath with shower over and clean white towels. The space was good and the water piping hot! The shower was powerful and the bath very relaxing after walking all day!
The floorboards were a bit creaky in places and we were concious of not annoying people below us, so when you book - ask for a room on the top floor away from the lifts(I had asked for a quiet room away from lifts and this request was honoured). The hotel is on a main road and our room faced it and you coukd hear the traffic(has double glazing) but you are in London!
The main reception was clean, modern and warm and the communal areas aswell. The lifts worked well and it was an excellent base for getting to Earls Court Tube- 10 minute walk away. There is a TESCO(surprise, surprise) 5mins away and when walking from the Tube, there are numerous shops and restaurants. We had breakfast in Greggs( something we definately dont normally do!!!!) and it was delicious- hot chocolate a must!
If we return to London again ( when saved the pennies as its so dear) we woukd consider staying here again- if the price was right.
Book in advance to get a good deal and dont forget to email ahead with requests.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maudkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is our first stay at Premier Inn, were given a room at the back of the hotel basement. As it used to be an old house, we had to climb up and down several stairs all in between walking down long, narrow corridors. We booked their Meal deal which includes a breakfast buffet and a set dinner during our 10 nights stay. A word of advice, althought the price was reasonable, only selected dishes were available thus you will be eating the same starter, dinner and dessert after the fifth day, luckily the staff advised us to refund some of the meals. There was a Tesco store nearby and tube station within 10mins walk. Staff(most eastern European) were mostly polite and helpful. Their only weakness is the inability to explain the premier inn's good nights sleep guarantee when our first night was quite noisy due to a window pane not adjusted properly and rattling as the winds are strong at night. We informed the receptionist but they seems rather unsure on how to deal with it until we fixed the window pane ourselves.
The locals were also quite courteous even they bump onto you while rushing, also provided useful advice which was so heartwarming at times despite London's notorious weather.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Made reservation for a week's London stay based on trip advisor, and the location near tube station. First, the rooms were EXTREMELY small. Though a room on the lower level was quiet, it made us think of a dungeon. While clean, it seemed cramped. Staff, while friendly, seemed to lack the ability to solve problems...always having to call "the office". We never were able to get "the office" to respond to our own requests to speak to them. Breakfasts were satisfactory, but we were unable to charge to the room. Seems a simple request. No washcloths (facecloths) were provided, and when we asked for them, it seemed an unfamiliar concept. WiFi was not universally provided, and the 30 min per day complimentary was only about half that after the cumbersome logon procedures. I can't fault the on-premises staff, as they appeared hamstrung by "other" levels of management, none of whom were on the property, and to this day, unresponsive to our requests for contact. Since our trip, I've emailed the company, to no avail. Overall, had we known this location to be nothing more than a Motel 6 or a Super 8, as we in the US will identify with, we'd not have used it. The positives were clean sheets and proximity to the Earl's Court tube station. Nothing more. Not recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here for one week in August. Room was small but very clean, functional and comfortable. Short walk to Earls Court Underground station (5 minutes) and good access by rail to all parts of London and surrounds.

Reception and dining room staff were great. Range and quality of food was excellent for breakfast as well as dinner after a hard day visiting the sights.

Would certainly stay here again and recommend to friends visiting London.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Having never visited London, we chose this hotel based on its location on the map and the cost (compared with other hotels in the area). Overall, our stay was satisfactory in that the room was comfortable, the beds and the pillows, especially, were excellent, and the Earl's Court tube (and dining/shopping) was a 10 minute walk. There is also a proper supermarket five minutes walk away which was super convenient.

However, the hotel is located in what seems to be converted town homes and so has a really strange layout. Our room was in the back of the hotel and we had to climb down, then up and then down again several stairs all in between walking down long, narrow corridors. Since were were taking a break-journey onwards, we had several really heavy suitcases with us which we had to drag all the way up and down and around since they did not have an elevator accessible room for us. Not fun! Also, the ten-minute walk to/from the the tube or get a bite to eat was a complete downer with a tired child along.
On the plus side, the staff were really friendly and as helpful as they could be and housekeeping did a really great job.

If I made a trip back to London, I would probably look for a more modern hotel closer to the thick of things.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VapidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked months in advance for a 5 night stay through Booking.com. On arrival we asked to see our room first and were taken to a small, dark room below the main floor. The room also had a very strong smell of chemical cleaners to which my wife is extremely sensitive. Though initially told there were no other rooms available, we were shown another room that was much better and we decided to stay. This room was between the main floor and the second floor and neither room was accessible by elevator and to reach our room there were a maze of stairs and hallways. This room was quiet and we did sleep well and had no other issues.
Was booking through a third party the reason for the poor rooms???

The hotel staff was good and especially Simon who did his best to help. The breakfast buffet was good and the staff there very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#352 of 1,067 in London
2,033 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#623 of 1,067 in London
1,268 reviews
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#211 of 1,067 in London
3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Address: 22-32 West Cromwell Road, London SW5 9QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Best Value Hotel in London
#116 Family Hotel in London
#168 Romantic Hotel in London
#199 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal if you're heading to events at the Olympia London centre or exhibitions at Earl's Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Premier Inn, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel London
Comfort Inn Kensington
London Premier Inn
Comfort Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing