We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel. Just one problem....the guests!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Ranked #276 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel. Just one problem....the guests!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

3 nights here to attend a show at Earls Court. It's a 5/10 minute walk away from the tube and venue with easy access to tesco and other shops.We were met with a warm welcome and checked in to our room. It was clean, quiet, air conditioned and spacious. We didn't book a table for dinner as we were unsure of our plans but when we decided to have dinner there, the restaurant was already full and they could only offer us a 9pm table. The restaurant is VERY small in comparison to the hotel so do make reservations if you plan on eating here.

Unfortunately,the first night there was marred by the inconsiderate family upstairs who banged around til 12, then woke me up at 2 and continued to bang around til 5. This wasn't helped by the guy/couple(?) arriving at 2am at room 30, where he proceeded to go in and out of his room for half an hour, slamming the door. A swift visit to the night porter soon sorted out a refund and he suggested we
move rooms the next day.
After coming back from our exhibition, we explained the issues of the night before. There were no problems whatsoever about changing rooms and were given a top floor room, which was lovely and quiet as the hotel wasn't to capacity. I'm glad we did it straight away as upon moving our things, another noisy guest had
arrived, upstairs were already in Mo Farah mode and Mr aussie/south African in room 30 was having very loud "relations" with someone (or something).
We had 2 nights of very good sleep, although you still got mild reverberations from general movement it was nowhere near as bad as being surrounded by the zoo of the previous room.
On the last morning we decided to have breakfast, so I rang reception to ask for a breakfast reservation which, oddly, they DON'T do. However, being a guest they said they would.
We went down at 9:30 and the restaurant was very busy. Unfortunately the reservation request wasn't passed on but a table was quickly found for us. It was a buffet style with the cooked items which was painful, I have bruises from elbows where people came in at all angles when a few items were refreshed whilst in the queue.
There was a choice of different teas and coffees, cereal and baked goods. All were quality branded items and it was very good value.

The lady who checked us in was there when we checked out and asked how our stay was. I explained about it being quite noisy and she checked to see if the refund had been issued. She explained that they get a lot of complaints about noise due to the age of the building and there are future plans to replace the flooring and put in better soundproofing. My reply was that it's not really the building but the lack of consideration displayed by guests throughout our stay!

Overall our stay was really good, comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and the staff really made our stay there. They always have a smile and some small talk for you. Nothing was too much trouble. It really made our stay!

We will be staying again and shall request a top room at the back of the hotel. Let's hope the guests have more manners!



  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyrider260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    685
    166
    44
    24
See reviews for
780
528
65
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We received a warm welcome to this hotel. Staff were excellent and very helpful with every enquiry we had during our stay. Good location for visiting the royal albert hall and south kensington. Very happy with our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed two nights in this hotel. Can be recommended for other who wants a decent hotel for a decent price. Close to Earls Court station. Friendly staff. Will return later. Breakfast area was good. Nice hotel for persons travelling with children.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjornsenberit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

From the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome, after such a disastrous start with a night spent at 37 Collingham Place a supposed value for money "hotel".
All staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, our Room 17 was spotlessly clean with much needed air conditioning, with additional 3 beds for our girls still ample room, plenty of hot water and towels, breakfast was a huge hit with our 3 girls, so much selection and beautifully presented for £9.95 with children eating free.
The Olympia is 5 minute walk from Earl's Court Station and a bus stop just outside, the surrounding area has some great restaurants and bars with a Tesco and Sainsburys.
We had an evening meal at Thyme within Olympia on our last evening and not only outstanding value but very tasty and enjoyable.
So I would like to say a huge Thank You to, Sammy, Jovi, Mehdi, Christine, Barbara, Laura, Karolina, Islam, Magda, Valentine, Eneken and Maria for making our family break in London a great one.

Room Tip: We had room on ground floor at front had no problem with noise...highly recommend the very hearty ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pointzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenvale, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel after arriving at Gatwick from Nice. We caught the First Capital Connect train to Blackfriars and then the District line to Earl's Court and then walked the 300 metres or so to the hotel on West Cromwell Rd.

Check in was extremely efficient and the reception staff were always very friendly and helpful, even at 2am. We were in Rooms 14 and 15 and were at first worried that they would be noisy as they were right next to the reception and facing the busy street. The noise was really not bad at all, and the worst noise came from the people above us who sounded like they were tap dancing quite early on one of the mornings! I liked the fact that we needed the key to access the passage down to our room or to use the lift. A good security feature!

The rooms are basically appointed but much larger than I ever expected. They were clean, as too were the bathrooms. My biggest complaints were the lack of 24 hour free wi-fi, the and the lack of a safe or minibar in the room. The air-con was very efficient though.

We chose to eat breakfast in the hotel and these too were good value for money at £9.95. There was always enough food available and omelettes and boiled eggs could be ordered if required. The waitresses were always very friendly.

This is the first Premier Inn we have stayed in, and we would definitely stay in them again as they are very good value for money, especially for us coming from South Africa where our exchange rate to the pound is very poor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy_DrewK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times before and I can find no faults whatsoever. The staff are all outstanding and a genuine asset to the Company. The rooms and common areas are spotlessly clean and I congratulate the management for their ability to maintain such high standards throughout.
Rooms on the higher floors at the rear of the building are slightly preferable, but they're all good as they all have very good quiet air con.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We spent four nights at the Premier Inn in Kensington. It is very convenient to the Earl's Court station and an easy walk to many shops on High Street. The room was small and the air conditioning was noisy but none of that mattered because we were treated so well by the staff. They were friendly, courteous, and always available to help. One afternoon we were leaving and saw rain clouds from the lobby. I told my husband we should go back for our umbrellas. Without hesitation, the concierge whipped out two very nice ponchos and gave them to us "just in case." We were always greeted with a genuine smile when entering or leaving the hotel. Great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkinvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Premier Inn London Kensington (Earl's Court) Hotel
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#361 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#280 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Address: 22-32 West Cromwell Road, London SW5 9QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Best Value Hotel in London
#116 Family Hotel in London
#168 Romantic Hotel in London
#199 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal if you're heading to events at the Olympia London centre or exhibitions at Earl's Court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Premier Inn, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel London
Comfort Inn Kensington
London Premier Inn
Comfort Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing