We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough budget B&B”

The Park Tavern Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Park Tavern Hotel
Ranked #301 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Firstly it's not exactly a hotel but more a budget b&b that allows you to 'crash for the night'. It's your traditional pub building thats in need of a little tlc to fix the few cracks etc but it's not that bad.
There is no reception area and you must wait for the pub area to be open to talk to someone. Sadly we arrived early in the morning and there was no one around, we even tried the 3 numbers posted on the door but no one was there. For parking we realised the surrounding area was time restricted; no parking between 10am-12pm. We couldn't wait around to check in as we had a business event to go to, we found parking in the next street opposite the pub so left our car there and went to our meeting.
When we came to check in we headed to the bar where a member of staff checked us in and paid the remaining amount for our room. This pub isn't quite like your usual bustling one, there's a few chairs, one pool table, a stage and the bar. It's fairly quiet unless its bingo or karoke night but it finishes by about 10pm so it's not too bad. I think you'll find it's more noisy outside if your room is facing the main road. The road tends to get more noisy around 6am onwards but as a light sleeper this was still bearable for me. You may find noise an issue if you have fairly loud/drunk people next door to you, we had this problem as we heard people coming in/out the hallway but it soon died down by 11pm. I found leaving the tv on in the background easier to drown the rest of the noise out.
The room was lovely if not basic. You had your wardrobe, bedside drawers, a main drawer, tv with the usual 4/5 channels, hairdryer and a kettle with your tea, coffee, milk. You also have a clean towel and handtowel. The rooms are not cleaned daily as I thought but that was okay as we were only staying 2 nights. It would have been nice to see a clock around or a bin in the room as we did accumulate a fair bit of litter. This was the first time we booked a hotel with shared facilities and it wasn't that bad. The shared bathroom had a wonderful powerful shower that outpasses even some of the 4+ star hotel I've stayed at. There are no toiletries or handtowel in here, just a basic empty bathroom. It can get quite warm in here, with all the previous users smells, trying to open the window looks impossible. Hopefully management can sort the ventilation in this area. There is also another small bathroom but with just a toilet.
Apart from that the stay was reasonable, you had convenience stores and cafes opposite you, bus stops right outside your door and only a quick 15 minute walk to the nearest underground station.

Room Tip: Please ring and ask for a room away from the main roads as road noise can be a bit of an issue if yo...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenzotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for The Park Tavern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

Basically dont stay there if youre used to clean comfortable accommodation. boarded up windows, post box torn off completely shocking. Dreadful run down place. No parking and you wouldnt want to leave your vehicle near this pub type place. Refused to stay!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The Park Tavern Hotel could not have been more of a lovely surprise. I arrived late and yet was welcomed warmly. The room was clean, the shower was warm and powerful, the bed was comfy and the breakfast was plentiful. Stafford station is super convenient. And all of the staff were very, very helpful.
I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The split-level suite was great
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed for four nights, arriving on the 31st July to find there was a big Birthday Party on, we were invited to join the festivities and were made to feel so welcome. This continued throughout our stay. found the room comfortable, nothing sensational but certainly adequate. The breakfast was superb as were the very reasonable evening meals.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOKER69_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

1. The flush in my bathroom did not work
2. I was made to use teh common bathroom despite paying for a room with a built in one
3. I did not get a key to my room till the very end of the trip
4. i vacated on day 3 itself instead of staying one more night - that was a sensible thing to do in hindsight.
5. I requested for a refund – it was turned down
6. The only positives were the quality of the mattresses and breakfast

Room Tip: Make sure the toilet flush and the TV are in working order in your room
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrinceAnuraagMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Dirty and filthy place.
There were mouse traps in the room and it was so cold.
I had to leave the place and I was trying to find an other hotel in London.
Terrible situation. This is not a hotel! Just rubbish.
The people working there were polite and gentle, but the place was unacceptable...

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teosalva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Recently stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights and really enjoyed the stay - It was very clean, the bar was very reasonalbly priced and the staff are very friendly - The owner also has an excellent pub called 'The Angel' just around the corner and we had two EXCELLENT nights out there!

Plus, they do Sunday lunchs for £6.99 and they are excellent - I would recommend the beef!

Would certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenlee1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbridge Hotel
#95 of 1,072 in London
1,442 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#470 of 1,072 in London
825 reviews
Travelodge London Stratford
#348 of 1,072 in London
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Tavern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Tavern Hotel

Address: 81 Portway | Stratford, London E15 3QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Hotel Class:2 star — The Park Tavern Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing