We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad Weekend away!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Ranked #213 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not a bad Weekend away!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We booked the hotel as a secret hotel from last minute.com and were pleased with what we got for our money. The only reason we didn't give it an excellent was because we felt breakfast could be better. The delivery of tea and toast took an age but all in all a great place to get away to. There was no issues with the heliport and the cab to Sloane Square was a welcome change. Definitely go again if we stayed for a night in London

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    415
    136
    37
    48
See reviews for
116
699
64
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Beautiful hotel breafast great. Majority of the staff helpfulnand friendly with the exception of luigi!!

Kids not allowed to use the pool.

Kids basically need to be seen and not heard or preferably not seen either. For adults though great

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank just1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We booked the hotel via a lastminute secret hotel deal (I did a google search so knew this was the hotel we were booking) for our night away in London. The deal included a river view room, drinks and breakfast but I was worried about the location as I knew it was a bit away from the city centre. I factored in the cost of a taxi to the hotel and it was still far cheaper than a central hotel. We also decided to eat at the restaurant so that we didn't have to leave the hotel once we arrived.

Positives: Room was beautiful. Elegantly decorated, good furnishings and the nespresso machine was a fantastic addition. Bathroom was wonderful too. Spa was nice but not faultless. The complimentary drinks were a fantastic touch, especially we hadn't realised we would get 2 drinks each. Our evening meal at the Patrisey restaurant was superb (especially as we booked via toptable and got 50% off the food). We really couldn't fault it and also really enjoyed our breakfast the next morning. The complimentary bus to Sloane Square tube station was really useful as we didn't fancy traipsing through the snow to get to Clapham Junction.

Negatives: There seemed to be no hot water in the spa area so the hydrotherapy pool could have been warmer and it was not possible to fill the foot baths. I used the showers in one of the treatment rooms rather than those in the changing room. The lock on our door was dodgy. They tried to fix it but it still wasn't locking as soon as we closed the door. We were told we could have changed the room when we checked out (not really useful) but weren't given that option when I informed them of the problem. The air conditioning was quite noisy and the console didn't make it obvious how to switch it off completely.

Taking everything into consideration, we would definitely stay at the hotel again. I would recommend it for anyone who is planning to spend the day in London and is happy to stay in the hotel for the evening. It is such a shame that there were so few people in the hotel and especially the restaurant. If it was the other side of the river in Chelsea it would be full and way out of our price league.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pats06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Great hotel. Amazing rooms, bed massive and very comfy - bathroom also huge with a tv in the bath. Complimentary drinks in the bar was a nice touch.

Not ideal if you want to go into centeral london but was perfect for a romantic night away.

One negative was the breakfast - took over an hour to come and definatly not worth £19 per head. massive rip off.

Book with the last minute . com hotel sale.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suziesmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

The hotel location is rather unususal next to the heliport , but the view to the Thames is nice, The hotel is beautifully furnished with boutique style bedrooms luxurious bedding and a bathrooms to die for.

The staff are very polite but could really do with some training, we ordered a bottle of wine to be delivered to our room, we ordered via reception who seemed unclear what to charge , we quoted £30 the receptionist brought the wine to the room and attempted to open the screw top with a cork screw !

The breakfast was lovely with a huge choice, very relaxed.

On departing we were charged £15 extra for the room service and tax, so we paid £45 for a bottle of wine which would cost around £10. I emailed customer relations and was told they would offer an upgrade on our return, which was quite unsatisfactory.

I would return to the hotel in the future but to obtain five star ranking they really need to implement five star training for staff.

Room Tip: Have river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I'll keep this very short.

Hotel spot on in every way for business travel

Excellent standard of accommodation, thoughtful amenities in the room.

Great restaurant to cap it off. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beningram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I took my husband here for a romantic night away and it was absolutely lovely. We were in a third floor river view room that also had a view over the heliport. The room was gorgeous, it had a huge comfortable bed with loads of soft cushions and pillows, huge tv, coffee machine and everything was very new and the technology up to date. The bathroom was lovely and had a separate shower and bath with a tv in the wall!

It was very exciting when two Air Harrods helicopters landed not long after we'd checked in, we were amazed at how quiet it was considering the proximity to out room!

The hotel itself was very nice and extremely well kept. All staff that we encountered were very friendly and polite. The only problem we had staff-wise was that the housekeeping staff tried to enter our room at about 5:30pm despite us having the do not disturb sign on the door and the door locked from the inside.

We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was very good and reasonably priced, there is a promotion on for January and February where they are offering 50% off food for advance bookings which was great!

The spa was fantastic and so relaxing, we went down there three times and we were only in the hotel for one night! It's a really great asset for the hotel.

I'd fully recommend the Hotel Verta, it's easily a five star hotel on a par with amazing hotels we've stayed in in the USA (Four Seasons etc). We were looking for a hotel in Clapham so the location was perfect for us but I can see how it might put visitors off who were planning on spending a lot of time in town, however the staff were happy to arrange taxis for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliverocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
K West Hotel & Spa
#260 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,746 reviews
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Hammersmith / Fulham
Dorsett Shepherds Bush, London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Battersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Address: Bridges Court Road | Battersea, London SW11 3BE, England (Formerly Hotel Verta)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Battersea 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south of the River Thames, adjacent to the London Heliport and within easy reach of Chelsea and Sloane Square; Hotel Verta provides the perfect destination when visiting the capital. From panoramic views of the River Thames, the intimate ambience and the very modern facilities, Hotel Verta has become London's most exclusive 'Hidden Gem'.The hotel's design, inspired by the Halcyon days of aviation, combines timeless elegance and the lobby is a striking double height atrium with a signature sweeping staircase up to the mezzanine level. All of the 70 bedrooms are fully furnished in a classic modern style, each with original artwork and the finest bespoke fittings.All day dining is available in the elegant Ambrosia located on the mezzanine level. A glamorous, fun and contemporary bistro/bar perfect for meeting friends and family for afternoon tea, informal meetings and after work drinks. As dusk falls, Champagne is the signature drink and guests can dine whilst admiring the views.The two level subterranean SPA Verta offering an innovative sanarium, heated loungers, steam room, sauna, gym and signature spa treatments, sets Hotel Verta apart from any London Hotel.Settings don't come much more inspiring than this, with the majority of our hotel meeting room facilities in London, featuring panoramic views of the River Thames and the London Heliport. Features include floor-to-ceiling windows and flexible inter-connecting options, when it comes to keeping you in touch; we have state-of-the-art audio-visual and telecommunications equipment, as well as wireless throughout. Hotel Verta offers 7 Meeting Rooms for between 12 to 200 delegates.Hotel Verta is the most wonderful, unique and romantic London hotel location in which to hold your wedding. For this very special occasion, we will enchant you with its addictive atmosphere and seductive environment, providing you and your guests with a magical wedding experience. The romance of Hotel Verta is beyond compare and has everything to make your wedding experience unique - superb cuisine, magnificent settings, meticulous and personalised service. The individuality of each couple is reflected in the smallest and most important details. Hotel Verta is licensed for civil wedding and civil partnership ceremonies with a dedicated Wedding Co-ordinator to help you organise the finer details of your special day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Battersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing