We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb 5 star London hotel with modest prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Ranked #204 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A superb 5 star London hotel with modest prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

On my fourth visit to London, I stayed at the Hotel Verta on a Saturday night at a Standard room which was beautifully furnished and equipped with state of the art electronics and lighting facilities but with a poor view. On our return a week later, we were very generously upgraded to a Riverview room which was much larger and commanded an excellent view of the Thames river and the adjoining London Heliport.
The hotel's breakfast was very carefully chosen and of a high quality. The reception staff was very polite and attentive and responded immediately to all our requests.
The only "drawback" is that there isn't anything of interest in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. With regard to visiting the city center, the hotel provides a regular shuttle minibus service to Sloan Square Underground station from where you have access to London's places of interest and you can easily return to the hotel by bus from Victoria station.
All in all, we had an excellent stay at the Hotel Verta and we are sure that we will stay there when we next visit London.

Room Tip: The Riverview Rooms are larger and command an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIOSCHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    411
    136
    37
    48
See reviews for
114
695
62
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I managed to find an excellent offer through an online hotel booking service so decided to stay here for two nights, instead of Rafayel on the Left Bank which is next door. Our room was one of those 'river view' rooms. It had partial view of the river and that's pretty much what you are going to get unless if you are staying in one of those river view executive suites. Compared to other good business or five star hotels I've stayed, room was a bit small in size (may be because of the massive bed which takes most of the space), but it had everything you need including a nice coffee maker. TV has been set up as a media startion so you can connect your laptop or charge your equipments using its USB port. Bathroom was simply excellent. Very spacious and well lit with everything you need including an LCD TV attached to the bath! Staff were very friendly and helpful. We also had dinner and breakfast in their restaurant which we found very good. Only let down is the location. It is well away from all the major attractions so it is not the most convenient place to stay if you are planning to spend most of your time visiting attractions in the capital. Having said that, we didn't find it difficult to travel to the centre using the bus number 170 which you can catch from outside the hotel (takes you to Victoria in 30-40 minutes). Would I stay there again? I definitely would if I can find a good offer like the one we had.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pradeep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Check-in was welcoming and professional. It was a lovely surprise to be upgraded to an Executive room. The room was spacious and clean, with excellent facilities and a superb bathroom.

We enjoyed 2 complimentary drinks in the bar, which was lovely and breakfast the next morning was very good.

The staff were all helpful and polite.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emma4782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I booked the Hotel Verta as a treat for my husbands birthday. The service I received even before arriving at the hotel was excellent. On arrival we had been upgraded FOC to an exec room. The room was fantastic, clean, modern and every home comfort you would want. We decided to make the most of the hotel and stay in for dinner. We had 2 drinks each as part of our room rate and the choice was extensive. We decided to dine in the hotel but only wanted a main course, this did take quite a while to arrive, but was well worth i when it did. The buffet breakfast was of a good standard. All staff were helpful and friendly. With regard to location, I am not a big fan of public transport, but we used the local bus service that runs from just outside the hotel to get to Victoria that was fast and efficient. We also took advantage of the shuttle to Slone Square when we were leaving as this was realy easy with our luggage. I am a very demanding customer and I really couldn't find a fault. I would recommend a stay at the Hotel Verta it was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsCreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donaueschingen, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I've been choosing the Verta Hotel for the outstanding presentation and good pricing.
Flying to London Luton and taking a transfer train to King's Kross/ St. Pancras I've been choosing a taxi connection to reach the hotel. The hotel located on the Southern Side of the river is about 20 minutes away from the train station and during rush h. would be difficult to reach without underground.
The hotel is very nice, the service provided is of a good level and rooms are around 25m2 newly furnished and silent. The fitness area and SPA are small but well equipped, unfortunately working from 8a.m to 8 p.m is sometimes difficult to reach for a business traveller.

The is not well connected with the city center but it offers an hourly connection to Slone's Square underground.

Overall a nice experience that involves many extra costs (TAXI is a must for this hotel).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlo U U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Verta on an overnight pass through in London. Given I was driving the location did not prove a difficulty for me but would anticipate it could for others due to it's slightly remote locale. Valet Parking a dream, some may think £25 per night is a bit steep but a fair value when you know your car is as secure as it is under the hotel, room was upgraded on arrival a wonderful surprise and the complementary drinks were an excellent bonus during happy hour. The room was as you would expect from a 5 star, chic, practical and useable, Bathroom with tv and nice Molten Brown essentials, no noise from the Heliport in my river view room. Breakfast was really good and the service from all the team were professional in approach and efficient in their manner. Well done Verta, will be staying again next time I am in the city.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mattparker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We booked the hotel as a secret hotel from last minute.com and were pleased with what we got for our money. The only reason we didn't give it an excellent was because we felt breakfast could be better. The delivery of tea and toast took an age but all in all a great place to get away to. There was no issues with the heliport and the cab to Sloane Square was a welcome change. Definitely go again if we stayed for a night in London

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
K West Hotel & Spa
#262 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Dorsett Shepherds Bush, London
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Battersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Address: Bridges Court Road | Battersea, London SW11 3BE, England (Formerly Hotel Verta)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Battersea 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south of the River Thames, adjacent to the London Heliport and within easy reach of Chelsea and Sloane Square; Hotel Verta provides the perfect destination when visiting the capital. From panoramic views of the River Thames, the intimate ambience and the very modern facilities, Hotel Verta has become London's most exclusive 'Hidden Gem'.The hotel's design, inspired by the Halcyon days of aviation, combines timeless elegance and the lobby is a striking double height atrium with a signature sweeping staircase up to the mezzanine level. All of the 70 bedrooms are fully furnished in a classic modern style, each with original artwork and the finest bespoke fittings.All day dining is available in the elegant Ambrosia located on the mezzanine level. A glamorous, fun and contemporary bistro/bar perfect for meeting friends and family for afternoon tea, informal meetings and after work drinks. As dusk falls, Champagne is the signature drink and guests can dine whilst admiring the views.The two level subterranean SPA Verta offering an innovative sanarium, heated loungers, steam room, sauna, gym and signature spa treatments, sets Hotel Verta apart from any London Hotel.Settings don't come much more inspiring than this, with the majority of our hotel meeting room facilities in London, featuring panoramic views of the River Thames and the London Heliport. Features include floor-to-ceiling windows and flexible inter-connecting options, when it comes to keeping you in touch; we have state-of-the-art audio-visual and telecommunications equipment, as well as wireless throughout. Hotel Verta offers 7 Meeting Rooms for between 12 to 200 delegates.Hotel Verta is the most wonderful, unique and romantic London hotel location in which to hold your wedding. For this very special occasion, we will enchant you with its addictive atmosphere and seductive environment, providing you and your guests with a magical wedding experience. The romance of Hotel Verta is beyond compare and has everything to make your wedding experience unique - superb cuisine, magnificent settings, meticulous and personalised service. The individuality of each couple is reflected in the smallest and most important details. Hotel Verta is licensed for civil wedding and civil partnership ceremonies with a dedicated Wedding Co-ordinator to help you organise the finer details of your special day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Battersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing