We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - I'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Ranked #201 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
1 review
“Great stay - I'll be back”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

An excellent stay, with a most accommodating staff. I arrived, and was upgraded to a larger room. As my priority was getting a view of the Thames, the receptionist went with me to check out different rooms and in the end, we found a room with a view to the Thames from the bed, which was perfect for my purposes.
The rooms were all completely freshly renovated, and felt fresh and delicate. Breakfast was excellent, and I had a superb dinner from the terrace, overlooking the Thames, soaking in the evening sun. I will definitely come back.
The room was very quiet, and I was not disturbed by the heliport next to the hotel. Quadrouble glazing does wonders.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Henrik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guest,


We are truly grateful for your comments and happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Verta by Rhombus.

Kind Regards,
Anna Asimakopoulou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    425
    141
    39
    48
See reviews for
118
723
66
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Lovely hotel, rooms clean and well appointed. Staff friendly. Comfy bed. Free WIFI which we connected to without a problem. Great fun watching the helicopters come and go - this hotel is the official one to serve the Barclays London heliport.
Only things to let it down:
Location: good to escape city but if you're looking for something central this isn't it. We had a hire car so no problem.
View: we expected a river view but they said they'd put us in an exec room which was bigger but not directly on the water. Aren't there rooms that are both?
Gadgets: the room is gadget crazy which is fun but it took me over ten attempts to work out how to use my bedside lamp without switching on all the other lights. For light sleepers I'd recommend an eye mask as the glowing standby lights of all the gadget switches are really annoying.

But... Nice breakfast, very sweet attentive staff and great novelty for one night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at Hotel Verta for 4 nights at the beginning of June for our first anniversary and it was flawless.

I had been told when I booked to mention on arrival we were celebrating our anniversary, which I did. We were promptly upgraded to a river view room and offered complimentary champagne while the final touches where prepared for check-in.

Our room was absolutely immaculate and beautiful. There was loads of space, the bed was incredibly comfy and huge and the bathroom was to die for. I enjoyed two long baths using the complimentary Molten Brown toiletries while watching the waterproof TV at the end of the bath!

The staff were incredibly helpful and attentive during our entire stay, and couldn’t do enough for us. We got a call within 15 minutes of being in the room to confirm we were happy and to call reception if we required anything whatsoever while staying at the hotel.

At one point I was quite ill from food poisoning from a meal out the night before, and requested some dry toast be brought up at around 1PM as I had missed breakfast. The lady on reception told me she’d have it sent up immediately and asked if I needed them to fetch something from the local chemist. Thankfully my husband had already got my some medicine, but the gesture was greatly appreciated. I wasn’t charged for the room service as my booking included breakfast – but normally they charge additionally if the food is brought to you. This was appreciated.

The breakfast each morning I did dine was excellent, with a great full English, continental and additional bits such as fresh nuts, smoked salmon etc.
The spa was also excellent, but the spa treatments were quite expensive.

When we return to London, we will return to this hotel. Absolutely excellent.

Room Tip: Note: In terms of the hotel being in an unfortunate location, we didn’t have any issues whatsoever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

My wife and I were visiting family in the Clapham area, so the Verta's slightly out of the way location wasn't a major problem for us. Nevertheless, as it is a 15 minute walk from Clapham junction which is quite inconvenient for a London visit. The hotel provides a free shuttle to Sloane Square every hour(or half hour in the early morning) but not back. When we used it, it wasn't particualrly well organised. This is a pity because the general standard of the hotel is really good. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable.(A small point ...the heat control in the shower came away in my wife's hand) The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The Spa doesn't have a proper swimming pool but it does have a wonderful relaxation pool, sauna steam room, massaging jets etc. I could have spent more time there.If a quick transit in and out of central London is not your priority the Verta is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: River View rooms are much in demand. We couldn't get one but we did get an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

This hotel was an excellent choice for our 3 day trip to London. The service was excellent, the staff were helpful, polite & attentive without being intrusive. The room was immaculate and very well equipped (we were given an upgrade too). The spa was also very clean, with a good range of facilities and open until 8.30pm not 6.30pm as someone else on here has stated. We did not use the gym but it was also well equipped. We ate in the restaurant on our first evening, the food was wonderful and the 30% discount given to us as residents a welcome benefit (I am not sure that this applies all the time). Breakfast was good, plenty of choice between cereals, fruit, english breakfast and croissants, etc. I would agree with others that the location is not central but the view of the river and the availability of the hotel minibus to Sloane Square it was not a problem. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

Nicely fitted out and equipped; friendly and professional staff. Studios have good river views. Triple glazing is very effective, so you don't hear the helicopters at the adjacent heliport at all. Breakfast not brilliant; shame the hours of the gym/spa aren't longer (0800-1830); and unfortunate the hotel is to difficult to get to by public transport (though they do provide an hourly shuttle bus).

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rhepher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
#199 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Battersea
Travelodge London Battersea
#671 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Battersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Address: Bridges Court Road | Battersea, London SW11 3BE, England (Formerly Hotel Verta)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Battersea 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south of the River Thames, adjacent to the London Heliport and within easy reach of Chelsea and Sloane Square; Hotel Verta provides the perfect destination when visiting the capital. From panoramic views of the River Thames, the intimate ambience and the very modern facilities, Hotel Verta has become London's most exclusive 'Hidden Gem'.The hotel's design, inspired by the Halcyon days of aviation, combines timeless elegance and the lobby is a striking double height atrium with a signature sweeping staircase up to the mezzanine level. All of the 70 bedrooms are fully furnished in a classic modern style, each with original artwork and the finest bespoke fittings.All day dining is available in the elegant Ambrosia located on the mezzanine level. A glamorous, fun and contemporary bistro/bar perfect for meeting friends and family for afternoon tea, informal meetings and after work drinks. As dusk falls, Champagne is the signature drink and guests can dine whilst admiring the views.The two level subterranean SPA Verta offering an innovative sanarium, heated loungers, steam room, sauna, gym and signature spa treatments, sets Hotel Verta apart from any London Hotel.Settings don't come much more inspiring than this, with the majority of our hotel meeting room facilities in London, featuring panoramic views of the River Thames and the London Heliport. Features include floor-to-ceiling windows and flexible inter-connecting options, when it comes to keeping you in touch; we have state-of-the-art audio-visual and telecommunications equipment, as well as wireless throughout. Hotel Verta offers 7 Meeting Rooms for between 12 to 200 delegates.Hotel Verta is the most wonderful, unique and romantic London hotel location in which to hold your wedding. For this very special occasion, we will enchant you with its addictive atmosphere and seductive environment, providing you and your guests with a magical wedding experience. The romance of Hotel Verta is beyond compare and has everything to make your wedding experience unique - superb cuisine, magnificent settings, meticulous and personalised service. The individuality of each couple is reflected in the smallest and most important details. Hotel Verta is licensed for civil wedding and civil partnership ceremonies with a dedicated Wedding Co-ordinator to help you organise the finer details of your special day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Battersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing