We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic hotel but at a tricky location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Ranked #204 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel but at a tricky location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I went there with my husband and 7-month old daughter. As we walked up to the hotel a member of the staff greeted us and took our bags and showed us to the reception and that set the standard for all service at the hotel which was top notch.
The room was really good with a view of the Thames and the Heliport. It had a flatscreen TV above the bed and above the bathtub. The bathroom was the nicest and cleanest hotel bathroom I've ever seen and had both a bathtub and a separate shower.
The room was right above the heliport and we saw a few helicopters land/lift off but you could hardly hear it so it was not bothering us.
The room and the service was perfect BUT some things made us not want to come back.
The most important factor is the hotels location. It is lovely by the Thames BUT you have to walk about 0,8 miles/1,2 km to get to Clapham Junction were you can take the Overground downtown. The walk itself isn't so bad but you have to walk through a ghetto-like area. We did not feel safe to walk there at night (see the attached photo).
Another factor that annoyed us was that wi-fi isn't free but costs £16/day. That did not feel like a top notch hotel. In todays society you are so dependent on internet that it should be standard in hotels or at least at a affordable price. You have a bedside table lamp that you light up just by your touch but not free wi-fi.
The third factor that annoyed us was that they charged our credit card £215 as a kind of deposition without even telling us about it. We got the money back a few days after we checked out of the hotel but still - not okay! I don't know if that is standard procedure but that is what happened to us.
Our booking didn't include breakfast and if we would have wanted that it would have cost us £19/day per person for a standard english breakfast. Much to expensive for us.
All in all the hotel and the staff was fantastic. The most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed at but it's location being on the "wrong" side of the thames and the dodgy walk to Clapham Junction makes us not want to come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your mixed comments on the hotel following your recent stay with us.
Hotel Verta by Rhombus is a luxurious hotel with breathtaking views over the river Thames and the London Heliport.
I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that there is a local bus, 170, from Clapham Junction to the Hotel which stops on York road.
I am sorry to see that the pre authorisation of your credit card caused you an inconvenience, this is a common practice upon arrival.
We do have available various and very competitive rates inclusive of breakfast and wi fi, please check our web site for the most suitable offer.

I do hope we are able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Anna Asimakopoulou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    411
    136
    37
    48
See reviews for
114
695
62
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

My partner and I went to this restaurant as a treat from his mum, for his birthday. The hotel was very clean, well presented and beautiful.
The staff were also very polite and helped us whenever we needed them.
Our package also included the Spa which was a lovely experience for us, we used it the evening that we got there and also the next morning! It was all very clean, and we got a dressing gown, flipflops and water.

I felt very safe in the hotel and even the maid helped us around the hotel to tell us what was what around the area!

The food and drink for us was a little pricey but we got a bus into the town and grabbed a Pizza Express for dinner which was fine for us!

The hotel also had a free shuttle bus which took us to Sloanne Square station which was also very helpful for us the next day!

The hotel room was lovely! a huge tv including a telly in the bath! Tea and cofffee, wifi, VERY comfy bed and complimentary chocolate truffles for my partners birthday as well as a card signed by all the staff.

It was a lovely experience and id love to go again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear guest,

We are very thankful for your kind review . We look forward to seeing you back at the Hotel Verta by Rhombus.

Warm Regards,

Anna Asimakopoulou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had a 70th Birthday party for our Mum on Saturday 21st July at Hotel Verta.

Mum had an absolutely fabulous time, as did everyone who attended. They all commended us on choosing such a lovely hotel. From the greeting cocktails, to the last dance, the evening was perfect. All the staff were helpful, courteous and polite and nothing was too much effort. The only regret is that the night had to end... Honestly, it could not have been better. Once again, many thanks to all the staff, especially Tejas, the Asst Food & Beverage Manager who looked after us on the night. I would certainly recommend Hotel Verta to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaR_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed at the Verta again last weekend, which was my wife's birthday, for about the 4th time. In the past we've never had a river view so I emailed the hotel beforehand...

Instead of writing a review I've posted my email & Sara's response. The weekend turned into a sad one but we look forward to visiting again soon...

"Hi Sara,

Thank you.

I just wanted to drop you a personal email for making our stay last night special. Please feel free to use this for your 'PM' meetings etc.

We've stayed at the Verta several times & never had a river view so that was special plus we saw a helicopter land & go (it's a man thing...), plus the fruit. It's my wife's birthday tomorrow (23rd) so it was very special, plus we moved my eldest daughter into her new flat in Tooting Bec.

Can you also please pass on my thanks to the duty manager (lovely guy) on Saturday night plus both the concierge on Sat night & Sunday morning. The guy on Sunday morning who fetched the car is priceless & great fun too - please tell him "he's the man!" (he'll understand).

In today's environment Customer Service is not enough, it's now all about ' Customer Experience' & that was perfect.

Unfortunately we had to leave early this morning as my father's been very ill for sometime & I received a call at 7am saying that he'd died so we had to head off up North.

However, the experience at the Verta was great again & as our daughter is now local we'll be back soon.

Many thanks once again

Kind regards

David"

"Dear David,

I am so sorry to hear about your father and that you had to end your visit here early. My condolences to you and your family.

Thank you very much for the lovely feedback, I am delighted to hear that me and my team made your stay a memorable one.

I will absolutely pass on your comments to all staff and especially Kaiser (the Weekend Duty Manager) and the Concierge.
.
I certainly look forward to see you coming back soon. Me and my team will be more than happy to have you and your family as our guests again.

Kind Regards

Sara"

Go on & book it...it's a great experience

See you soon Verta

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northampton15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear David,

A massive thank you for your comments and I sincerely hope we get the chance to welcome you back very soon.

Please accept our condolences on the loss of your father.


Warm Regards,
Anna Asimakopoulou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

A lovely, modern hotel next to the London Heliport. Although not near a tube station, it is right on a bus route which takes you to Victoria Station as well as the hotel's private shuttle to Sloane Square. Clapham Junction station is a short walk away. Our room was extremely comfortable and clean and the bathroon very modern and well equipped. We overlooked the heliport, but no noise as all the rooms are soundproofed. All the staff we came in contact with were very friendly and most helpful. We only used the restaurant for breakfasts, which were also very good. I would have no hesitation in staying there again when in London.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for letting us know about your experience in our hotel. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Also, I would like to thank you for your comments regarding our members of staff.
I look forward to seeing you back in our hotel soon.

Warm Regards,
Anna Asimakopoulou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, great room, lovely spa albeit a bit small if you are used to the bigger chains. Clean & friendly reception team. Restaurant is just ok, decent fair. Slow service. Chef tries to over complicate dishes, advice keep it simple! If the restaurant improves id give it a 4 star rating for the price. Good location if you heading to Heathrow, very near Chelsea, Wandsworth, on the South bank. Not bad, will go back.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your comments on the hotel following your recent stay with us.
I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Warm Regards,
Anna Asimakopoulou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

The hotel was very good and on arrival we were upgraded to a room overlooking the River Thames. The room itself was clean and modern with a very comfortable bed and a fresh modern bathroom. The only downside is that it is not near a tube station and it is a little difficult to get to and from the main sights of London but there was a useful one way free shuttle service to Sloan Square. Having said that, there was an extremely attractive walk by the Thames that takes you alongside Battersea Park, across Chelsea Bridge and eventually to the Houses of Parliament.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear guest,

May I take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time posting your review on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I sincerely hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the very near future.

Warm Regards,
Anna Asimakopoulou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
K West Hotel & Spa
#262 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Dorsett Shepherds Bush, London
City of London
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Battersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Property: Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Address: Bridges Court Road | Battersea, London SW11 3BE, England (Formerly Hotel Verta)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Battersea 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south of the River Thames, adjacent to the London Heliport and within easy reach of Chelsea and Sloane Square; Hotel Verta provides the perfect destination when visiting the capital. From panoramic views of the River Thames, the intimate ambience and the very modern facilities, Hotel Verta has become London's most exclusive 'Hidden Gem'.The hotel's design, inspired by the Halcyon days of aviation, combines timeless elegance and the lobby is a striking double height atrium with a signature sweeping staircase up to the mezzanine level. All of the 70 bedrooms are fully furnished in a classic modern style, each with original artwork and the finest bespoke fittings.All day dining is available in the elegant Ambrosia located on the mezzanine level. A glamorous, fun and contemporary bistro/bar perfect for meeting friends and family for afternoon tea, informal meetings and after work drinks. As dusk falls, Champagne is the signature drink and guests can dine whilst admiring the views.The two level subterranean SPA Verta offering an innovative sanarium, heated loungers, steam room, sauna, gym and signature spa treatments, sets Hotel Verta apart from any London Hotel.Settings don't come much more inspiring than this, with the majority of our hotel meeting room facilities in London, featuring panoramic views of the River Thames and the London Heliport. Features include floor-to-ceiling windows and flexible inter-connecting options, when it comes to keeping you in touch; we have state-of-the-art audio-visual and telecommunications equipment, as well as wireless throughout. Hotel Verta offers 7 Meeting Rooms for between 12 to 200 delegates.Hotel Verta is the most wonderful, unique and romantic London hotel location in which to hold your wedding. For this very special occasion, we will enchant you with its addictive atmosphere and seductive environment, providing you and your guests with a magical wedding experience. The romance of Hotel Verta is beyond compare and has everything to make your wedding experience unique - superb cuisine, magnificent settings, meticulous and personalised service. The individuality of each couple is reflected in the smallest and most important details. Hotel Verta is licensed for civil wedding and civil partnership ceremonies with a dedicated Wedding Co-ordinator to help you organise the finer details of your special day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Battersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing