We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Ranked #222 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

At the price I paid I was pleasantly surprised. When you travel here it is apparent why you pay less than a standard west end 5 star hotel, it isn't exactly easy to get to by comparison. This is a great hotel with some amazing rooms for the money paid. The restaurant is good if not a touch over priced but still worth while. I will be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxm240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

So pleased you will be back. Most of our guests like you are very pleasantly surprised . A great hotel for excellent value for money , bigger rooms , perhaps not in the heart of the West End but easy access to the City . See you soon do let us know in advance so we can ensure you get a room with a fabulous Thames view.

Beverly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We paid for a river view room and we certainly got a good view of the river but also of the London Heliport...as we approached we saw and heard a very noisy helicopter take off and were a bit anxious that this would prove to be disturbing however excellent double glazing meant you had the view without the noise.
Check in was smooth and professional. The room was as described with some very high tech features including the lighting (which took a little while to work out) and the air conditioning. The room was very clean and was serviced during out two night stay.The mini-bar was well stocked although pricey so we did not use. Room service menu was also pricey but similarly priced to other hotels we have stayed in. The bed was very comfortable with a memory foam pillow which was brilliant. The air conditioning was very cool, perhaps a little too cool during the night but we could not quite work out how to adjust it! (Too old for the gadgets!). The shower was very good although one criticism would be that the door opening was very close to the toilet. The room itself was very spacious.
Breakfast was fabulous, plenty of choice. You could really fill up ready for a day out in London. We did not eat an evening meal at the hotel so cannot comment on the quality. The staff were very helpful and pleasant.
We did not use the Spa but this is free to guests and perhaps if we did not have such a busy schedule we might have done so.
Battersea is an area that is clearly being developed and is probably not a first choice area if you are taking a trip into London however it is well serviced with buses. You can get the 170 a short walk away from the hotel to get to Victoria and pick up the tube or take 170 towards Roehampton / Clapham Junction and get the 87 to Trafalgar Square or the 77 to Waterloo (near to the eye).
I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family

Room Tip: Go for a river view room...a bit more expensive but better than looking at the building work going o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you so much for your full review and for the tip to readers on reserving a room with a view - next time you should try the rooms on the 14th floor with massive terraces

We think you should be our guests travel guide , we could not have said it better ourselves Hopefully we will see you again vey soon

Beverly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great no Excellent Service - couldn't be more accommodating. Rooms very nice, massive beds!
Swimming pool not for under 16s which was a shame as our 8 year old son was looking forward to this element of the stay. Other than this excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Nigel
We are so pleased we made your family so welcome when staying with us, its lovely to have families staying and young people seem to really enjoy the location and the space on the riverbank
What a shame about your son wanting to swim! We don’t actually have a pool, we do have a Spa with a thermal suite which is pretty amazing and we hope your wife at least got the opportunity to relax and enjoy the Spa
Hope to welcome you back again.

Beverly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night after seeing a band in London. We had a river view room which also had a great view of the heliport. We were greeted at reception by very friendly staff who seemed as if they genuinely wanted to chat and left our bags when we went for lunch. When we went back to check in our bags were in our room. The room was fairly small but it was perfect for us. The bed was huge, the bathroom was incredible! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, watching the helicopters take off and land! We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BecJ92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Bec
Thank you for such a lovely review, its so appreciated .We totally focus on looking after our guests and as we are a relatively small boutique style hotel we can do this and we love doing it.
I agree the river rooms are sensational , but every guest now the weather is so lovely can sit on the Terrace on the mezzanine level relax and enjoy the helicopter movements , and yes we still find it addictive viewing.

Beverly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

From the moment we arrived at the hotel to the moment we left, the hotel was beyond anything we had expected. When we arrived at the hotel I informed the staff that I didn't particularly like lifts, and it was no problem to them at all, they reassured me that I could use the stairs and to call them if I needed to come up or down. When finding out the only way to the spa was in the lift, the man saw I was not comfortable and went out of his way to make sure we could use the spa and walked us round. When I finally used the lift the staff were so encouraging and genuinely happy that I had used it, it was really heartwarming. Our room was beyond 5 star, with stunning views and amenities. The hotel in general was beautiful, with a lovely breakfast and restaurant. although the hotel was slightly further out from central london than most would want, we found that we would rather be further out in such an amazing hotel than further in a bad hotel. we would like to thank the staff and the hotel for making our weekend break so perfect.

Room Tip: Don't listen to the negative reviews because this hotel is completely faultless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rclarke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Clarke,
We are having a run of lovely reviews and thank you so much for yours. As we are a small hotel we hope we can offer really personal service to everyone and get some time with our guests so we can make their stay special.
The rooms are amazing and yes a slight compromise on location for a fabulous room at a sensible London price. The location though is not actually too much of a compromise you just need to know how to use the transport links and of course our free shuttle service to Clapham Junction and Sloane Square.
We hope you will be back very soon

Beverly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary and had an absolutely brilliant time. I highly recommend staying in one of the top floor rooms with balconies. We had room service (great food) and it was like private dining with the best view in London! Special thanks to Eleanora for personally making our anniversary so special.

We also took an helicopter flight along the Thames from the heliport, located right beside the hotel. A fun addition to a stay at the lovely Hotel Verta!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSnorkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

The helicopters are great fun to watch aren’t they – we never tire of them lucky you having the experience flight.
Delighted you had a special celebration weekend, and loved the views .In the summer the rooms on the river terrace floor really do come into their own. Next time ask for what we call our Royal Suite it has the biggest balcony ever with 180 degree views of London
Its used in loads of movies and has to be one of London’s most requested hotel movie sets

Beverly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Everything about the hotel is lovely, from the staff to the breakfasts, the rooms and the spa. Little disappointed as I was made to think from the website and other reviews that there was a Chinese restraunt however it was either badly advertised or closed. The hotel is a little out of the way but it is worth a visit.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Phoebelomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verta1, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Battersea, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Pheobe,

Thank you for a lovely review – we are getting so many we really appreciate them
The complimentary comments about the staff are the most important to us, we are a great team and looking after our guests is so important to us and making each guests stay as special as we can.
I hope you enjoyed the Spa and had the opportunity to enjoy a spa treatment as well as using the Thermal Suite
Red Pocket our Chinese Restaurant has been closed, we just have the European Restaurant now which I hope you enjoyed .
Once again thank you

Beverly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#171 of 1,076 in London
2,417 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Battersea
Travelodge London Battersea
#682 of 1,076 in London
619 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Clapham Junction Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Battersea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Battersea

Address: Bridges Court Road | Battersea, London SW11 3BE, England (Formerly Hotel Verta)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £93 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Battersea 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south of the River Thames, adjacent to the London Heliport and within easy reach of Chelsea and Sloane Square; Hotel Verta provides the perfect destination when visiting the capital. From panoramic views of the River Thames, the intimate ambience and the very modern facilities, Hotel Verta has become London's most exclusive 'Hidden Gem'.The hotel's design, inspired by the Halcyon days of aviation, combines timeless elegance and the lobby is a striking double height atrium with a signature sweeping staircase up to the mezzanine level. All of the 70 bedrooms are fully furnished in a classic modern style, each with original artwork and the finest bespoke fittings.All day dining is available in the elegant Ambrosia located on the mezzanine level. A glamorous, fun and contemporary bistro/bar perfect for meeting friends and family for afternoon tea, informal meetings and after work drinks. As dusk falls, Champagne is the signature drink and guests can dine whilst admiring the views.The two level subterranean SPA Verta offering an innovative sanarium, heated loungers, steam room, sauna, gym and signature spa treatments, sets Hotel Verta apart from any London Hotel.Settings don't come much more inspiring than this, with the majority of our hotel meeting room facilities in London, featuring panoramic views of the River Thames and the London Heliport. Features include floor-to-ceiling windows and flexible inter-connecting options, when it comes to keeping you in touch; we have state-of-the-art audio-visual and telecommunications equipment, as well as wireless throughout. Hotel Verta offers 7 Meeting Rooms for between 12 to 200 delegates.Hotel Verta is the most wonderful, unique and romantic London hotel location in which to hold your wedding. For this very special occasion, we will enchant you with its addictive atmosphere and seductive environment, providing you and your guests with a magical wedding experience. The romance of Hotel Verta is beyond compare and has everything to make your wedding experience unique - superb cuisine, magnificent settings, meticulous and personalised service. The individuality of each couple is reflected in the smallest and most important details. Hotel Verta is licensed for civil wedding and civil partnership ceremonies with a dedicated Wedding Co-ordinator to help you organise the finer details of your special day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Battersea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing