We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the food!”
Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
Ranked #2,993 of 25,458 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: City of London
Transit: Underground: Chancery Lane
Description: If you don't believe in fairytales, perhaps a visit to The White Swan will change your mind. Tom and Ed Martin, the brothers who run the Swan's umbrella company ETM Group, have applied their magic to transform the former Mucky Duck into a charismatic gastropub. The groundfloor houses a beautifully restored pub packed with traditional features and serving classic pub favourites. Above this is a mezzanine area perfect for after work drinks or a casual drinks party. The first floor dining room meanwhile is an oak-floored, mirrored ceiling restaurant serving tasty British food from the best suppliers and carefully selected produce. The wine menu has been carefully selected from the world's finest vineyards but you are never too far away from a real Ale from the downstairs pub.
Reviewed 26 February 2018

The food is amazing! And they had a gorgeous vegan option, vegan mince and turnips. Very tasty and nice to have a change from the same old options. Cannot recommend enough!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hyporia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaETM, Guest Relations Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hi Hyporia

So pleased to hear you've had an amazing time with us! Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards
Guest relations team
feedback@etmgroup.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

Have been to the white swan a couple of times over the years but not since they recently renovated. Booked a great offer of 50% off food from the a la carte menu which seemed a steal.
Ordered a delicious bottle of red and settled in after ordering the food. Sadly it took an hour for our starters to arrive which is never a good thing. There was a large noisy table next to us, maybe that was taking up all the kitchen capacity but to wait that long for starters without explanation isnt really acceptable. But the food once arrived is really very top notch. Every dish was greeted with smacked lips and licked fingers! Such a let down though on the big delay, but to their credit they comp’d the wine which was an excellent touch. Perhaps it’s a teething issue as I can’t recommend enough based on the quality of food and friendliness of the staff.

Thank cardinalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaETM, Guest Relations Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Hi cardinalg

Thanks for the great feedback, but my apologies for the delay in the starters but glad it was rectified by the complimentary wine. We always try our best to ensure each occasion you choose us that we exceed expectations. Your comments will be passed on to our team who are always looking to make sure we provide exception quality of produce and excellence of service. Please do contact me directly if we can do anything more for you.

Kind regards
Guest relations team
feedback@etmgroup.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Originally just was going to pop in for a few drinks. Saw the menu and fortunately got a table upstairs. Had to have toad-in-the-hole! Ages since I had that. Some old fashioned traditional London food on the menu. Service was good. Really enjoyable.

Thank daveinkent44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaETM, Guest Relations Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear daveinkent44,

Thank you for taking the time to review your evening at The White Swan.
I am delighted to hear you had such a lovely time and your feedback has been passed on the team.
We hope to have you back at our venue in the near future.

Kind regards
Guest relations team
feedback@etmgroup.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

I found this through the Gourmet Society and was disappointed to hear that they will soon not be participating as this was a great find.
We waited in the bar for members of our party to arrive. The service was coutreous, quick and efficient. The staff (who were all smartly dressed) were really on the ball noticing as soon as a new customer was waiting. They had a wide variety of Gin's as well as cocktails. When we had all arrived we went up to the restaurant. The menu was interesting and our starters came promptly and were delicious. Two of us had the fish which was superb. The steak ordered was not available and an alternative was suggested but unfortunately proved to be very disappointing. There was no fuss when this was raised with the staff and an alternative meal was offered and accepted and was perfect and promptly served.There was a good choice of wines in the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank issy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaETM, Guest Relations Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Dear Issy m,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to send such lovely comments and delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at The White Swan. We look forward to you returning for another great experience.

Kind regards,

Guest relations team
feedback@etmgroup.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

This place really buzzes. The ground floor is basically a pub, similar on the mezzanine level and on to a restaurant which is full a la carte of a mainly British theme and ranges from Toad in the Hole and Faggots to Oysters and Lobster. This should suit all tastes. Some of us went for Toad in the Hole which was memorable (if Toad in the Hole can be that way) and another for Fish & Chips which got a vote of appreciation.
A good Wine List and - as with the choices of food - something which ought to suit most folk. Staff were welcoming and efficient.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oyster45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaETM, Guest Relations Manager at The White Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to send such lovely comment and delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at the White Swan. We look forward to you returning for another great experience
Kind regards
Guest Relations team
feedback@etmgroup.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Swan also viewed

 

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing