We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“very good flat with perfect landlord”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
71 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
London, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Calderon7
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Scale of 1-10 we give it a 5.”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed a total of 10 nights for just the first stop of a long vacation.

Pros:
Flat is a nice location. Close to Tube and Bus stop. It was wonderful having a flat over the high prices of a hotel and we used the kitchen at least twice a day to save on meal cost. The owner was very nice. We felt safe here because the block is gated. You need to key to get into the gated block and to get into the building your flat is in.. and the flat is on the 3rd floor and down the hall a bit so we felt comfortable with the safety. The flat is small but it was perfect size for two of us and we only were mainly there to sleep and eat a meal or two. Bathroom was fine it had what you needed though it was very narrow in the shower. If you're staying for a 2-3 days it works.

Cons:
1. Had a hard time reaching the owner when we arrived. The number given to us by tripadvisor in our contract didn't work. We tried buzzing in as instructed by the owner but it said "no one was available in apt 5". After being outside in the cold and rain for 20min we finally found another number that but at the bottom of an email from the owner (our US phones don't work internationally) but we happened to have my work international phone to make the call. The owner answered and came down to meet us. So make sure you have a working phone and the correct number to call when you arrive because the call system out front didn't work for us.
2. Since we were on such a long vacation we purposely chose a flat that had a washer and dryer so we could wash clothes before our next stop. Unfortunately when we arrived at the flat we were told the dryer wasn't working (no drying rack was in the flat either). This of course became a big problem for us. Especially (for instance) when we were only given 1 towel each for 10 nights with no way to wash and dry them quickly.
3. During the day the noise level wasn't bad but at night it was very loud. The strange thing was the bedroom windows seemed to allow much more noise in then the living/dining room windows did. This became a problem on several nights hearing peoples conversations (word for word) on the street three floors below us. There was a fan in the room and we had to turn it on every night just to help drown out the noise. The neighbor in number 4 liked to play very loud music and sometimes started at 7am even on a Saturday.
4. The bed is in need of a face lift. The mattress was terrible. The bed is up against a wall so the side that you would get out of is so warn down we felt like we were sleeping at an angle every night. The frame creaks terribly and we thought for sure it would break on us at any moment. Needless to say after our second night there we were taking pain pills for back pain every morning. Also the bedding seems so warn out and questionable. It just needs to be changed, all of it.
5. The couch looks nice at a distance but as soon as we sat down we could feel the frame in it. The seems are coming apart too. After such a long day of walking around the city it was not relaxing to come back and sit on that's for sure.
6. Also the trip the separates the wood floor in the living space from the kitchen flooring was sharp and caught on our slippers many times ripping holes in them.
7. Again at first glance the place seems nice but after looking around and getting comfortable it really needs some de-cluttering, some fresher items, even the curtains are all sun damaged and old/dusty looking.
8. Things kitchen wise had food items stuck to them and water stains. We washed everything before we used it.
9. There were old food items and empty container left in the cabinets. It just needed to be cleaned out.

Would be stay here again? If some things were changed/updated, then yes. Most of our complaints are things that can be fixed. If the place stays as is, then No. We would definitely pay more for a better mattress and couch, hands down. The best thing about the place is the location in zone 1 and being close to the Tube and Bus is great. Plus the gated safety. Based on those things we give it a 5 out of 10.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mattress, Couch, Noise level
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2014
Thanks for your comments. I would like to respond to some of these points you made.

First apologies about the tumble drier. It had broken down, but has now been replaced. Also the intercom system in the building wasn't working that week unfortunately. I am glad at least that you say you would still stay again if certain things were more to your satisfaction.

I do always give a contact numbers by email a few days in advance of guests arriving and explain how to meet. It would, however, be the guests' responsibility to make a note of the contact arrangements in the email. To avoid international roaming charges, phone booths would always a sensible option.

Regarding the bed, the mattress is a high quality orthopedic one and most other guests have commented on its comfort. As you were doing a lot of walking around London like you say, then you should consider all that walking as the likely cause of your back pains.

I do aim to make my apartment a 'home away from home' for guests... but it is still a home in (central) London and not a retreat in the Himalayas. Part of city life is that even a quiet safe street won't be a silent one all the time and, without competing traffic noise etc, loud conversations can be heard. Ears plugs would be an option for people not used to city life.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“very good flat with perfect landlord”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this flat for a week at the beginning of September 2013. The flat is large enough for two, clean, with the extras of a computer and printer. The kitchen is well equipped, it even has a hand blender, a liquidiser and paper shredder! During our stay the store cupboard had a very good supply of items ready to help with our cooking (salt&pepper;, oil, tea, coffee, sugar, lots of spices, soy sauce, etcetera).
It is on the third floor, with a lift.
The location towards transport is excellent: the aldgate East tube (with two lines: Hammersmith & City and the District Line, and only one stop from Tower Hill and Liverpool Street) is about one (1!) minute away, as well as bus 15, 25, 67, 115, 135, 205 (going to Paddington via St. Pancras) and 254.
Brick Lane with its renowned restaurants and its Sunday market is just a stone's throw away.
There are plenty of shops, as well as a Tesco Metro and Tesco Express and Bangla City (a large Bangladeshi supermarket) nearby.
As for the owner, Carlos is the friendliest guy you'll ever come across, very helpful and trustworthy.
We can definitely recommend this place!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great location, good price.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed for one week in July and found the location to be great, short walk to East aldgate train station, supermarkets, cafes, restaurants all just around the corner. There is good security at the apartment with an electric gate and at no time did we feel unsafe in the neighbourhood, which in fact is culturally very diverse and had some great Bangladeshi and Indian restaurants nearby. It was great to have the extra space offered by the apartment with a comfortable bed, relaxing lounge room, TV, washing machine dryer and very well equipped kitchen should you be in the mood to cook. Much better value than a hotel room! Carlos was very helpful, meeting us at the apartment and going over everything we might need to know. It was a bit of a heat wave by British standards (over 30 degrees) so Carlos also provided fans so that it was easy to ventilate the rooms of an evening. We did not find it that noisy at all compared to most big cities, and you are not on a main street so there's no traffic noise at night. For the convenience and the price I would recommend it to anyone for a a week in London.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2013
Your review very much appreciated guys. Many many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennylope...
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An ideal base for a London holiday, well appointed and welcoming.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Carlos, the owner of the flat, was charming, welcoming and very helpful, a delightful host. His apartment is small but has everything that is needed for a comfortable stay. It is in a gated block, so we felt completely secure, and the other residents were friendly and helpful. It's close proximity to Aldgate East tube was excellent, and there are food shops and many restaurants very nearby. I would not hesitate to book Carlos' apartment any time I wanted a base in London.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped, convenient location, secure, the owner's helpfulness.
Liked least: Windows not opening wider, so rather warm in heatwave, though fans were provided.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Amazing”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The flat is amazing and so is the location! The host is very amicable and helpful. Definitely would stay there again. Highly recommend. Thanks

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Jun 2013
Thank you, Michael and Judy, for your lovely review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

It was a real pleasure having you as my guests and thank you for the care you took of my apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing