We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wow" - Northern Belle trip to the Lake District”

Belmond Northern Belle
Ranked #40 of 716 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Evoking the opulent "Belles" of the 1930s, this luxurious yet intimate train explores Britain's most beautiful countryside. The superb on-board cuisine is created using locally sourced specialities, all paired with fine wines and Champagnes. The wide variety of day trips includes visits to destinations such as Edinburgh, Bath and the Lake District, and events including Ladies' Day at Ascot and the Chelsea Flower Show. Departures from more than 65 stations around the UK.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had a fantastic day on Friday 30th May travelling from Stafford to the Lake District on the Northern Belle. Everything was perfect; from the welcome at Stafford Station, to the first class service on the train, and an afternoon at Lake Windermere. We were treated like "royalty" for the day and Emma, Tom and Laura in Belvoir carriage looked after us impeccably. The food and wine were fabulous and we shall have the memories of this wonderful day for a long time to come. Now to save up to travel from Paris to Istanbul on the European Orient Express (well in a few years and a lottery win).

Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette_Snape, General Manager at Belmond Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your journey with us. The Lake District is a beautiful part of the country and one of our most popular destinations. If a day isn't quite enough we also do a weekend break to Windermere in August.

All the team pass on their thanks for your kind comments. It really does mean a lot to know that their service was enjoyed and appreciated.

We do hope you may join us again in the future and fingers crossed your numbers come up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 386 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

A Trip to the Yorkshire Dales for my Wife and I as a 60th Birthday treat for myself.
The whole experience is excellent from start to finish. Welcomed at the station and guided to the platform for the arrival of the train. Bang on time. Welcomed by Sandra one of the Train Managers who immediately offered to take our photo boarding and then introducing us to the staff on our carriage. We were looked after by the Team headed up by Chris and Dominic who are a credit to the company and who work tirelessly to ensure that your day is special. Brunch with Champagne was exceptional. Arrived in Yorkshire and was once again welcomed and directed to our guide the day. A very informative day including a visit to the Wensleydale Cheese factory. Arrived back to the station for the train journey home. Once again welcomed back with a smile and another glass of champagne. Dinner was amazing and served expertly and promptly.
All in all an excellent day. I know I have mentioned a few staff by name but I should not forget that it must take an excellent team behind the scenes to make the day memorable. So thanks to them also.
An experience I will not forget and an opportunity to see Customer Service at its very best.
Well done to you all

Thank MrCool1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette_Snape, General Manager at Belmond Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Many belated birthday wishes - and what fantastic taste in gifts you have!

It is always an absolue delight when guests choose to celebrate special occasions onboard the train and doubly delightful to read that they enjoyed their journey with us.

This was our first trip to the beautifuk Yorkshire Dales so it was wonderful to learn that it was enjoyed. The cheese factory and museum are fantastic - i do hope you had plenty of time in the tasting room!

All the team members mentioned along with the rest of the team pass on their thanks and best wishes. We do hope we can welcome you back aboard soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This day trip on the Venice Simplon Orient Express was a real once-in-a-lifetime experience. We joined the train at Preston to take advantage of the later start and enjoyed the red carpet treatment both literally and figuratively.

We paid the extra for a 2 person table so that we both had window seats, as otherwise you are placed at a table for 4, one in the window and one in the aisle. The standard of service was outstanding and the food superb. I wasn't sure if being vegetarian I might feel a little second-class but this was anything but the case [although we had notified them of this when booking].

I would definitely book during the longer hours of daylight as the scenery through the Borders is spectacular and you really get the full effect at this time of year.

We took the option to visit the Royal Yacht Britannia in Leith harbour during the afternoon and really enjoyed it. Other travellers chose the Castle & Holyrood Palace option and reported that good as both destinations are, there is insufficient time to see both attractions without feeling very rushed.

We were able to leave luggage on the train during the trip off the train which was a great help as we had overnight bags with us.

This is not a cheap day out, but I would suggest it's worth every penny and recommend it highly.

1  Thank VimesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My daugther and I had the most amazing experience on the Northern Bell Preston to Edinburgh sight seeing tour which involved Edinburgh Castle and Hollyrood Palace on Saturday 31st May 2014, (5OTH Birthday treat for me), What a delightful way to travel, service was impeccable, food was mouth watering, three course breakfast served with a bellini, return journey canapes, champagne, bottle of wine, a four course meal, finishing off with truffles and tea/coffee daughter was delighted that they catered for her gluten/dairy/vegetrian requirements.

The only negative comment we had, and so did other travellers who viewed the same, is that we felt rushed in the sight seeing, to be fair, having to only spend just over an hour at Edinburgh Castle and then rushing to Hollyrood Palace, was disappointing, did not see much, perhaps you should really consider offering either of the attractions as individual tours rather than putting them together, to give you more time to savour the moment. Tour guides were very good at what they do.

Also was surprised at the presentation of the two representatives who were at the station booking in guests, could have looked at lot smarter, as they say presentation, presentation!

Fully recommend an experience on the Northern Belle, will be looking at future trips......

Thank mermaid85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette_Snape, General Manager at Belmond Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and helps us to improve our offering.

It is always a delight to read that our guests have enjoyed their time with us and the entire team were pleased to read that both yourself and your daughter enjoyed your day. Our chefs take great pride in their work and are always happy to cater for any special dietary requirements when advise in advance.

Whilst i am pleased that you enjoyed your time in Scotlands capital i am sorry that you felt that the offboard excursions were rushed. We will review out itineries in light of your comments. We are also in the process of providing uniforms to our blue badge guides across the country which should ensure a more consitent and professional appearance.

Thank you very much for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion aboard the Belmond Northern Belle and we do hope you will join us again in the future.

In the meantime a very happy belated birthday and best wishes from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I travelled from Chester on the Northern Belle to the Chelsea Flower Show on the 20th May. Words seem inadequate to explain how wonderful the whole Northern Belle experience is. We knew the sheer comfort was to be expected, but what we were star-struck by was the wonderfully pleasant, eager to please, fully attentive staff and how on earth do those amazing chefs create such fabulous culinary delights from those small kitchens? We were accommodated in the Chatsworth Carriage, our Stewards, Paul and Kirsty, fantastic. James and Sandra the train managers must be enormously proud of their organisation and team. How do you sum up the whole experience? For a day we were millionaires, from a bygone era - priceless! Now saving up for the Orient Express to Venice!

1  Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette_Snape, General Manager at Belmond Northern Belle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you very much for all your lovely comments. It really does mean an awful lot to our team to read that guests have enjoyed their time with us and appreciate the service.

The stewards in your carriage along with our chefs that prepare amazing food from the tiniest of kitchens all pass on their thanks.

I can highly recommend a journey aboard our sister train the Venice Simplon Orient-Express so should you need any further information please get in touch.

We do hope we may have the pleasure of your company again soon.

In the meantime - best wishes from all at the Belmond Northern Belle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belmond Northern Belle also viewed

 

Been to Belmond Northern Belle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing