We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Day in a Parallel Universe!”

Belmond Northern Belle
Ranked #42 of 679 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Evoking the opulent "Belles" of the 1930s, this luxurious yet intimate train explores Britain's most beautiful countryside. The superb on-board cuisine is created using locally sourced specialities, all paired with fine wines and Champagnes. The wide variety of day trips includes visits to destinations such as Edinburgh, Bath and the Lake District, and events including Ladies' Day at Ascot and the Chelsea Flower Show. Departures from more than 65 stations around the UK.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Day in a Parallel Universe!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

May I publicly thank all the staff of the Northern Belle (particularly Chris and stewards on 'Alnwick') for making our first journey and experience onboard so pleasurable and memorable. Service, food, and sparkling 'refreshments' during our return day visit to Bath were first class! Thank you Maddy for organising. If you're thinking about a trip, stop thinking and do it, a tremendous experience, we'll be back, Edinburgh tattoo next year for us!
Thank you!
Ian and Julie.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette_Snape, General Manager at Belmond Northern Belle, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to read how much our guests have enjoyed their time aboard. We do hope it's the first of many journeys with us.
Until next time best wishes from all the team at the Belmond Northern Belle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    40
    8
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrific Train.....Amazing Ascot !!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Wow !
My lovely hubby surprised me for my 60th Birthday with a trip on this fab train to Ladies Day at Ascot,
As previously stated in reviews,the Train was bang on time, we were greeted at the allocated point on Victoria station Manchester and alighted via the special carpet to our carriage!
The staff were fabulous and dressed very smartly. Nothing was too much trouble....including the storage of the massive hat box!
All was very relaxing with comfortable seating and velvet cushions, crystal glassware and Orient express china was neatly placed, and lovingly and respectfully handled by the staff. Brunch with smoked salmon ,crab and garnished with caviar was beautifully served with Bellini cocktails.
The journey was smooth and felt leisurely.....with other passengers beautifully dressed in their finest for Ladies Day at Ascot. . Everything was highly organised, with neat journals and ticket envelopes delivered by hand to our seats. Relevant information was given for our entry to the racecourse, and we alighted in excited mood.
The walk from the station was uphill and high heels were not too suitable....but the walk was worth it, as a great day was had by all !
On our return to the station we waited for the Northern Belle to come into the station and were immediately shown to the special platform and again greeted by smart pleasant uniformed staff. for our return journey. Champagne was served (and a gift bottle given to us also)....we were served a beautiful dinner with wine, which was offered at a nice relaxed pace, allowing us time in between courses to chat and survey the passing landscape. We again arrived back at our 'home' destination bang on time! Perfect ! Hooray!! for a piece of elegance and history, wrapped up in 'A Day to Remember' . Thanks to all involved in the arrangements.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette_Snape, General Manager at Belmond Northern Belle, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share details of your day. It is always a delight and an honour when guests choose to celebrate special occasions aboard our train. Ascot is one of our sporting highlights and it was lovely to read that you enjoyed your day at the Races.
Wishing you a very happy and healthy 60th year - we hope you may join us again soon.

Best wishes and thanks from all the Northern Belle Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalyan, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“excellent journey!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

the journey from stoke to york was just amazing!!!!!!!!!!liked the service offered by the staff which was very polite and courteous. the food served was also very delicious!!!!!!!!!it was indeed memorable day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mpundalik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette_Snape, General Manager at Belmond Northern Belle, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for posting to this forum. It was great to read you enjoyed your time aboard the Belmond Northern Belle. All the team pass on their best wishes and we hope you may join us for another "excellent journey" in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I was part of the team on the When you wish upon a star trip on June 15th. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, it was a truly brilliant journey both ways up to Alnwick Castle. I am lucky enough to be invited along with another trip soon and I am so looking forward to it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette_Snape, General Manager at Belmond Northern Belle, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Firstly may i say what an amazing team Wish has. We love working with you and we all felt very honoured to be involved in such a special day. The private charter to Alnwick castle was a real highlight.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best wishes from all at The Northern Belle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quality, class and style”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our second trip on the Northern Belle, almost a year to the day to our first trip. This fell on the actual day of my partner's birthday and the personalised menu had 'happy birthday' written to him. When the other passengers in the carriage found out that he was celebrating his birthday they all sang 'happy birthday.' A wonderful, personal touch which made our day extra special. The quality of food and service from the staff was second to none. We can't wait for our next trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsplank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette_Snape, General Manager at Belmond Northern Belle, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to travel with us again - it is always nice to see guests return time after time. All the team are delighted that your partner enjoyed his birthday aboard the Belmond Northern Belle, please pass on many happy returns from me.

We do hope we may have the pleasure of your company again the near future. In the meantime,

Many thanks and best wishes,

The Northern Belle Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belmond Northern Belle also viewed

 

Been to Belmond Northern Belle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing