We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely place to stay - I'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Alma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alma Hotel
Ranked #16 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a lovely place to stay - I'll be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

I'd visited the Alma before when there was just the bar and restaurant and had been really impressed with it then so decided that when we came to London this time we'd give the hotel a whirl. Wow! What a difference. We had a ground-floor room which was beautifully decorated - the bathroom was huge. There's obviously been a lot of thought gone in the attention to detail. I love the new-style restaurant. The food, as ever, was brilliant - and I loved the breakfast pots. The Alma is in an ideal location as it's right next to the train station .It's so easy to get into the centre of London or go the other way towards Richmond. The buses are great too.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenKing777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    80
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
57
129
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

I stayed at the Alma for 2 nights while the rugby was on with my husband and young son, we loved the atmosphere and liked the clear divide between dining restaurant and bar as we were able to watch the game while dining!! It wasn't loud and full of men!! and it was so friendly with expert staff who really knew how to look after you. The rooms are really cool and we had a big bathroom!! The bed was so comfy. Very relaxing and we found we wanted to spend time around the area as its on a trendy street with nice outside cafe's if you want a change of scenery. The cooked English breakfast was gorgeous and the grenola with yoghurt and fruit was a highlight!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruthomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Due to the fact this is also a busy pub we were kept awake until late into the night by drinkers on the street outside. The pub doesn't shut til 12 which means people on the street smoking and drinking until at least 1am - lots of drunken shouting both nights we stayed. its a shame because its a nice hotel with great rooms. to make it worse, there was also refuse collection at 6.30am!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ITFC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

The Alma is perfect. My wife and I were the very first guests to stay in the newly built hotel. The Alma itself is an excellent Youngs pub wit a first class restaurant attached. Clearly the idea of acquiring the buildings nearby and converting them into 23 bedrooms was a good. On arrival the manager, Nicky could not have been more helpful. Our room was large and wonderfully appointed. Superb tea and coffee were available in the rooms as standard. The beds were large and comfortable. Having stayed at some of Londons better boutique hotels I was pleasantly suprised to find myself saying hat this was the best of all. Room service was from the restaurant menu, meaning that you can enjoy a top quality meal in the comfort of your room! The Alma is close to Wandsworth Town train station so you can be in central London in 10 minutes. Excellent value thrown in as well makes this a fantastic ne hotel! Go now!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordandLadyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 573 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#12 of 573 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Belgravia
The Lord Milner
The Lord Milner
#13 of 573 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
The Cleveland
#18 of 573 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alma Hotel

Property: The Alma Hotel
Address: 499 Old York Road | Wandsworth, London SW18 1TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing