We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very, very good hotel”
Review of The Alma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alma Hotel
Ranked #30 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with friends in room 15/16. A really good choice, this is a very well run, smartly furnished hotel with high levels of customer service from the excellent staff. The rooms are fitted out to a high standard, its the first time I have had a cafetiere and ground coffee available in the room. Lovely big bathroom, quality toiletries and everything spotlessly clean.

I used to produce hotel reports professionally for DeVere and the like but the Alma is up a level from them.

We didn't use the well stocked mini bar (ridiculous prices) or the restaurant (very busy) apart from breakfast which was very good and well served.

My only gripe (and its a me thing, wont bother most people) was the poor drinks range in the bar.
Youngs beers (now brewed in a factory in Bedford) are now very dull and bland so not for me, but I don't mind a proper German/Czech lager even in bottle but nothing is available. As for a nice malt whisky to end the night? Forget it, just a couple of mainstream offerings. We chose to drink elsewhere so revenue lost for the hotel.

The hotel is located directly opposite Wandsworth Town mainline rail station so easy access by train to Waterloo or Victoria in around 15 mins., yet the area is quiet and relaxed with all local amenities (cashpoint, newspapers etc) within yards or the hotel.

An all round very good place to stay - made special by the staff.

Room Tip: We asked for quiet rooms and got 15 and 16 facing a quiet side street.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aledrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for The Alma Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed here with a colleague for work. I have previously only drunk in the pub and had an excellent meal. The room was very good, clean, plenty of space, good size walk in shower room. The bed was comfortable and there was no noise from the nearby railway station, nor the bar downstairs. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Our stay was spoilt slightly by the power cut that closed the pub, as we had arranged to meet up with some other colleagues. But not the Alma's fault. The breakfast was good and plenty of choice. Some of the mini bar prices were a bit on the steep side - but you don't have to use that anyway.

Room Tip: We had room 18 which is on the back of the pub away from the road, whether rooms on this side are qu...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at The Alma recently on business, the room and bathroom were a good size, very clean & the bed was very comfortable. The bar restaurant is great with really good food. However, the real plus point is the staff who are all so helpful, efficient and friendly. A special mention to Ralph who was on breakfast and dinner, he was very attentive and also the young Irish lady who served us in the restaurant on one night and really all the staff were so hospitable and professional. Only negative for me was that we had the disabled room and the bathroom is a wet room which is always a pain if you need to go back to in there after showering, as the floor is soaking wet. However, this didn't spoil a fab stay in a fab hotel. You have got it just right, congratulations to the Manager and all the team at The Alma.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FranceSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

met the manager Sean and he was very friendly indeed .
rooms ,restaurant and bar are all very well run.
room was perfect with a nice bed and great bathroom....just be careful as they do not serve residents a drink after 12pm .
barbers and train station next door which is handy

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked the Alma online at the suggestion of a friend. Got to the hotel after a day's riding in the rain. We were warmly greated at the door, shown to our room and then guided to a great evening's meal. The room was spotless and very cozy. All staff were very courtious from start to finish and pricing was very fair. The in house pub was great also. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maurice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. Gorgeous, comfortable room with great service from reception. Facilities were thoughtful and perfect for what a guest needed, for an overnight stay. Shame I only stayed for one evening.
Restaurant was also a delight. Service was attentive but not overly done. It is so refreshing to encounter 'Hospitality', as nowadays, it's hard to find.
First class and is highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
4  Thank Sheridan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Went for family meal. Beef was slightly rarer than I would normally like but good thick slices. Vegetables served separately for sharing but in small portion. staff got more with no fuss. Vegetables hadn't even been cooked enough to be classed as al dente. Roast potatoes were not as good as menu made them sound. They tasted like that they had been kept wam in fat and then shown the grill. Yorkshire pudding was nice, shame it hadn't risen. Sticky toffee was good, but after 1st mouthful, you could feel your teeth rotting

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

All in all food was ok for a pub, but sold at restaurant price

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Vici_JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Brewers Inn
Brewers Inn
#510 of 1,072 in London
147 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulse Hill Hotel
#14 of 563 in London
271 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 563 in London
672 reviews
Kandara Guest House
#25 of 563 in London
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alma Hotel

Address: 499 Old York Road | Wandsworth, London SW18 1TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £105 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing