We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alma Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$410
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
London House Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Rosewood London(London)
US$557
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
235
87
13
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
87
13
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswandsworth towntrain stationlively pubgarden roombig bathroomfresh milkappointed roomsgreat showergreat roombreakfast was excellentfull englishsmall hotelbusiness tripconvenient locationwaterlootwickenhamrail
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Sunday lunch was excellent!!
Environment and staff F.A.B.
Quality and taste of food the best! Thanks "chef"
One not to be missed if you want a great Sunday !
Busy place so book to be sure if a place or drop in and they will make you feel very welcome!
Hearty open fire completes the homely feel, you will not want to leave and when you do, it won't be long before you are back for more.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We chose the Alma for our wedding venue as it was one of very few decent pubs in London that offered a full service – ceremony (they are licensed), full wedding breakfast and reception. Every step of the way our co-ordinator Ann was helpful and explained things to us fully. We almost expected something to go wrong on the day, as with every wedding, but everything just ran so smoothly. All the staff that assisted on the day were friendly and helpful, the food was brilliant and the way everything was set up was perfect. We couldn’t have asked for an easier, stress free wedding! Highly recommend using them for smaller weddings (50 or less) as the location is fantastic and the upstairs room looked great when set up for the ceremony and the breakfast. We stayed the night afterwards their Garden Room which was also brilliant. I can’t recommend The Alma as a wedding venue highly enough!

Room Tip: The Garden Room was fantastic, I understand the Garden Suite is even better/roomier.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our daughter moved into a house very close to this lovely pub yesterday so we decided to try out their Sunday roasts after we had finished unpacking. It was very busy but we found a table and were served by a very friendly member of their bar staff. Our food arrived quite quickly and we were very pleased by the portion sizes and the additional vegetables.
We all really enjoyed the food and the upbeat atmosphere and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaureenB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with friends in room 15/16. A really good choice, this is a very well run, smartly furnished hotel with high levels of customer service from the excellent staff. The rooms are fitted out to a high standard, its the first time I have had a cafetiere and ground coffee available in the room. Lovely big bathroom, quality toiletries and everything spotlessly clean.

I used to produce hotel reports professionally for DeVere and the like but the Alma is up a level from them.

We didn't use the well stocked mini bar (ridiculous prices) or the restaurant (very busy) apart from breakfast which was very good and well served.

My only gripe (and its a me thing, wont bother most people) was the poor drinks range in the bar.
Youngs beers (now brewed in a factory in Bedford) are now very dull and bland so not for me, but I don't mind a proper German/Czech lager even in bottle but nothing is available. As for a nice malt whisky to end the night? Forget it, just a couple of mainstream offerings. We chose to drink elsewhere so revenue lost for the hotel.

The hotel is located directly opposite Wandsworth Town mainline rail station so easy access by train to Waterloo or Victoria in around 15 mins., yet the area is quiet and relaxed with all local amenities (cashpoint, newspapers etc) within yards or the hotel.

An all round very good place to stay - made special by the staff.

Room Tip: We asked for quiet rooms and got 15 and 16 facing a quiet side street.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aledrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed here with a colleague for work. I have previously only drunk in the pub and had an excellent meal. The room was very good, clean, plenty of space, good size walk in shower room. The bed was comfortable and there was no noise from the nearby railway station, nor the bar downstairs. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Our stay was spoilt slightly by the power cut that closed the pub, as we had arranged to meet up with some other colleagues. But not the Alma's fault. The breakfast was good and plenty of choice. Some of the mini bar prices were a bit on the steep side - but you don't have to use that anyway.

Room Tip: We had room 18 which is on the back of the pub away from the road, whether rooms on this side are quieter I can't say, but this room is quiet and a good size.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews