We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding”
Review of The Alma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alma Hotel
Ranked #26 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had our wedding reception at The Alma on 31 May 2014 and all our expectations were exceeded.

The manager, Sean, is very passionate about his establishment and takes great pride in offering an excellent service. He provided a menu containing four options for each course which we circulated to our guests before the wedding. We took over the restaurant from 5pm having had arrival drinks upstairs first. Everyone's choice arrived in front of them with incredible efficiency and, more importantly, was universally well-received. We went for a mixture of traditional and more adventurous dishes and each one was perfect. The restaurant at The Alma is fantastic and well worth a visit at any time.

After dinner we moved back upstairs to The Bramford Room which was ideal for our party of about 60. There was enough space for dancing and also for those who wanted to sit and chat. The acoustics of the room meant that the music was loud enough for dancing but did not drown out conversation.

Service throughout the day could not have been better - all the staff were really enthusiastic and helpful which we hugely appreciated. Waiting tables and serving all day is tiring work but they never just went through the motions, they were really doing their utmost to make sure everyone had a fantastic time.

The rooms in the hotel are very comfortable and are good value for money. As part of the wedding package we had the Garden Suite for free for one night and that was ideal for bridal preparations as it is a spacious room with very large bathroom and a private courtyard as well.

If you are having a London wedding with around 60 guests you could not do better than The Alma. Thanks again to Sean, Laura and all the team.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Karim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

It was our absolute pleasure to host your special day at Alma. All the staff enjoyed being apart of a day which was a very fun and a joy to work. Look forward to seeing you guys soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

I booked this because of the rave reviews but have to say it was not as plush as I was expecting, from the reviews on here, and their own website. It was nice, but I had been expecting a little more luxury. The single beds were very close to each other, and very hard - some of the luxury items we we expecting were apparently not included in our particular room, there was paint peeling behind the bathroom taps, and a little peeling/staining on the ceiling over the window. That said, the bathroom was nice and the place was very clean. The breakfast choice was good and the staff were friendly. It was fine for the one night, maybe my expectations were too high but for the price paid I have been in London accommodation I was happier with.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hillary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Sorry that your stay was below your expectations. The room you stayed ii si under a current review to see if improvements can to be made. Thank you for your comments as we welcome all feed back from our guest. Please do visit the Alma again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was genuinely surprised at the warm welcome we received at the hotel. Everyone we came into contact with was friendly. We were able to check in at 10pm. The rooms were large and very clean. The bathroom was the size of the room that we stayed in on our last trip to London. The breakfast was really tasty and the bar beneath the pub was good too. As well as selling food there, there is a pizza express close by and a Sainsburys local. At the end of the road you can catch a bus to Covent Garden so good location.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Glad to hear the Alma and Wandsworth Town made your trip very enjoyable. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a stay of three nights there, and from the minute we arrived, we were welcomed as though we were returning home.
Room was immaculate, no ' city odours' just so fresh relaxing,and
after a long day, it was just what we needed.
Staff are hard working, always smiling, always have time to make you comfortable, and very professional. From breakfast through lunch it is a delightful start to your day, and evenings if you venture down to the mid 19th Century bar, you will witness the delights of many ' locals' being served by their familiar bar staff and everyone is really relaxed and 'at home'. Wherever you turn in the Alma, there is someone quietly there to check that you have all that you need.
I highly recommend the ALMA for stays in London.

Room Tip: Simply just ask staff when making reservation and they will guide you through your personal preferen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathleen07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. Glad you enjoyed all we had to offer and our staff looked after all your needs. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel - helpful staff, very clean and comfortable rooms, good facilities, good food. Room rates are a little expensive but this is the case with London in general, so I would still thoroughly recommend The Alma Hotel, especially for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Room 18 is very peaceful and has an amazing walk-in shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 462AJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Really glad you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had one of the Tonsley View rooms with a large bathtub. The bathroom was nicely appointed, but didn't appear to have a fan, and the floor also seemed a bit filmy as a result. A rather strong mildew-like smell hits you as soon as you walk into the room, and continues to get worse after using the shower/bath. A good fan would likely solve this issue, as would having a better barrier to prevent the shower from leaking onto the floor.

We also found the staff to be a bit hit and miss. Some didn't seem to know much about the services the hotel offered, while others were very friendly and helpful.

Overall, we felt a bit disappointed based on the online reviews, and would probably try out a different place next time.

But if you eat at the restaurant, try the pot pie of the day. So good!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sky-submarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Alma and it will not be our last. All the staff, reception, dining room, housekeeping and bar, are so friendly and helpful. My mother, who is 88 and has some mobility difficulties was given a fantastic room with wet room on the ground floor. The rooms match any I have stayed in at 4* hotels both in London and the provinces and the breakfast is something else. Not your usual dried up bacon and sausages on the breakfast buffet but all cooked freshly for you and the choice is fantastic, including Eggs Benedict and Eggs Royale with Hollandaise sauce to die for. On top of all that the bar serves some superb real ales, which is just the icing on the cake. It couldn't be more convenient neither. Wandsworth station is literary opposite the hotel and, if you arrive by car after 6.00 pm on Friday, there is usually plenty of free parking around about the area. Our son lives in Wandsworth and this is the perfect place to stay when we visit.
Barrie, Clare and Family

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarrieM51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Malt House
The Malt House
#31 of 579 in London
171 reviews
Belgravia
The Lord Milner
The Lord Milner
#17 of 579 in London
475 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#33 of 579 in London
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rose and Crown
#47 of 579 in London
142 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#6 of 579 in London
780 reviews
The Cleveland
#18 of 579 in London
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alma Hotel

Address: 499 Old York Road | Wandsworth, London SW18 1TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £109 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing