We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“derisive service, mediocre food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pico Bar & Grill

Pico Bar & Grill
Ranked #2,103 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“derisive service, mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

had to wave for waiter . THEN HE MISSED My ORDER.. THEN ANOTher WAITER SHOWED OBVIOUS HATReD OF US WHEN WE queried where mine was.. 'ooh god, these bloody customers are such a pain' eye rolling.. ..the food was reheated tapas, bland, dull and average value..about a fiver per plate.. and it wasnt great. I would never go back. .décor and ambience is ok if you like an old archway like a barn.. overall , vile. they need to learn english and customer service skllls.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Escort1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    86
    21
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“long lines of Ref tables ideal for a office party, not 4 romance.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a huge industrial style restaurant with rows and rows of 14 seater tables, that can is needed be broken up, its perfect for the office christmas party, and alright for a couple.
FOOD
The food is pretty good but the reheat lots of it, the ribs were hot on the outside and cold inside, that is yuk, prawns cooked to order, so avoid anything that can be cooked earlier, meat dishes etc.
HUGE WINE GLASS
most generous glass of wine I have ever been given , and excellent value, and quality too.
STAFF
friendly family atmosphere.
PORTIONS
are simply very large.
BREAD and OLIVES
these are offered without mention of cost….as it turns out it's only a quid. but still.

OVERALL
perfect for a cheap and cheerful evening, boot for special occasions on your trip to London, and perfect for large crowds of hen or stags, of office nights,

excellent value.

our bill was 54 Pounds and we had guessed 64 , so top points for value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D8Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

After shopping from the nearby Madeira Deli, I knew my tastebuds now only wanted to taste 1 thing, comida portuguesa!

Thus, I entered the Pico bar & grill but then decided only to order a bifana sandwich & a bottle of water. It tasted great, only salad was missing but I guess I should have specified I wanted salad inside it.

The service was great & I liked the decor of the place. I felt guilty for not tipping but I will be back again to watch the Selecçao or maybe even take out my namorada or better yet minha mãe. If your a fan of portuguese food or just good food/restaurants in general give this place a go.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MGBenfiquista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great place to spend an evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We were walking along the embarkment last Fri (18/1/2014) and decided to eat here. What a great idea. The place was busy and buzzing . We thoroughly enjoyed our food both main course and dessert. Followed by coffee in the main bar area so we could watch the rugby on their large screen.
Lovely waiters, prompt service and a very reasonable bill. Would definately go again if staying at the nearby Travelodge(Vauxhall).

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karen130854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super recommended!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I am a regular of this place which i think is the best portuguese restaurant in london.
Food is always amazing, tasting fresh and served in very generous portions. They could improve a bit in the decor which is not very stylish but when I want to eat good, this is the place i go!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Balostyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pico Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pico Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing