We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boston Manor Hotel
Ranked #734 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Neath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here with my family recently. It was cheap and did the job for the short time we were there, but i will say it's rather dated and the carpets need a really good clean!! The walls of the room need a good paint too- they're covered in marks. The bathroom was clean and the sheets were clean, but some of the duvet covers have marks on them which would suggest to me that they need replacing. Myself and my mother shared a twin room and we had two very squeaky beds! The room was quite big though. There was good parking and the tube station isn't far down the road. Breakfast was decent and the staff were okay even though i wouldn't say amazingly friendly. It was cheap and you get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ3022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajsondh, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your appraisal of Boston Manor Hotel, and your overall conclusion that you got what you paid for.
We try to attend to the essentials like clean sheets, good bathroom hygiene and a decent breakfast, as you found, while spacious free parking might actually be classified as a bit of a luxury in the inner suburbs.
Your negative points are noted, and many of these are currently being dealt-with as part of our major refurbishment programme. The ‘dated’ furnishings are acknowledged, but we feel that these do not greatly affect basic comfort and amenity. If you felt that the carpets needed a clean, than we can only apologise for the oversight. Carpets are routinely vacuumed in advance of each stay, and it is only in the smaller rooms that the corners are sometimes hard to reach, and may be left for a day or two.
You say that the hotel did the job for the short time you were there. That seems a reasonable testimonial, but we can report that many guests and their families have expressed their appreciation of our service over much longer visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    78
    62
    36
    52
See reviews for
58
68
31
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Good value for money, we stayed as a family of 3, room was spacious, bathroom little small but clean. Breakfast : full English , cereal , fruit juice. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Hotel has plenty of free parking. Tube station is 1/2 mile up the rd, we didn't eat in the hotel as it was an Asian restaurant but just down the rd is a harvester restaurant.
Visiting again this weekend as my son has a rowing competition, route into putney takes about 20 mins via car.

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs , so not suitable for any one with a disability also the corridors are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajsondh, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest,
It is good to know that Boston Manor Hotel suited your needs so comfortably, and that you’re planning a welcome return visit.
Clearly there are many travellers in the same position, who want the particular mix of convenient location, free parking, friendly service and a good breakfast. And this is why we remain at almost full capacity throughout the year.
You mention that the bathroom was a bit on the small side. That is a decision we sometimes have to make, in order to allow more space in the bedroom, and guests do generally prefer it that way round. (Naturally there are also rooms with bigger bathrooms, but this is bound to be reflected in a higher price.) We also appreciate that you may not have specifically wanted an Indian meal, but there’s an adequate choice of other restaurants nearby, as you found.
And finally, you mention good value. That remains our most outstanding benefit, and we modestly claim to provide the best value for any hotel of our category.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The room was nice and in all good quality, tv, room kettle etc all the things you expect. the staff were nice and helpful. The breakfast was lovely (Full English what can you argue with there) and catered for all diets. The Indian restaurant that operated at night done some of the best Indian I'd had in years. Overall I would recommend this hotel and for its cost was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Book lower level floors if you are disabled or have problems with numerous high steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajsondh, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Guest,
We are glad to hear you confirm that your room gave you all the things you expect in terms of comfort and amenity.
Fewer and fewer London hotels seem to provide this straightforward deal - good basic room facilities and personal service at an easily affordable price. Or, as you put it, ‘cheap no thrills’.
My kitchen and dining-room staff are especially pleased that you appreciated the catering. Our gourmet Nepalese menu is better than you would find in quite expensive hotels, and the full English breakfast can make a big difference to the enjoyment of one’s stay, as we are reminded by many appreciative letters from guests.
We look forward to the opportunity of seeing you again on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

First and foremost, I look for great customer service. And I found it at this hotel. The staff are very accommodating, welcoming, friendly and attentive. Parking was plentiful and easily accessible, and the Wi-Fi connectivity was free.
But the room - wow. It needed just so much doing to it. The bedding was old and stained, the furniture was mismatched, the loo seat was broken, there was exposed wiring in the bathroom, the shower had no water pressure, the TV was tiny, there was no bedside lamp only the bright ceiling light, and the room itself desperately needed decorating. I know this is a budget hotel, and all I wanted was a room for the night which is what I got. But it looked like a grubby 1980's bedsit, and I just found it so horribly depressing being in there.
I didn't get the chance to speak to anyone to try and change the room as when I went down to try the reception was too busy on the phone and with other customers. But I got the impression I wouldn't have been given anything better had I said anything anyway.
This hotel is absolutely fine as a stopover. And it is clear they have recently spent money on the exterior to freshen it up. But in order for this to be somewhere I'd want to return there would have to be an awfully big injection of money and time spent on modernising the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Essex-couple-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajsondh, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We feel that your review is sincere (unlike some of the more heavily critical reports), and of course we are glad that you appreciated the personal service - a big advantage of a family-run establishment.
On that point, I can assure you that if you had waited for the receptionist to get round to your problem, he would have dealt with it promptly and professionally. If your complaint was justified, and another room was available, you would have been offered it without delay.
We accept that some of the room-furnishings are showing their age, and that this can give an exaggerated impression of poor upkeep and hygiene that is not confirmed by our regular and thorough inspections.
You say we ought to invest in modernising the accommodation. Actually a major programme of decorating and furnishing has been ongoing for more than a year, and if it has not proceeded faster, this is because at least 90% of the rooms are occupied at any time. Naturally you weren’t in a position to view the other rooms, but a glance at our website would show you what we mean.
It sounds as though you got the reasonable one-night stopover you were wanting. We very much doubt whether you would have found anything matching it at the same price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The room was VERY outdated and smelt of cigarette smoke. The bathroom was horrid - the shower head was broken...as was the duct tape they had tried to fix it with!! However, they were redecorating and the staff were friendly and polite. Breakfast wasn't bad and came with good service. Wouldn't stay there again and wish I had gone with a Travelodge instead (as was my first instinct)!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunkerdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajsondh, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We have looked at your comments in detail and
I think ‘run down’ is really a little misleading as your main message to site-visitors, especially since you noticed the redecorating work - part of a major refurbishment schedule in progress throughout the hotel.
It is possible that you were reacting to some of the ageing furniture in the bedrooms(which are being replaced). We realize that this can let down the image, but it is still perfectly serviceable, and does not greatly inhibit a comfortable stay.

I am sorry that in the bathroom you found the shower-head taped-up - the previous guest had managed to break it, and no replacement was immediately available so this was the only solution at that time ,it was rectified the following day ,however the shower was still in working order, and apart from the tape issue it is hard to see how the bathroom could be described as ‘horrid’.
The complaint about the room smelling of cigarette-smoke , we have signs that inform our guests that smoking is banned throughout the hotel and we provide a smoking shelter for our guests to freely use. But sometimes a guest may unfortunately smoke in the room , When the rooms are cleaned we ensure that they are thoroughly serviced and any unpleasant odors eliminated . The rooms are routinely inspected by the management before new guests are allowed in, it would be unusual if they did not notice this unwelcome odour at the time. If you had mentioned this to reception we would have resolved the problem immediately by servicing the room again or offering another room..
Finally, Travelodge might have given you better quality, but only at two or three times the price. Our guests constantly remind us that they have often paid more for service that is inferior to ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Ok just returned having stayed here on the 13th and 14th of September and used it as it was close to wembley stadium, first impressions of the hotel upon arrival which was after 1.30am was good, reception open all night, good parking at the rear as well.

We stayed in room 208 and room smelt fresh and was clean and bathroom looked as if it had just been refurbished, now I agree the carpet could be doing with a bit of a clean, but hey carpets get dirty from the people who stay in the room so perhaps the guest should be a bit more tidy as well.

Beds are firm but comfortable enough, walls a bit on the thin side as can hear other guests and may bother some people but didn't really bother us.

TV is tiny but at least it works, wifi in rooms also but I didnt need it.

Rooms had tea and coffee making facilities and tea and coffee was provided, cooked breakfast was also good and offered a Full English Breakfast but staff where more than happy to make changes to this i.e omlettes, scrambled egg etc would maybe better to have a small menu with these choices but ask and you shall get.

we never tried the indian food

All in all I was happy with our stay we paid £150 for 3 people through travelstay which is very cheap for London and was only £2.80 bus fare to wembley from hotel.

Cant believe some of the reviews on here, perhaps it is the same pompus crowd that went to the roger waters concert who where that stuck up they where scared to enjoy themselves.

You get what you pay for? well in this case you get more as far as I am concerned I have had a poorer service in more expensive hotels.

some people want things for nothing but want the service of a 5 star hotel.

To sum up

Cheap, Basic, and excellent value for money, and i am fussy but credit where credit is due.

Will defo be using this hotel if I ever goto another concert in wembley or game

Room Tip: If you don't like a Full English ask for something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chascharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajsondh, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,
I can’t remember when we got a review that so accurately summed-up our advantages, while pointing out certain limitations that are only to be expected in lower-priced hotels.
In particular, we appreciated your point that you have stayed in more expensive outlets where the service was inferior to ours. That confirms our claim to offer exceptional value for money, and we know that this keeps many of our guests coming back to revisit - as you kindly mentioned that you might too. (Maybe you’ll feel like trying our famous Nepalese cuisine next time round!)
I notice that you wrote this review promptly after your stay, when the details were still fresh in your mind. That is a good sign, and it is encouraging to read a review that is truly meant. You say that you find some of the negative reports to be unbelievable. So do we. After scrutinising these closely, we have found that many of them are pieced together from earlier complaints, most of them either exaggerated or entirely fabricated. As for the reasons for this smear campaign, we remain just as baffled as ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just got back from a one night stay at this hotel & wanted to give my honest opinion, as our party booked here as we couldn't find anything else (without considerable expense) & were a little worried about what we would be greeted with, based on some of these reviews.
We attended a concert at Wembley Stadium last night & everything else was booked up so we chanced it & were all pleasantly surprised (2 couples in double rooms & a party of 4 in a family room). Staff were friendly & efficient, bedding & towels were spotless, new memory foam beds were comfy, enough tea/coffee in the rooms for multiple cuppas, parking was free, very little traffic noise in the night & breakfast was enough to send us all happily on our way home...for £22.50 each!
Yes, there was some dust in the corners, a handle missing from the wardrobe door & a wobbly ceiling fan but I've stayed in far more expensive places in London that were terrible.
This placed covered the essentials ideally for us. There were decorators at work in the corridors when we arrived & it was evident that the place is undergoing improvements. Give it a break you moaners & I'd advise anyone else to give it a go!

Room Tip: We stayed at front of hotel, in a four person room (224) & were pleasantly surprised at how quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romanyfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajsondh, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest,
When a party of eight people all report favourably on their stay, we must be doing something right!
It was most satisfying to be able to give you all a good night’s rest, after your Wembley concert. In fact, we are rapidly establishing a niche as the No.1 choice for Wembley visitors, though Hanwell is a low-profile location, and not everybody knows about the easy access by public transport.
We’re glad you noticed evidence that our refurbishment programme is proceeding fast, and that the bedding and linens were nice and fresh. As for the issues with the wardrobe and the fan, we will investigate these promptly and apologise in advance if there was an oversight. Dust in the corners is mentioned periodically. In the smaller rooms, these can be awkward to reach, and may sometimes be left for a day or two, pending a thorough hoovering.
All in all, you say you’ve ‘stayed in far more expensive places in London that were terrible’. That’s what we like to hear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#565 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
London Star Hotel
#784 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Venture Hostels
#679 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Forest View Hotel
#805 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Abbey Lodge Hotel
#915 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Viking Hotel
#857 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Manor Hotel

Property: Boston Manor Hotel
Address: 146-152 Boston Road | Hanwell, Ealing, London W7 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #734 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boston Manor Hotel London-Ealing established in 1987 is located Boston Road Hanwell, perfectly located for Ealing Broadway (2 miles) and Heathrow Airport (8 miles), and within easy access to Central London by car or public transport.Being a friendly family run business we pride ourselves on the personal touch, and by understanding the needs of our customers we endeavour to make your stay an enjoyable and relaxing one. We continually strive to give the best in care and attention to each customer. Our rates include a complimentary breakfast and we also offer free parking and Wifi for our hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Manor London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing