We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL EVERRRRRRRR DO NOT STAY HERE”
Review of Boston Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boston Manor Hotel
Ranked #788 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WORST HOTEL EVERRRRRRRR DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

had booked this hotel for a 3 night stay for my first time in london. firstly the hotel states that it is close to Ealing but actually it is around 5 miles away from Ealing which adds to expense and travel. we had a triple room which i can only describe as FILTHY. the walls and doors were covered in dirt and black marks and the funishings layered with dust. the gentlemen cleaning other rooms have all the dirty towels lying up the stairs and down the halls. the bathroom in the triple room was no bigger that a portaloo.the one night we did stay was a restless one as there is so much noise that it was very difficult to sleep. after a night of no sleep we made our mind up to move hotels. we were informed at reception that there was no manager on so we could not discuss our issues. the gentleman attempted to justify our experience by asking had we not read the reviews for the hotel before we came. i have since contacted management to seek a refund as they take payment on check in and he was of no help at all. after a lengthy conversation trying to explain why we were so unhappy and attempting to discuss a refund for the two nights, he hung up the phone on me. the management have been absolutely useless and are by no means customer orintated. i will be taking this matter further to seek a refund for the two nights which i did not use. to avoid your trip being ruined i would AVOID this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb0rahB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajsondh, General Manager at Boston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest

My staff and I wondered whether we should make allowances for your wild complaints, as you tell us it’s your first time in London.

But when we hear the interesting news that we’re 5 miles from Ealing, we know not to take these seriously - unless your favourite hotel-guide has announced that it’s 0.5 miles, but simply put the point in the wrong place!

The rest of your story seems almost as unlikely.

Apparently your triple-room was ‘filthy’ with dirt and black marks, and the furnishings covered in dust. This is either a total fabrication, or at least a highly exaggerated report. All rooms are inspected daily for hygiene, before being allocated to any guest. It is possible that the cleaners may have missed a few corners that are hard to reach, but ‘furnishings covered in dust’ is not confirmed by anything in our 25-year history. Some of the room-furnishings are somewhat ageing (though a major refurbishment programme is now more than half complete) and this can give a false impression of poor hygiene.

Complaints about small ensuites are, unfortunately, fairly common, though again your claim seems exaggerated, to say the least. We do point out to guests that most travellers prefer the limited space to be allocated to a bigger bedroom, rather than a bigger bathroom, and this is how we’re able to keep our prices so low, year after year.

The issue of towels lying in the corridors, before being taken to the laundry, is common to all hotels, for the most obvious reasons. In more expensive outlets, these are placed in baskets, but with our corridor-layout, you will appreciate that this is not feasible.

You mention that your sleep was interrupted by noise, but you don’t specify whether this was from the restaurant or from other rooms or from road-traffic. The last one is the likeliest, and you may agree that there is not much we can do about this, when we front on to a busy main road.

Finally, any idea of our management ‘hanging up’ on you, in the course of a phone-conversation, even involving a complaint, is quite unthinkable in this family-run outlet, where our attentive personal service has been noted and commented-on, time after time.

We can only classify this review along with a certain kind of spam that we’ve been receiving for at least a year, and for which there is no explanation so far.

Finally, you say ‘Avoid at all costs’. Check the costs. You’ll see why we’re still in business and achieving near full occupancy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    80
    63
    37
    55
See reviews for
59
71
31
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downey, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Family of 4 adults stayed 4 nights. Hotel is 15 min walk or 10 min bus ride from the underground then an additional 30-45 min to reach Zone 1 in central London. Room and TV were very small. Noisy due to road traffic and flight path to Heathrow. All linens, furniture, etc very dated and well worn. Although we were looking for budget accommodations this was below the average Motel 6 found in the US. The Wifi was good and free and each morning a full English breakfast was provided. Overall I would give it 2.7.

Room Tip: I would book 2 rooms before going into the1 room for 4 as there was minimal room left inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLichtG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajsondh, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
First, we’re naturally glad to hear that you appreciated the value of the Wi-fi service, which our business guests increasingly depend on, and the cooked English breakfast, for which we regularly receive special praise.

Your report of the small size of the room and the dated furniture may be justified, but your comparison with Motel 6 would need to allow for London prices. You say you were looking for budget accommodation; we would be very surprised if you found anything comparable at our current rates.

On the matter of transport links, you appear to have found the journey times longer than expected. Actually our guests often comment on how convenient the links are. For example, many business visitors need to attend Earls Court, (which is in Zone 1) and is only a few minutes away on the tube. A bus ride from the tube to the hotel is under 5 mins. But these points are easy to check-out in advance, as is the easy access to Heathrow, with the obvious drawback of being near the flight-path.

Finally, the noise of the road-traffic is something we can’t do much about. If you do make a return visit, we will try to find you a room away from the front-entrance to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Llandeilo, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If I could award this hotel 4.5 stars I would. It was only let down by dust and a dirty plate under the bed and a less than warm English breakfast. The decor and furnishings were excellent and the Nepalese evening meal outstanding. The hotel is next to a busy road and on the flightpath from Heathrow so it can be a bit noisy, It has ample parking and is within walking distance of the underground. I was well satisfied.

Room Tip: A breakfast menu would be a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
2 Thank Echofox125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajsondh, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your frank appraisal of Boston Manor Hotel. We’re glad to hear that you found your room satisfactory and the cuisine impressive. Also that the public transport was convenient for you, and that you were generally well satisfied.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the oversights your have mentioned. Dust is occasionally found in awkward corners that are sometimes hard to reach with the vacuum cleaner, although the cleaners are instructed to maintain optimal standards of hygiene. All rooms are inspected before guests are allowed in, and it seems that there was a lapse of efficiency (which is very rare) to not have noticed the plate under the bed. We are consistently looking at ways to improve our services and your feedback will be most helpful to us in attaining this.

Please also accept our apologies for the breakfast being colder than it should have been, If you had mentioned this to our waiters they would have gladly offered you a fresh serving.

Personal service is one of our particular priorities as a family-run hotel.
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Me my partner and my 2 children stayed 1 night, i wanted something close to wembley stadium, and also close enough to the national history museum. The hotel is basic but inexpensive and good value. Needs a lick of paint here and there and some of the furniture is a bit old but to be fair you get what you pay for. The location is ideal for events at Wembley. The tube or bus is a 10/12 mins walk away, The rooms have clean bedding and the beds are comfortable.The breakfast is very nice. The price is spot on for a no frills hotel. for the price we paid you get free parking and a cooked breakfast!! I cant see how anyone can complain about that!! Staff are friendly and very helpful, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajsondh, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

If you were wanting Wembley and the Museums, then you certainly chose the right location. And as you kindly mentioned, the price suited you too.

It is true that some of the furniture has seen better days, as other guests have commented, though they generally agree that this does not impact very seriously on a good night’s sleep.

With our refurbishment programme well under way, the older furniture and furnishings are being steadily replaced, and repainting is all part of the same scheme. Clean and comfortable bedding is the main priority, and you acknowledge that we provided this. Our cooked breakfast is always popular - something not usually available elsewhere at our price-levels. And you noticed the friendly service, which is also a big part of our culture as a family-run business.

Glad to hear you’ll be back, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed there on the night of the Froch Groves fight, and was pleasantly surprised. We were shown to our room and it was clean, tidy, and spacious. Was it the Ritz? No, but we weren't paying those prices either. Clean sheets, comfy bed, warm shower, friendly helpful staff. What more do you want? 24h buses directly to and from Wembley Stadium. There some seriously deluded reviews on here in my opinion, as this place is a great find, and I will DEFINITELY stay here again.
We never sampled the breakfast as we arrived back from the fight and following celebrations a bit too late to be getting up, but all in all was very happy with the stay.
And then to top it all off I left my driving license, and when I rang up to ask if they would post it to me, they were happy and correct in saying they would only post it to the address on the license. Which they did promptly.
WOuld I recommend it for a romantic stay in London? No, it's not that sort of place... but if you are just stopping down for either Wembley or a quick stopover for whatever other reason, this is definitely your place and the best value you will find. Highly recommended.

Ben

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajsondh, Manager at Boston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Another Wembley visitor who has recognised Boston Manor Hotel as the natural place to stopover!
It’s good to hear your favourable report of the bedroom environment and the welcome touches of personal service. And a pity you missed our cooked breakfast, for which we regularly receive appreciative letters from satisfied visitors.
‘Pleasantly surprised’ is a nice reaction to our hotel. And we’re particularly glad that you sized-up some of the negative reviews on this site as ‘deluded’. Close scrutiny of these reports usually reveals certain giveaway signs that they are fabricated, and often pieced together from earlier reviews of the same kind. After more than a year of this nuisance, we remain totally baffled as to where it started, and what kind of people would be motivated to attack our reputation in this way.
Thank you, at least, for your own positive review that may help to counter these false impressions. And for your kind comment that you would like to stay here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Toilet is too small and was dirty, room is small too but won't recommend for long stay. Double beds seems small for two people and even the duvet was too small. Felt like I was sleeping in others people's bed.. Just the restaurant downstairs was perfect with good quality food. Won't be staying anymore

Room Tip: Should recommend to focus for the cleanliness of the room and toilet, at least put duvet which can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Unknown35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajsondh, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and are not intending to return.
You say the toilet was ‘too small’. It is true that we tend economise on the size of the ensuite facilities, because our guests overwhelmingly prefer the space to be used for the bedroom. So no doubt it was smaller than you would have liked, but at our prices, I don’t think it actually fails any test of adequacy.
As for the double beds, these are manufactured to a standard size, and we have never heard any complaints before about cramped space. It is possible that the duvet may have been a little on the small side in relation to the bed, as our duvets come in several different dimensions, so we apologise if this inhibited your comfort.
Naturally we are glad that you appreciated the quality of our restaurant cuisine, well above the standards normally to be found at our price-level, as you may agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

myself and 3 friends stayed here on the night of the Froch v Groves fight.

We arrived at 1pm for check in and was shown up to our room very efficiently. The staff on the main reception were polite and helpful.

The room was just what we needed. 4 single beds for a very good price. You wont get that in many places around London, never mind so close to Wembley stadium.

The receptionist called us a taxi and when the driver arrived he was very arrogant and didnt seem to want the job as apparently a trip to wembley would waste his time, although it was £20 to get there. It is only 5 miles up the road!
The receptionist contacted the taxi company and asked for a driver with a better attitude and in turn that is what we got. So a thank you to him for sticking up for us and giving a professional service.

After the fight we struggled to get back to the hotel as there was no taxis. One of the main reasons we stayed at the boston manor was because i had been there before and the curry house downstairs was superb. This time we didnt make the most of it. We ordered our food before we left for the fight but we were an hour later than what we thought we would be and the food was stone cold and wouldnt be reheated. We appreciate the fact they waited for us but we were hoping it was nicer.

The following morning we didnt take advantage of the breakfast as we were too late getting up but there was a lovely little polish cafe down the road which we went to before heading off for a day in london.

We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 311SteveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajsondh, Guest Relations Manager at Boston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your detailed review, which confirms our position as a favourite stopover for the Wembley events.
Naturally we were sorry to hear about your long delay in getting back in the evening, but our kitchen resources are limited, and on a busy night, it is simply not practical to make a special case of individual orders. Of course we particularly regret that you were not able to enjoy the cuisine that you had remembered so favourably - also that you missed the cooked breakfast that is such a popular item, for which we regularly get letters of appreciation.
Your comments about our efficient personal service are also most welcome. We like to think it goes with the territory, as a long-established family-run business. In particular, we carry high credibility with the local taxi-firms, and so were able to find a quick solution to your problem with the rogue driver.
Finally, you say you would definitely stay here again. We look forward to servicing your needs before long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#704 of 1,068 in London
136 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#307 of 1,068 in London
217 reviews
Viking Hotel
#820 of 1,068 in London
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairways Hotel
#828 of 1,068 in London
88 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#574 of 1,068 in London
555 reviews
Bloomsbury
Pickwick Hall
Pickwick Hall
#579 of 1,068 in London
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boston Manor Hotel

Property: Boston Manor Hotel
Address: 146-152 Boston Road | Hanwell, Ealing, London W7 2HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #788 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boston Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boston Manor Hotel London-Ealing established in 1987 is located Boston Road Hanwell, perfectly located for Ealing Broadway (2 miles) and Heathrow Airport (8 miles), and within easy access to Central London by car or public transport.Being a friendly family run business we pride ourselves on the personal touch, and by understanding the needs of our customers we endeavour to make your stay an enjoyable and relaxing one. We continually strive to give the best in care and attention to each customer. Our rates include a complimentary breakfast and we also offer free parking and Wifi for our hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boston Manor London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing