We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm friendly environment in a great part of London”
Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Ranked #905 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A warm friendly environment in a great part of London”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Located a short walk from Ealing Broadway station, the Abbey Lodge is a very convenient and safe place to stay while in London. I enjoyed meeting the friendly staff who were always helpful with advice for tourists, the complimentary English breakfast and the lovely cozy room I stayed in. The price is very affordable (with free wifi and breakfast thrown in, a bargain!) and I was so comfortable there, I felt a bit like I was staying in a friend's guest room. Thank you very much for having me! My time at the Abbey was a lovely experience and when I return to London one day, I will definitely be returning! P.S. The ginger cat Buster who calls the Abbey Lodge home is adorable!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karla-r30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    26
    22
    16
    26
See reviews for
9
37
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Its located about 10 min walk from ealing broadway station. Central london can be reached in about half an hour. The hotel is situated in a domestic area. Very nice and quiet. Its pretty outdated, the room we stayed in very small. We couldnt walk around both at the same time. Bed a bit soft but nice and clean. Room needed updating, a lot of repair patchwork (wallpaper, shower floor, shower door) small tv and waterkettle with tea/coffee provided. No room to place some stuff. There is a closet but no desk or something like that. Mirror and showerhead to low for my (187cm) boyfriend. Small window the almost scrapes the wall next to it. no view at all. Room and bathroom were clean though.
small backyard that can be used till 10pm.
Breakfast served 7-9 during week 7.30-9.30 in weekends. different Teas/coffee/water/milk/juice, a selection of fruit yoghurt and cereals and jam/honey. Further a menu for hot Breakfast items on each table, basically a full english or parts of it cooked fresh at your order. Fresh whole wheat or white toast at your request.
All in all a nice budget place for people who dont demand more than a clean friendly place to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 0201983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Spent there only one night.
Staff is very nice and helpful, the position is not in the center but it's easily to reach it with the metro lines.Plus the nearest metro stop station is far 5 minutes walking.
Price for a single night was good enough (to be in London) and breakfast was also included.
Room,nothing special,but clean and the bathroom wasn't neither too small.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpsting1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed, as a family, in this lovely, well located hotel for 6 days and have no complaints at all from our stay. Staff were both welcoming and friendly, going above and beyond to assist with any queries. Their was a wide variety of options available for breakfast and our room was more than ample for us as a family. We could not have been located any better to local amenities and transport, but yet loved the fact that our area was both safe and quiet from London traffic.
Would definately stay here again, we recommend abbey lodge to anybody :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules6385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This small hotel is in a quiet, residential location and only about 10 minutes walk from Ealing Common tube station. There are places to eat within a few minutes walk. I only saw one member of staff and she was perfectly pleasant. The room needed some refurbishment but was clean and there was an electric fan which was a godsend in this hot weather. The bed was very comfortable. The room was a small double which was fine for me but would have been tight for two people. I had to leave before breakfast so can't comment on that. I would certainly stay there again. Considering its location I thought it was quite good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The Abbey Lodge is well situated in a quiet back street and is a short walk to Ealing Broadway for public transport in to Central London. The daily rate includes VAT, wi-fi and a full English breakfast, representing good value for money. Some of the rooms are small and are in need of sprucing up. Newer towels, bed linen and in-room drinking vessels would be a cheap way to upgrade. Creaky floorboards and thin walls can be a problem for lighter sleepers. For those visitors interested in a longer stay, check the frequency of bed linen changing.

The staff is attentive and serves breakfast in a quick and efficient manner.

Parking can be be an issue, as it is limited to three of four cars tightly packed on to its forecourt. The parking space of the nearby Grange Lodge Hotel can also be used. Otherwise it is left up to chance for parking fees and the ever-vigilant, beady eyes of the local parking enforcement brigade.

Although some of the individual aspects of this hotel would not warrant Four Stars, all things taken in to consideration, the overall experience was.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavisR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Having read the,reviews and looked at photos,which were all good I booked a room in this 'cozy, recently refurbished hotel'. I can't tell you how disappointed we were. The wallpaper in our room was peeling from the walls and the ceiling had been patched with masking tape. One of the mugs was badly chipped and the net curtain wouldn't been helped by soaking in bleach....it was black!! The 'lovely lounge' reminded me of a poorly run old peoples home and the staff weren't very helpful, friendly or welcoming. The only plus side was that the bed was comfortable and sheets clean. However the rest of the furniture was old and very scratched. Breakfast was OK but nothing special.
Won't be recommending this hotel to anyone!!!!!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
1.5 mi away
Boston Manor Hotel
Boston Manor Hotel
#762 of 1,067 in London
290 reviews
1.1 mi away
London Star Hotel
London Star Hotel
#723 of 1,067 in London
40 reviews
11.9 mi away
Venture Hostels
Venture Hostels
#696 of 1,067 in London
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
CityStay Hotel
CityStay Hotel
#942 of 1,067 in London
242 reviews
13.7 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#851 of 1,067 in London
641 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Ealing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Property: Abbey Lodge Hotel
Address: 51 Grange Park | Ealing, London W5 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #905 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ABBEY LODGE IS A 17 ROOM BED AND BREAKFAST HOTEL IN CENTRAL EALING, WEST LONDON. ALL ROOMS HAVE COMPACT EN SUITE BATHROOMS WITH SHOWER/TOILET/WASHBASIN, FREEVIEW FLAT SCREEN TV AND TEA/COFFEE MAKING FACILITIES. THERE IS A SMALL GUEST FRIDGE AND MICROWAVE IN OUR BREAKFAST ROOM. ALL ROOMS AND PUBLIC AREAS ARE NON-SMOKING. WE ARE CONVENIENTLY LOCATED IN A QUIET RESIDENTIAL STREET, 5 MINUTES' WALK FROM THE MAIN SHOPPING CENTRE IN EALING WHICH HAS A GREAT VARIETY OF SHOPS, CAFES, RESTAURANTS AND BARS AND PUBS. IT'S LESS THAN 10 MINUTES' WALK FROM EALING BROADWAY TUBE / RAIL STATION WITH A JOURNEY TIME INTO CENTRAL LONDON OF AROUND 30 MINUTES AND IT'S LESS THAN 25 MINUTES TO LONDON HEATHROW AIRPORT. WE PROVIDE A QUIET COMFORTABLE STAY WITH FRIENDLY SERVICE. ENGLISH BREAKFAST IS INCLUDED IN OUR RATES AND WE HAVE DISCOUNTED WEEKLY RATES FOR STAYS OF 7 NIGHTS OR MORE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbey Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing