We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but expensive internet access” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel London Waterloo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel London Waterloo
Ranked #314 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but expensive internet access”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed here on business. Staff helpful, food fine and rooms were good. However, internet access is £19.95 a day (a package with all you can have of fiffy movies) and it is a fair walk from Lambeth North tube station. However, buses run from outside the hotel into the city and to Brixton and beyond

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodiemum3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Please be advised that when booking one of our Executive rooms internet is included on weekdays and movies on the weekend. Please speak to a member of staff for further details when staying with us next time. I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Sheila Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    1,337
    393
    84
    42
See reviews for
1,423
514
107
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Our room had a view of the Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and the London Eye so we felt very lucky. It is opposite the Lambeth Bridge and next to the roundabout featured on the movie, National Lampoons European vacation (where Clark Griswold says, "Look kids, Big Ben, Parliament" over and over as he is trying to get off the roundabout) We could easily walk to the Westminster area and enjoyed Westminster Abbey etc and the impressive Houses of Parliament and Big Ben. One issue however about the location is the lack of restaurants, food stores and other attractions in the immediate area. We ended up eating room service too often after being tired from a days site seeing and having no where in easy walking distance to go to eat. The metro stop is a 7-10 minute walk away, which was fine, but it was not close by as we expected.

We took the upgrade option offered to us upon arrival which included a better standard of room with a internet/movie inclusion for an additional 29 (I think) pounds per day - I think it was worth it as we did watch a number of movies at night and used the internet frequently and the room was nice, however I think for a room that advertises for 3-4 people- having a very uncomfortable sofa bed for one person is not acceptable, my daughter had difficulty sleeping there and it was no wonder as you could easily feel the metal frame through the mattress. The breakfast was not worth the money and the room service had issues (no one answering the phone, food delivered late, icecream delivered half melted etc). We did receive great service from front desk who were very helpful in organising a few tours at the last minute. I did feel annoyed however when every day I was requested via note slipped under the door to pay at reception my room service bill as it was "in arrears" - I would usually expect to pay this at the end of a stay not on a daily basis, especially since they already had our credit card imprint and the amount of money was not big.
One highlight was finding the Garden Museum across the road and having afternoon tea in their lovely garden setting which was an enjoyable way to take a breath between sightseeing excursions.
All in all we had a good stay but I would not choose to stay here again as I think there are better options for the price paid.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCol75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give such detailed feedback about your recent stay at Novotel London Waterloo. I was glad to read you enjoyed staying in one of our Executive rooms and that we were able to offer you a great view of London. The Hotel is indeed located just opposite the Garden museum which is a great place to relax after a long day of exploring the city. Your comments have also been shared with the team as it will help us to constantly improve the quality of service we provide. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Hotel again on your journey.

Kind regards,

Sheila Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
169 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed here over the london marathon weekend, 3 of us sharing a room. Room was very clean and comfortable and the fold out sofa was fine to sleep on. All staff at the hotel were very helpfull and friendly, all wishing us the best for the race. Breakfast was plentiful and had everything you could want. It is less than 10mins walk from lambeth north station and close to a lot of attractions. I would recomend this hotel to anyone and would stay again. The only bad part was no wi-fi in the hotel, but i am guessing that is down to the chain.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claireBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us such positive feedback about your recent stay with us during the London Marathon. This will definitely be a great motivation for the team and help them to continue providing the best service possible. I hope you will stay with us again for the Marathon in 2013.

Kind regards,

Sheila Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

There was three of us in one room with a queen bed and a single sofa bed which was not very comfortable. Apart from that the room was spotless, a little on the small side for 3 but we were barely in the room, bathroom was lovely amazing shower abath. All staff; bar, housekeeping and front of house were all exceptionally friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Its a lovely ten minute walk from london eye/south bank area along the river, we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
It is a great pleasure to get such positive feedback about our staff. I am sure this will be a great motivation for the team. With regards to the room I can inform you that our Executive rooms have a double sofa available should this be more comfortable. Please speak to a member of our Reservations team for further details. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,

Sheila Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights in early April 2012. The staff were most helpful, the rooms were of good size and clean. Theresturant and bar staff were also most helpful the food was good and well worth it. The ocation was onlt a short walk from Lambeth North tube station.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your positive review following your stay with us at the beginning of April. I will share your feedback with the team and hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sheila Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012 via mobile

Room could have done with kick of paint starting to look dated as a business traveller I'm looking for something more.

restaurant poor value. Food was cold quickly not much of it and service slow. We asked for a run of the mill bottle of rose wine. After five minutes we were told they had none and it had to come from the cellar - really? This hotel has a cellar? anyway another 15 minutes and we were told there was only enough for a glass each. I couldn't believe it a hotel of this calibre with only one bottle and none in the apparent cellar? I asked if we could have this complimentary as we had waited so long - no so said the team leader.

He/she doesn't lead a busy team there were only four of us in there and the team is so efficient they don't keep their 'cellar' very well stocked.

The moral of this story is don't eat here it's poor value quality and don't expect any customer service,

Now on the plus side it's central ish you can walk to Westminster in ten minutes the bus stop outside the hotel will get you into central London quickly avoid the tube you don't need it and it's about a 15-20 minute walk in the wrong direction (Lambeth north)

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelWaterloo, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on Tripadvisor. Please contact our Food & Beverage Manager, Angus Spurr, on H1785-DM@accor.com so we can further look into the situation with regards to your dinner experience. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sheila Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#191 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#283 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#242 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#240 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#120 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Waterloo

Property: Novotel London Waterloo
Address: 113 Lambeth Road, London SE1 7LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Family Hotel in London
#228 Luxury Hotel in London
#318 Romantic Hotel in London
#327 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Waterloo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one step away from the River Thames, Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and minutes away from the London Eye. Enjoy a fantastic stay in our spacious air-conditioned bedrooms, with an exceptionally comfortable Queen size bed, en-suite facilities, LCD TV, large desk and a laptop size safe. Some rooms offer amazing views of the London skyline. Be tempted by our varied buffet breakfast and our tasty international cuisine served in our Elements Restaurant. Sit back and relax with a cocktail in our Elements Bar. Up to 2 children (under 16 years) can stay free (with breakfast) when sharing a room with adults. Access to kid’s play corner, an Xbox console, Vauxhall City Farm and other family friendly activities mins away. Unwind in our In Balance Fitness and Wellbeing centre, complementary for our guests. Convenient links to the heart of the city within walking distance to underground stations, bus stops and city rental bikes. On site paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel London Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Waterloo Hotel London
Accor London Waterloo
London Novotel Waterloo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing