We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but thats it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel London Waterloo
Ranked #323 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great location but thats it”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

rooms are tired. The cleaning of the room leaves alot to be desirded - i had dirty cups left in the room - i did report it and the woman on reception did bring up fresh cups. Shower leaked everywhere and was no more than a trickle - report on the first day but never fixed (i asked twice).
Location is the best thing about the hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peel362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I thank you for your comments and your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that the service you received from our team were not to our usual standards. Please rest assured that the points you made were addressed.
I am pleased to read that the location of the hotel has met your expectations.
Once again thank you for your feedback and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    1,391
    413
    89
    44
See reviews for
1,493
527
109
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Hotel is very good, clean , good services, wifi and the people was very nice with us to answer our doubts. It is quite modern and new. The location is spectacular, its possible to walk through the riverside of the thames directly to the London Eye. Also, you can get good breakfast on the way with a fantastic view.I travel with my two daugthers , although the room is no so big we did not face any problem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camg30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for pointing out your very satisfactory stay at Novotel London Waterlooo in your positive feedback. I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We rented a car and drove around London but found that Novotel London Waterloo is not particularly car-friendly. We had to talk to the reception almost every time to enter the carpark. Exiting from the carpark to the main hotel also requires someone at the reception.
Even after getting a parking card, it doesn't seem to work well so parking here is generally not recommended.

Other than that, everything is quite alright. Location is remote but accessible with a car.
Our rooms had no view but room was reasonably sized. Pillows a little soft.
Breakfast has reasonable selection.

Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apriltan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback.

I am happy to hear that we Fulfilled all your needs .

I am sorry for the inconvenience caused with the car park but for security reason we must ask who is entering or leaving the car park.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to your next stays.

Best regards
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

You'll be welcomed by a cozy lobby with interactive computer that gives you relevant information about the area and places of interests. Location seems to be remote but if you are up to walking, everything appears walkable...about 10-20 minutes of comfortable strides to Trafalgar Square, some restaurants. Service in the hotel's restaurant is slow and food is lousy.

Apart from comfortable and clean rooms, the other saving grace of this hotel is Jennifer, the Front Desk Receptionist (trainee) who is always patient in entertaining our queries and calling the places of interests in our behalf. The hotel gym was also a hit among my health buff kids.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest,
I am really glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay at Novotel London Waterloo. Indeed our central yet quiet location is one of our asset as well as the attentive and genuinely caring staff. We look forward to your next visits.

Best regards
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
546 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Novotel Hotel, Waterloo, London. This is an excellent place to stay. The lobby is very smart and the receptionist helpful. You can have a quiet room, or a room with a view. We chose the room with a view, and what a view! Lambeth Palace, Westminster Abbey, the Houses a of Parliament and Big Ben, and the London Eye. There is some traffic noise with the window open, but not when it is closed. The room is quite large and well equipped, even with a rather unusual roll out desk. The lighting is good and there are tea and coffee making facilities. The en suite bathroom and toilet are smart, although the showers (two!) are over the bath with a high step-over. Unfortunately even my University qualifications were insufficient to make the shower(s) function: some instructions would be helpful here. The hotel comes with free wifi. The plus about this hotel is its location: almost in a park setting with great views. However, this is also a minus, as the hotel is on the edge of the main tourist area, and there is no immediate access to the Underground - ten minutes walk I believe. A bus passes the door though. The hotel is French owned and staffed, so communication tends to be in English with a pleasing accent. We had a delightful buffet breakfast in the Hotel breakfast room, with a fine range of choices and great service. A stay here is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for pointing out your very satisfactory stay at Novotel London Waterlooo in your positive feedback. I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Bernard Panisse General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I was sharing with my teenage granddaughter and she slept on the sofa bed which she said was very comfortable. The room service meal was good as was the breakfast buffet.The view from the window wasn't great but we weren't in the room long enough to bother about that! Just a minute or two's walk from the hotel takes you to the walk along the Thames and the spectacular view over to Westminster. We walked to the London Eye in about 15 minutes and to Trafalgar Square in about 30 minutes. For our needs it was a great situation and a comfortable hotel to stay in. Will definitely stay here when I return to London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotiaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much for this excellent review of the Novotel London Waterloo.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
And remember to ask for a room with view on Lambeth Palace, Big Ben etc...Subject to availability.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very good hotel, with exellent location, and very good beds. have stayed at the same hotel before, and really love it. Would like to come back later on. Would tell my friends about it, and tell them to visit it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anne Dagrun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for recommending the Novotel London Waterloo. This is a honour for us.
I am pleased to hear that you found the location of the hotel convenient and that our team was welcoming.
I am glad that the bed was at your satisfaction.
I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#179 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#275 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#246 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#127 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Waterloo

Property: Novotel London Waterloo
Address: 113 Lambeth Road, London SE1 7LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Family Hotel in London
#233 Luxury Hotel in London
#318 Romantic Hotel in London
#327 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Waterloo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one step away from the River Thames, Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and minutes away from the London Eye. Enjoy a fantastic stay in our spacious air-conditioned bedrooms, with an exceptionally comfortable Queen size bed, en-suite facilities, LCD TV, large desk and a laptop size safe. Some rooms offer amazing views of the London skyline. Be tempted by our varied buffet breakfast and our tasty international cuisine served in our Elements Restaurant. Sit back and relax with a cocktail in our Elements Bar. Up to 2 children (under 16 years) can stay free (with breakfast) when sharing a room with adults. Access to kid’s play corner, an Xbox console, Vauxhall City Farm and other family friendly activities mins away. Unwind in our In Balance Fitness and Wellbeing centre, complementary for our guests. Convenient links to the heart of the city within walking distance to underground stations, bus stops and city rental bikes. On site paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Waterloo Hotel London
Accor London Waterloo
London Novotel Waterloo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing