We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel London Waterloo
Ranked #325 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great Location!!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

As many of you know, it is not an easy task trying to find a decent and affordable hotel for a family in London these days - but the Novotel London Waterloo certainly fits the bill. Not only is the location superb with Big Ben and the London Eye being just around the corner, it had great transport links too with a bus outside the door that brings you to Oxford Circus, or if you prefer, to avoid that crazy London traffic, the tube station is just a 10 minute stroll away.

The staff were very friendly and were more than happy to show you how to get around or advise on what to see. The room itself was not huge, but it was clean, modern and the beds were comfy!

Overall I couldn't fault my stay here and if I ever visit London again, I will most certainly stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you very much for this comprehensive, flattering feedback which encourages us to keep on providing such high standards of service. Again thank you for such words of praise and I look forward to welcoming you back very often

Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    1,401
    417
    92
    45
See reviews for
1,512
532
110
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed for 4 nights (2 rooms) in August. Booking via novotel.com was really easy and I had to accept that London hotels in the summer are quite expensive. So finding a good deal with Novotel Waterloo was acceptable, as the place is really close to Lambeth Bridge (and as such it is a nice short stroll away from Waterloo Bridge.)
Checkin was really quick and the front desk staff was very nice. Moreover, we could occupy the rooms before 2pm, which was a nice gesture. Rooms were up to Novotel standard, clean, functional, storage place were okay, amenities in the bathroom, minibar/fridge (with water only), coffee/tea maker. Large selection of TV channels.
WiFi was complementary and it worked really well throughout the hotel. There are also 2 PCs in the lobby that you can use for (with a printer.)
Rooms were cleaned very well, amenities re-supplied, no issues. The place is really quiet, so we had very good nights sleep.

We had breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hotel restaurant during most of our stay, so here are the observations:
- the place can become crowded during breakfast very quickly, as the restaurant area is way too small for such number of rooms/guests. I guess, this is a frequent occurrance during summer, and despite the enormous efforts of the restaurant staff there were queuing during breakfast time outside the place (and also during dinner.)
- The hotel also has special package for dinner which makes the restaurant attractive - however, during those days when we were there it was clear that the place is understaffed, and waiters were really doing their utmost to provide a decent service.
- Same goes to the bar, which is a nice place to chill out and have a drink or two - but a few more staff members would be needed to run the place well. Kudos for the bar staff, too, they were really friendly and service oriented.

Foodwise, the restaurant offerings are quite okay, we always found delicious food in there - despite the crowd.
Checkout was again very well organised, so we might return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear guest,

I am truly glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us.
I would like to confirm that we have taken note of your comments and will address it accordingly.

We look forward to your next visits.

Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My family had the pleasure to stay here for 5 nights in early July. The staff went out of their way to take care of our needs.

As SurferDavid mentioned, the rooms are small (by American standards). It is tight with the fold-away bed down, but I've seen this before in larger American cities. The fold-out bed was quite comfortable for our 12 year old son.

If you can, get a room that faces the front of the hotel. Wonderful view of Lambeth Palace and you can see the top of the tower at Parliament.

It's a good walk back from the Underground. Lambeth North is the closest station, not a bad walk, but it is dark and not a lot of traffic on the streets at night (American bias showing through). Waterloo provides a well traveled, well lit walk back at night, but it's a bit of a hike.

There is a corner cafe (that' the name) less than a 5 minute walk from the property. It provides a good value and provides a place to meet local people.

This location provides a good value and I would certainly bring my family back.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you very much for this excellent review of the Novotel London Waterloo.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
And remember to ask for a room with view on Lambeth Palace, Big Ben etc...Subject to availability.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We spent countless hours researching hotels in London before booking this one. Full disclosure, the price had a huge impact on our decision. The hotel is in good condition. More modern feel to it. Good, friendly staff. A few downsides though - slow service at the bar, very high step to get into the tub/shower combination, and then no door (seems par for Europe) allowed water to go all over the bathroom. With the sofa bed pulled out, there was almost no space left in the main part of the room. The "queen sized" bed was the smallest queen I've ever seen. A huge plus was that the pull out sofa actually folded out as 2 separate singles, so for once the kids weren't griping about each other touching. The location seemed to be a bit out of the way, but in fact it was only a 3 minute walk to Lambeth Bridge, 10 minutes to the Eye and Westminster Bridge. 5-7 minute walk to the Lambeth North tube station. Quieter neighborhood was good for the noise levels, though a nearby hospital did generate a fair amount of siren noise. I would stay there again depending on the circumstances and the prices of more centrally located hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goosegoose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Novotel London Waterloo.
I am pleased to hear that the location of our hotel was ideal for your visit to the main London touristic attractions.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel in August of 2014. The family rooms are small. The couch next to the bed was a fold-away bed. This was enough for our young girls. When both beds were down there was barely any space in front of the desk. The rooms were clean and well kept. There didn't seem to be anyone available to bring our luggage up to our room. We didn't ask anyone for help but in most hotels this is the first thing they offer upon entering the hotel. The scale to weigh our luggage was broken and they didn't offer any other suggestion to solve the problem. The breakfast buffet was good but very crowded. The space seemed a tad small for amount of people at breakfast. There can be a short wait if you don't arrive early. The location of the hotel was great, about a 10 minute walk to the London Eye and maybe 10-15 minutes to Westminister Abbey and Big Ben. Overall, the staff was very nice but the rooms were a little small for us. If you are going to the Eye and Madame Tussards's pay extra for the fast pass. With the passes we had a ten minute wait at both places. The line for Madame Tussard's could be as long as 3 or 4 hours without it, and it rains a lot too so that could be a horribly long wait.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurferDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard p, General Manager at Novotel London Waterloo, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
I thank you for your comments and your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that the service you received from our team were not to our usual standards. Please rest assured that the points you made were addressed.
I am pleased to read that the location of the hotel has met your expectations.
Once again thank you for your feedback and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#269 of 1,068 in London
2,091 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#176 of 1,068 in London
2,141 reviews
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#141 of 1,068 in London
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#242 of 1,068 in London
2,783 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Waterloo

Property: Novotel London Waterloo
Address: 113 Lambeth Road, London SE1 7LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Family Hotel in London
#232 Luxury Hotel in London
#318 Romantic Hotel in London
#327 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Waterloo 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one step away from the River Thames, Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament and minutes away from the London Eye. Enjoy a fantastic stay in our spacious air-conditioned bedrooms, with an exceptionally comfortable Queen size bed, en-suite facilities, LCD TV, large desk and a laptop size safe. Some rooms offer amazing views of the London skyline. Be tempted by our varied buffet breakfast and our tasty international cuisine served in our Elements Restaurant. Sit back and relax with a cocktail in our Elements Bar. Up to 2 children (under 16 years) can stay free (with breakfast) when sharing a room with adults. Access to kid’s play corner, an Xbox console, Vauxhall City Farm and other family friendly activities mins away. Unwind in our In Balance Fitness and Wellbeing centre, complementary for our guests. Convenient links to the heart of the city within walking distance to underground stations, bus stops and city rental bikes. On site paying car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel London Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Waterloo Hotel London
Accor London Waterloo
London Novotel Waterloo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing