We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stafff and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Ranked #122 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed for a week on business -- staff was great and very helpful in assisting with travel plans. Room was very comfortable and clean. Location was great for getting around london (Leicester underground is right around the corner) to/from Heathrow on Picadilly line. Lots and lots of restaurants and China town just up the street. Only complaint was noise from an adjacent bar. recommend you stay on floors higher than 1 or 2.

Room Tip: stay on higher floors on backside and away from street corner
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacques_loraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Loraine,

Thank you for choosing the Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire hotel for your business visit to London. I am delighted you found our location so convenient. Being in such close proximity to the tube station certainly allows for speedy travel throughout central London and I am very pleased our team were on hand to assist with travel plans.

We are so fortunate to be surrounded by so many great bars and restaurants. When visiting on business where you may be more restricted for time the absence of having far to travel is perfect to be able to make the most of your evenings.

I hope you will choose to stay with us again. Please do not hesitate to contact either myself or our front office team prior to your return and we will be happy to arrange a room on one of our higher floors for you.

I hope to hear from you.

Kind Regards

Alice Chiplin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,815)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,660 - 1,666 of 2,816 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a long weekend with a friend to celebrate my birthday. Upon arrival we were upgraded to
another twin bedded room, which was 118. A beautifully appointed room, with a luxurious marble bath and shower. Very comfortable beds and soft, comfortable pillows. We were not directly overlooking Leicester Square, which is rather noisy at night time, and we slept very well generally. Just a little noise at night which settled down quickly. The room was very clean and upon arrival, there was a birthday cup cake and candle waiting for me! A lovely touch. Each morning we received complementary bottled water, a very nice gesture. Only minor observation is that a hostess tray with some biscuits would have been nice. But, that did not detract from our stay. We ate brunch at Fortnum and Masons instead of the hotel. It was excellent and a short distance via taxi or walking a few blocks if you're able. Thanks to the advice of Kieron, we walked to the Prince of Wales Theatre (just a few minutes away), and managed to book tickes to see the afternoon performance of The Book of Mormon. We were delighted - thank you, Kieron! Also, to mention, is Daniel from Reception who rang our room, and left messages when we weren't there, to ask if there was anything we needed on several occasions. We were treated like VIP's during the two night stay. I simply cannot fault this Hotel, which definitely lives up to its 5 Star rating.
This hotel has an ideal location for Theatre Land, great transport links via the Tube etc to all the major tourist sights of London. With the soft, muted tones of the decor, and sparkling chandeliers, excellent staff, Raddison Blu Edwardian, Hampshire offers an ambiance of elegance and warmth that feels so inviting and nurturing.
I will be returning!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Lakshmi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a detailed and charming review following your stay with us. It is truly lovely to receive your feedback and learn how much you enjoyed your stay.

We fully appreciate the importance of any occasion be it a birthday, anniversary or even just a night away from the kids and it is our pleasure to be able to assists in ensuring an enjoyable visit. I am so pleased our staff were able to make your stay such a memorable one. We take great pride in caring for our guests whilst in our hospitality and it is great to hear how attentive Daniel was in ensuring you had a comfortable stay.

We hope you liked the Book of Mormon! I am so pleased Kieran was able to assist in your theatre reservations. With an abundance of productions and shows to choose from it is easy to be hindered by the available options. However our concierge team are always on hand to advise of the best choices and are more than happy to assist.

I am delighted you will be returning; please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel if I can be of any assistance with your booking.

Kind Regards

Alice Chiplin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotell sverall times the last years. The location is perfect, close to shopping and places a visitor i London want to see. The service is very good, you feel that you are taken care of allready at the outside when arriving and the same when you are entering the reception. The same service during lunch in the restaurant and also when checking out. I have seen some hotels the last year, but the service level was among the bests. I will definetly stay at this hotel next time also.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westnorwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and for sharing such glowing comments of your visits to us.

It is always lovely to hear from our regular guests and learn that our services continue to impress stay after stay. Learning that our service levels are amongst the best you have experienced is a true asset to the team here and the passion they share for providing enjoyable and memorable stays for our guests. I have been sure to pass your feedback to them and they are delighted to hear how welcome you feel each time your return.

I am grateful for the opportunity to thank you for your continued support of the Hampshire hotel and for your on-going loyalty in choosing us for your London stays. Please do not hesitate to contact directly at the hotel for any assistance with your future reservations.

I hope to hear from you.

Kind Regards

Alice Chiplin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous week end in London. I had a special birthday so we treated the family to a stay here, seven double rooms. This Radisson Hotel was superbly placed in Leicester Square, within easy reach on many restaurants and theatres.
We arrived in a cloudburst and the receptionist took one look at us and rushed to get us towels, which were very welcome. The bar is just off the foyer and is very convenient for us all to gather to have drinks and a chat. The rooms were good with everything one could possibly need, including iron & ironing board.
The breakfast was perfect, everything one could wish for, some of our group said it was the best one ever.
We had a small problem and the manager, Chris I think, dealt with it very quickly. The concierge were outstanding, calling a taxi opening the taxi doors and placing our luggage in the taxi for us. We couldn't fault it. Many thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too close to the lift, other guests can be noisy when they arrive back late.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Patti,

Thank you, not only for sharing such a wonderful review with us, but for choosing our hotel to celebrate such a special occasion with your family.

I am delighted to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your time with us and especially being in our prime central location. I am so pleased you were able to make the most of our close proximity to some of the top west end musicals and shows and we really hope you enjoyed your theatre visits.

It is lovely to learn that everything our rooms and team offered in terms of facilities and services were everything you could need and wish for. I have been sure to share your kind and positive feedback with all of the staff here at the Hampshire so we may continue to provide such a faultless service.

I hope another occasion will bring you back to London soon and that you will choose the Hampshire once again for your visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel for any assistance with your booking.

Kind Regards

Alice Chiplin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

At £180 per night without breakfast this appears to be overpriced. on the 1st evening at about 23.00 I returned to the hotel and went to the bar for a late night drink but although still advertised as open there were no staff. I went to reception and was told that I would have to wait............

I ordered newspapers for the 2 nights that I stopped. On the first morning ..... no newspaper.......

When I checked out the bill produced indicated that I had had breakfast - although I didn't due to the cost.

All in all not what you would expect from a hotel charging these rates.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is disappointing to learn you did not have the experience we strive to achieve for our guests and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the service shortfalls experienced. We always aim to exceed our guests expectation and to hear that we have not be able to provide our offered services on two occasions is indeed unacceptable. Please be assured this has been discussed to the hotels management to ensure that all teams are consistent in delivering the high standards we pride ourselves on.

I would like to apologise for the confusion regarding the breakfast charges made to your room. I am however very pleased to see these were rectified before your check out with us.

I sincerely hope we will have the chance to welcome you back, with the opportunity to provide an altogether better stay. Should you decide to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I may personally oversee the details of your stay.

Kind Regards

Alice Chiplin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is really well situated and is a short walk from major tourist sites and the galore of food options in Soho and Mayfair. If you are on a visit here, the hotel isn't the fanciest by far, but the location is highly convenient

Pros
- Location location location!
- Rooms were quiet enough and the view was great from my room

Cons
- Can get a bit crowded with tourists just outside of the door

Room Tip: Get a high floor room as those might have a view
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Han N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Han,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted you enjoyed our prime location. We couldn’t agree more that our central spot lends us the benefits of so many great attractions, restaurants and landmarks all within walking distance or a short and easy tube ride.

Being located right on the edge of Leicester Square certainly means we are in the heart of the hustle and bustle of activity. I am however pleased you were able to enjoy a quiet and peaceful heaven in your room with a view overlooking all the excitement below.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Alice Chiplin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We visited the lounge bar , we've been in rush to go to theater and we wanted something fast, very nice cocktail, very good coffee, nice atmosphere , excellent fish fingers for my son, the waiter was very helpful thank you very much Mark!!!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank christosdamasiotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice C, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Christos,

Thank you for choosing out Scoff & Banter Restaurant for your pre-theatre drinks. I am so pleased you enjoyed your afternoon and liked the atmosphere of our bar.

The fish finger sandwich is one of my favourite options and I am so pleased your son liked it too!

We hope you enjoyed your theatre show and we hope you will pop by to us again soon.

Kind Regards

Alice Chiplin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#98 of 1,072 in London
899 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel

Address: 31-36 Leicester Square, London WC2H 7LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho , Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Romantic Hotel in London
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#117 Family Hotel in London
#200 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £211 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Graceful Edwardian Hotel in a building dating from 1906, situated in centre of the West End. An amazing location with views over both Trafalgar Square and Leicester Square Gardens, the Hampshire sits in the very heart of London's Theatre District but also interestingly close to the centre of Whitehall and London's Diplomatic Quarter. The Hotel offers an in room spa service, two outdoor terrace cafes during the Spring/Summer months, a Gym and one of the finest Mexican/Peruvian Tapas restaurants in London. The Penthouse on the eight floor plays hosts to some very spectacular events. A discreet London address to call home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson London
London Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing