We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, perfect location and good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #10 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed for three nights and we loved it. Stayed in a king size room which was spacious.
Rainfall shower and lovely bathrobes. The bar and the pianist was really nice.
We thought the breakfast was quite expensive and not worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gottis97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,241 - 3,247 of 4,356 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2011

My husband and I were celebrating our one-year anniversary and after a week in New York and a week on the Queen Mary 2 (with all the grand royal wedding festivities), we stayed at The Montague on the Gardens for a week. It was just perfect. We were treated beautifully; Mark is a wonderful greeter and Mustafa and his staff, Luckasz, Sebastian, Mohammad and all the others treated us royally. This is a charming hotel in a wonderful location. I am very "fussy" and this met all my expectations. The food in the restaurant is delicious and the drinks are excellent! Wonderful charming public areas for sitting and relaxing and also a lovely deck by a beautiful garden. We hope to return!

Room Tip: Let the hotel know what type of room you prefer!
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JosieK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We stopped for just a night as an escape from the kids and thorougly enjoyed our stay.
The service was exemplary, the rooms were extreemly comfortable and clean.
We dined in the Blue Door Bistro where the food was excellent.
Afternoon Tea on the terrace on Sunday ensured we didn't need to eat again for some time..
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave_Jones101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I usually stay at Hotel 41 but this time needed somewhere closer to the City. The Montague was an excellent choice! Friendly and efficient check in and out. Lovely spacious clean and inviting room (Deluxe King on 3rd floor) at a great internet rate. With a nice view down into the gardens. Little bar inside the hotel had a friendly atmosphere with good food. Would definitely stay there again and also recommend..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danlux13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We took the special 5 days for 4 price and they offered a 10£ breakfast available at check in. Otherwise breakfast was much more. All the staff was helpful and friendly, especially the concierge. Rooms were quiet and comfortable. Our only complaints were very inconvenient plugs for a hair dryer near a mirror and a rain shower that only a man could love. It's close to the British museum and about 5 blocks from Holborn tube with 2 lines.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Class4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We were warmly greeted as soon as we arrived. The check in process was simple and efficient.

The rooms are clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our room was facing the garden. While the view was not what you may expect when facing a garden, it did mean that the room was one of the quietest rooms we have ever stayed in. It was however a bit on the small side.

We loved the restaurant and it was reasonably priced for both London and for a hotel restaurant.

We stopped at the concierge desk on numerous occasions and each time were helped by Lukasz. He was very helpful and especially friendly and personable.

I would definitely consider this hotel for your next stay in London.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

What a wonderful gem this hotel is. The location, right across the street from the British Museum, is perfect. And once you step inside, you leave all of the tumult and tumble of the big city behind. The concierges are friendly and so energetically helpful (try to get attached to Lukas and see if you can take him home) and the little touches--complimentary coffee and muffins in a lovely overstuffed lounge in the morning, crispy apples at the desk, and tiny little nooks and crannies in which to have drinks/tea, were all unique touches. Like everything in London, its a bit pricey but we found it to be excellent value. The room size is adequate, this is, after all, London. But we faced the street and never had any trouble with noise. I can't say enough!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jstockler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,145 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,913 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,077 in London
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £166 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing